We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colorful, cool and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Lodi, Ca
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Colorful, cool and friendly”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My wife and I were guests at the hotel for three nights. A funky and colorful decor that grows on you. The staff was very friendly, helpful and professional. Our room was at the end of hotel over looking the pool - nice size and very quiet and clean. Parking was both plentiful and free!! Wifi the same - free. The restaurant/bar in the lobby served a tasty breakfast fair and the drinks were reasonably priced. Great location - close to the pier, shopping and restaurants and the Chihuly collection. Very nice lobby and porch/veranda area for relaxing. A fun place to stay - we would definitely stay again at the Indigo. It is an older property - some bruises but worth it!

Room Tip: Room 239 - king bed, quiet - over looking small pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishrover40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    172
    96
    54
    47
See reviews for
102
169
26
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I live in the Tampa Bay area but wanted to stay one night in downtown St. Pete to see a concert, bar hop, etc. We chose the Indigo because of its location and price. It was the perfect place to stay to enjoy the nightlife of downtown without having to get in your car and drive. We walked to Jannus Live for a concert, dinner, and a couple of bars. Everything you would want to do is a 5 min. walk away. The hotel itself was comfortable and clean. Rooms are small, especially the bathrooms, but well appointed. It's the perfect place to stay for a fun night out downtown.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemytanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay here! Pretty seating in front of the hotel to chill out. Nice lobby area. Rooms clean & quite attractive. Staff friendly. The previous comments re. smelly or dirty rooms did NOT apply to our experience at all. GREAT location to walk to everything.

There's no seating out in nature nor a courtyard ... the hotel is surrounded by their parking lot. Also - no complimentary breakfast. So - if That's part of your ideal experience - consider elsewhere. ... We enjoyed it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFL24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I was there for 4 days on a business trip/seminar. The entire staff was very nice. Unfortunately, they are stuck in a horrible place. I do understand historic, but this place is scary. First, the elevator is so ancient, you expect to see the grated doors and pulleys. There are only 3 floors in the hotel. The elevator will only accept one "command" at a time. I know this sounds crazy, but you cannot push the button for floors 2 and 3 at the same time. Whoever gets in first gets to pick. Only after it lands on that floor, can you select another one. If you are on 2, you usually have to go up to 3 and come back. Oh- and it jumps and bumps when it stops. You are not really sure if it is going to drop all the way or not. Only thrillseekers need ride!
There is NO soundproofing at all in the entire building. I repeat- none. You can hear everything above, below, on both sides and down the entire hallway at all times. Of course the room doors have a half inch crack so the light comes in at night, plus every noise.
The bathrooms are so small that it is very difficult to get in, turn around and then try to shut the door. Very large people would not be able to do that. There is no storage space in the bathroom. Fortunately, I had a cosmetic bag with a strap to hang it on the bathroom door. The shower is half the size of a regular bathtub and the water pressure is poor. There is a grinding (not kidding) fan that is attached to the light. If you are in a double room and get up to use the bathroom, you will wake everybody in the room and on both sides of you.
There is no real restaurant, and believe me, you would not want one. We had to eat several meals in the conference room. They were horrible. Apparently the only thing they know how to fix is the standard rubber chicken. They just put a different color sauce over it each time. It is chewy and tasteless. They do have a lobby bar that was out of wine, beer, and most other types of alcohol. I felt so bad for the bartender. He kept saying- we hope to get an order in this week.
If you are elderly or handicapped, you need a room on the first floor. Even with the elevator, the rooms on the third floor have steps- right after you get off the elevator. Weird, but true.
The A/C does not work properly. Either you can hang meat, or you need a personal fan. There is no inbetween. The thermostats are rinky dink rigged and mounted. I can't really explain in, but they don't really work.
I would not stay here again under any circumstances. As I said, the staff was very nice and tried to help, but there is no saving this one. It is billed as a botique hotel, but it is a Holiday Inn property. It looks like this one needs a vacation of its own.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
JulieKJ,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at the Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg, FL. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to St. Petersberg.

Sincerely,

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I have stayed here several times and love the location and conteporary decor. Bathrooms are pretty small due to the fact the building is a historic site. But the rooms are clean and comfortable. The location can't be beat as it is an easy walk to all that the downtown has to offer which is allot on Friday and Saturday. Close to Tropicana for catching a Rays baseball game too, but take a cab. The staff was friendly and we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a larger bath as somm rooms have tiny bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowboypapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2012

After wanting to cancel my reservation due to poor reviews on this site, I called and spoke to a very rude woman named Nicole, who did absolutely nothing to help me. She said I had paid in full and could not be refunded in anyway. When I asked why, she gave no reason. I guess I have to stay here, and it better be worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modernclassic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear modernclassic13,

Thank you for your review.

We have recently implemented a new pricing structure that allows us the opportunity to offer deeper discounts to our customers. In order to offer these rates we must attach restrictions such as cancellation fees or full prepayment. Some of our lowest discounted rates carry full prepayment requirements while others carry a cancellation fee.

If rooms are available for your travel date, we will always offer the option of booking either restrictive (with cancellation/prepayment requirements) or non-restrictive (can be changed and cancelled without penalty) rates. This will allow you more flexibility in making your specific travel arrangements. For example: if you are certain about your travel plans, the restricted rate will be a consideration, whereas if your travel plans are less definite the unrestricted rate may better meet your needs.

It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead offer options that make sense. We always appreciate comments from our guests, and we will use this feedback in making decisions about our future pricing strategies.

Thank you,
^Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I was originally given room 111. When I was looking over the bed, I noticed that there was an earring in the pillow case. After about 15 minutes of asking, the girl at the front desk finally came and changed my sheets. I started to unpack and found that I had to share my stale, musty room with little bugs slightly larger than gnats. I killed a few (about 10) and eventually was so disgusted I went back to the front desk. They gave me a different room that was clean, smelled fresh and had no other residents in it. The woman at the desk explained that the general manager was at a conference and the staff was not working as a result. I DO NOT recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel. Seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.3 km away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,337 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#10 of 42 in St. Petersburg
1,553 reviews
0.5 km away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#24 of 42 in St. Petersburg
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
1.5 km away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.2 km away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#5 of 42 in St. Petersburg
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North

Property: Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
Address: 234 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a 100% smoke free sophisticated boutique hotel whose focus is delivering guests peace, serenity and renewal. Quite deliberately, the Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg Downtown has been designed as an oasis for travelers who yearn for an escape from the common hotel, but still need the convenience of a 24-hour fitness center, pool, whirlpool and Phi Restaurant. Just a short drive to the Tampa International Airport (TPA), Hotel Indigo St. Petersburg Downtown is within walking distance to The Pier, Museum of Fine Arts, Mahaffey Theater and one mile from the Dali Museum and Tropicana Field, home of the Rays. Nearby attractions include: Sunken Gardens, Great Explorations and art galleries. No visit is complete without a trip to the electric nightlife of Central Avenue and Jannus Landings. Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets with covers, pillow shams and plenty of fluffy pillows while you relax and watch our 32' LCD televisions. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer. Relax and enjoy our quick serve Bistro The Phi Restaurant and Lounge for cutting edge cuisine or grab a latte where we proudly brew Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing