We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in downtown St. Pete!”
Review of The Inn on Third

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn on Third
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Delaware Water Gap, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real gem in downtown St. Pete!”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

In town for a job interview, I found that I could not have done any better than this absolute gem of an inn. Not only was it a fantastic value, the owners (Stephanie and Brian) quite obviously hold personal touches in the highest regard. As I had never visited the area before, part of my stay was devoted to learning St. Pete should I be the successful candidate for the position. I could not have done better--Stephanie and Brian spent a great deal of time speaking to anything I had questions about, and their love of the area is obvious (and catchy!). Through their help I was able to get beyond some of the normal fun activities of the waterfront and visit other areas both commercial and residential that we might be interested in. As others have noted it is set up well to converse with those also staying at the inn, should you so desire.

This is the perfect place if you like personality, warmth and charm. If you are looking for a frat party you might be disappointed (Stephanie and Brian will answer any questions about amenities quickly and truthfully). Otherwise it isn't even a question of where to stay--just a question of when and for how long.

Room Tip: Call the owners to get a better picture of what rooms they have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlD189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    178
    24
    15
    6
See reviews for
93
296
46
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed here to be in close proximity to Jannus Landing. It's a 7 minute walk (less if you don't stroll like I did!) to the hub of downtown bars, but far enough away that you don't hear it. Staying here was like staying in someone's home. The upstairs hallway is lined with books, photos and antique furniture that gives it a personal touch. Each room is adorned with more antique furniture, lovely bedding, and overall very very clean.

Added bonus that I didn't know until I got there was the HAPPY HOUR! Lovely touch! Cheers.

Room Tip: I put "average" for sleep quality because, personally, I prefer a firmer bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Before staying here, you must know that this is an older building. The rooms are small, as are the bathrooms. If you know this going, you'll be golden. Rooms are clean, considering their age.

The hotels owners live and work at the property. They are there for whatever you need. There are free cocktails in the evening and continental breakfast in the morning.

The location is a few blocks from Baywalk and Beach Drive. Lots of restaurants, bars, and a movie theater nearby.

My only complaints are minor:

1) The bed was a bit hard.

2) The antique bed linens come across as dirty. While I appreciate the effort to keep all rooms and furnishings true to the period of the hotel, I prefer not to sleep with an old fuzzy blanket that catches and keeps the hair of former guests.

One other note, the owners rent parking spaces from the nearby church. On Sunday mornings, the church needs their parking spaces. You'll have to move your car to the street before 8am, It's not a problem. There are plenty of free street spots on the weekend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kysgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I travel a lot by business and pleasure and this place is a very nice if you want a break from a normal hotel life. Couple running the place is nice, helpful and you couldn't ask more from them.

I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunetoblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The rooms are not the biggest ones,but enough to the couple. The hotel and rooms are unique and artistic and the atmosphere is lovely. Worth to stay absolutely!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Narsissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Small, but clean and friendly establishment within 3 blocks of Central Avenue.Staff and owners were extremely helpful in supplying info on local sights and restaurants.
Would definitely select this place for future trips to the area

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JedLeonard1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port st lucie
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I had previous reservations at the Hilton, but due to a administrative mishap on their part, our room was not available. I searched on line and found this little gem just a few blocks from the Hilton where I was attending a conference. Stephanie and Brian were most cordial and were the ideal hosts. The rooms were small, but very adequate, and most importantly they were very clean. Many times when I travel, I stay with family or friends on the road, and this experience was similar to visiting an old Air Force buddy, or a cousin that I hadn't seen in a long while. Brian and Stephanie made me feel like family. Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomprestopnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.2 km away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 41 in St. Petersburg
1,368 reviews
0.2 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 41 in St. Petersburg
165 reviews
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.6 km away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#24 of 41 in St. Petersburg
654 reviews
0.2 km away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#23 of 41 in St. Petersburg
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Third

Property: The Inn on Third
Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3821 (Formerly Americas Best Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on Third 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 20 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Social, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn on Third reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn
The Inn On Third St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing