We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Inn on Third

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn on Third
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This little inn was charming! It was convenient to the waterfront, restaurants and our destination of Bradenton. Our room was small, but lovely and comfortable - just as described on the website.
The owners were friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions. The continental breakfast and the happy hour allowed us time to meet other guests and relax before beginning our busy day and winding down at the end. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave-and-Deb-1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our inn and your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our inn in the future.

Until then we send you sunny greetings from St. Pete!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

This little inn nestled in downtown St. Pete is charming! It is conveniently located just blocks from the waterfront and lots of attractions and activities! We loved that it is in an old building with modern conveniences. The owners are so accommodating and nice. We felt like family right away.They have a snack and wine "Happy Hour" daily and a great little breakfast as well. the prices are a great deal and we loved not being in a big chain hotel. We had a lovely stay and look forward to returning there again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Greetings from St. Pete and a heartfelt thank you for your great review. We appreciate you having chosen to stay with us and for taking the time for this write-up. We too look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then we wish you happy travels!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here in May 2013 and what a welcome we had, it was like going to stay with friends rather than booking into a hotel.

We stayed there as we were going to see the Rays and it was within walking distance. We had a key as we were late back so no problem there.

We were made to feel very welcome and the rooms we had were clean and homely. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank hyggehygge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Sunny greetings from St. Pete, FL to the UK! So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our inn us last spring and had a great time in St. Petersburg. GO RAYS!

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

This is such a wonderful hidden place in the Big city! Brian and Stef are such wonderful hosts and make everyone feel special with their special touches! This is my second time to stay and will return next visit! They are located within walking distance to much of the town! Granted, it is a old building and has a lot of character! Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2runing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Awe, thank you very much for your sweet review. It was a pleasure welcoming you back to our inn and we definitely look forward to your next stay with us. Until then we wish you all the best and are sending lots of Florida sunshine your way.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We two stayed here for three nights. The decor was warm and inviting, with antique furnishings and a days-gone-by kind of feel. The facilities were very clean and well-kept. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful. The inn was full all three nights, but the small parking lot next to the building seemed adequate. We saw a number of guests from Europe, and one of the innkeepers conversed very well in German with some of the guests.. so it seems this place may have appeal to European travelers in particular. It is within walking distance, or a trolley ride, to a variety of activities like museums, restaurants, and boutique shops.

There is no pool, no vending/ice machines, no workout room, and no laundry facilities (though that is available for a small charge). If you prefer a hotel with those kinds of amenities, I do not advise coming here. We need none of those things, so for us, it was no problem. There is free wi-fi, though we couldn't use it with a couple of our gadgets. The lobby area is nice, and people spent time in it in the morning enjoying a free continental breakfast or some free wine/beer in the late afternoon.

This was a VERY quiet hotel during our stay, and we absolutely loved that aspect of it. We wanted to be able to go out during the day and sightsee, dine out, etc., and return to a safe, quiet place to chill out and unwind. No hallway noise, no loud guests... we found it heavenly. The bed was comfortable, not too soft a mattress but not too firm, either. A/C units are located in each room, so you can control the room temp yourself - but you also get white noise at night (which we both prefer).

If you like a clean, quiet, small hotel with great innkeepers and a lot of charm, I highly recommend this particular America's Best Inn.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have only twin beds, FYI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMB_1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you very, very much for your wonderful and detailed review of our inn. Surely others will find it very helpful when deciding on where to stay in St. Pete. It means a great deal to us when travelers take time out of their busy days to write a review of a positive experience as those don't seem as pressing as if one had a negative experience instead. So thank you again for your review, for choosing to stay with us and in return we sincerely hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed here, only one night, during a spur-of-the-moment vacation with my husband. We wanted to be close to the Dali museum, and close to the highway back to Sarasota (for the Ringling), so this was a great location.
I'd never stayed at a bed and breakfast type inn before, and so my expectations were in line with what I'd seen on TV. Luckily, I wasn't disappointed! The owners were so warm and friendly, I felt like we were staying with relatives. The lobby/lounge had the right mix of cozy and view out into the downtown. After a long day walking around St. Pete and taking in the art at the Dali, relaxing in the lounge--tasty complimentary coffee in hand--was seriously awesome. Hand me a board game and I could have stayed out there all night!
The room was perfect for our needs--we packed for a short trip and so a warm bed, a desk to review the museum pamphlets, and a chest of drawers for clothes was ideal! I was really happy with all the outlets--silly, but it can be hard to find a place for charging phones, handheld games, and ipads in most hotels, but no problem here. Even a mini fridge!
I rated a four only because of the age of the bathroom--it's super vintage! I really liked the classic look of the room and hotel, though.
If I come to St Pete again, this is where I would stay. My antique-crazy parents are already dying to check out the "cute historical inn" my husband and I stayed in.
So, in short, it has all the charm and warmth that most hotels lack!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsukihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Wow, thank you for your wonderful and detailed review! So happy to hear just how much you enjoyed our inn during your recent stay. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to our inn and would love to welcome your parents as well. By the way, we do have some board games, too!

We wish you all the best!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

It was New Year's Eve; I searched high and low, calling just about every hotel, B&B, etc., in St Pete - they were all booked. Then... I found Americas Best Inn. Brian said I was in luck as they just noticed someone double booked! I'm glad they did.

The Inn was perfect! The location was perfect! And, the Innkeepers are wonderful.
The room was small and older, but very clean, comfortable and quiet. We arrived during happy hour and was offered a drink and snacks.

While we were sitting in the lobby having a drink, someone came in looking for a room. Stephanie told her she was full, but tried helping out the woman by calling other locations in the area to see if they had vacancies. I was impressed as Stephanie did not need to do that!

The inn is located within walking distance to Central Ave and/or Beach Dr.

The inn met our needs and I would stay here again.

And, by the way, the Christmas tree was beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmericasBestInn, Owner at The Inn on Third, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Sunny greetings from St. Pete and thank you very much for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure welcoming you to our inn over New Years' and hopefully we will get to welcome you back again in the future.

We wish you all the best and happy travels!

Stephanie & Brian Cox
America's Best Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.2 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 43 in St. Petersburg
239 reviews
0.2 km away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#2 of 43 in St. Petersburg
1,450 reviews
0.2 km away
The Cordova Inn
The Cordova Inn
#22 of 43 in St. Petersburg
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.6 km away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#27 of 43 in St. Petersburg
674 reviews
13.2 km away
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Third

Address: 342 3rd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-3821 (Formerly Americas Best Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Petersburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#6 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range: $130 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on Third 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming historic inn conveniently located in the heart of Downtown St. Petersburg. This 20 guest room inn is within walking distance to world class museums and galleries, fine dining, evening entertainment and St. Pete's beautiful waterfront. Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is less than 1 mile from the inn. The Gulf beaches are an app. 20 minute drive from Downtown. Amenities at the inn include a continental breakfast, a drink at Evening Social, wifi and limited onsite parking. We are a 2-star property know for excellent service and unique accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn on Third reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Inn St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Best Inn St Petersburg
St Petersburg Best Inn
Best Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Best Inn
The Inn On Third St. Petersburg, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing