We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 Stars Out of 5”
Review of Song of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Song of the Sea
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We recently stayed 7 days at this Inn (Sat to Sat) in a beachfront suite. This property could easily be a four star with some small improvements. The propety is older and could be so much nicer with a renovation, especially the room furniture.

The pool and pool deck was clean and nicely maintained with nice lounge chairs.
The continental breakfast was OK (similar to a Hampton Inn), the "fresh fruit" selections were minimal, somteims just slices of oranges and perhaps cut up melon. If you got there early you might snag a banana. The waffle maker was nice with cereals, breads and yogurt also offered. The New York Times is a nice touch as the daily paper.

Our beachfront suite bedroom was small and as previously commented, there is barely enough room to walk around the bed. While the linens on the king bed are nice, the mattress was too soft for my back. The bathroom was small but clean with beach towels (small) provided daily.

The living area had the most uncomfortable couch (sofabed). We even pulled the sofabed out but the mattress was old and worn and even worse. I feel sorry if anyone actually plans to sleep on it. The one chair in the living area was oversized and the small dining table had seen better days.

The outside lounge chairs under the tiki sttyle tables all had broken webbing (maybe one chair did not). This was annoying since this is an easy fix. While the property advertises beach front lounge chairs and umbrellas, there are only six umbrellas and 12 lounge chairs. Lucky for us the propety was not filled so it wasn't a problem otherwise there are nowhere near enough chairs to accommodate the guests. The charis needed to be cleaned now and then, again small stuff but an easy fix.

The bikes are decent which were a plus for us. the island has over 20 miles of bike paths so it was fun to explore using their bikes.

The beach is a short walk from the property and we had a nice view from the 2nd floor beachfront suite. Sanible Island is a great place if you want some R&R and with several good restaurants to choose from.

Make sure you drive to Capitval Island and catch the sunset before you leave.

I will return next year to Sanibel although can't see staying at the Song of the Sea unless the rooms are renovated.

Room Tip: If you choose the beachfront suite, pick a 2nd floor room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtlantaPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed in a newly renovated room with a perfect location. Everything was clean, we had our own kitchenette and a wonderful screened porch. The 2 queen beds were comfortable and the location on the gulf made it easy to get our beach walks in several times a day. The included breakfast selections were tasty and having breakfast outside (with fresh coffee) started each day off right. We made our reservations to return - before we even left! A wonderful place to stay on Sanibel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pupnpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Song of the Sea was awesome! I was worried after reading some of the reviews, but turned out to be a very nice hotel. Our room was a king bed room facing pool. It was very spacious and clean. Had a little kitchen equipped with stove, fridge and microwave. Utensils and dishware supplied was adequate. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was on small side but very nicely renovated. The whole room looked like it had just been renovated. Very nicely decorated. My only complaint about room would be that the ceiling fan was oddly placed off in a corner. It would have been nice to have it over bed.
Sliding glass doors led to small patio then out to pool and hot tub and the beach just beyond that. Heated Pool and hot tub were super clean. Temperature was comfortable on both.
Breakfast was typical continental stuff. Bagels, fruit, etc. they did have a waffle maker that produced some good tasting waffles.
Beach chairs and umbrellas were placed on beach at around 8 am for guests to use. We brought our own bikes but they did have complimentary bikes you could check out. They also had a small laundry room. Great location, beautiful beach. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6isenoughforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay at Song of the Sea and our only regret is that we didn't have more time to stay there. Our room was in excellent condition, large with a king bed and kitchenette and the furniture and bathroom fixtures appeared quite new. The hotel is smaller than many on the island and is part of the Inns of Sanibel. The size was perfect! Though the gulf was too cold to swim in, the heated pool and jacuzzi were delightful! The beach is just beyond the pool area and provides a beautiful place to walk, watch the birds and morning dolphins and enjoy the sunsets. Breakfast was included and consisted of hot and cold cereals, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, muffins, pastry, assorted breads and bagels, fresh juices and fruit and waffles. We booked our room through Orbitz in October and were very pleased with the price. Had we waited till January, we would have paid almost $100 more per night. Our winter escape package include $25 per night to use in a variety of ways. We chose to have a delicious dinner next door at the Sanibel Inn. There was also a bottle of wine in our room. The staff of the hotel, both front desk and housekeeping, were welcoming, friendly and efficient. The grounds were beautifully landscaped with local plants. When we return to Sanibel we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a better view of the Gulf. Other travelers have commented that their rooms weren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdpooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed at the Song of the Sea for 4 nights in January. We enjoyed our stay, but we encountered a lot of the things that other folks mentioned in their reviews...but they weren't dealbreakers to us. The hotel is obviously older and not as clean, large or crisp as a newer property might be. The bedroom was as ridiculously tight as people mentioned - there is ample space on the sides of the bed, but there is only a 5-6" space at the foot of the bed to get to the far side of the bed. I laughed when I saw it becasue I had seen it mentioned in reviews, but it didn't bother us. The bathroom is small and counterspace is at a premium - I moved a make up mirror and hair dryer into the bedroom on a dresser to make a little more room in the bathroom. The floor in the kitchen/main room and bathroom is older tile...it collects sand if you bring sand in, but it's easily swept up when they clean. There is a small oven and 4 burner stovetop, and a microwave and full size refrigerator, but the appliances seem old and the sink is small and seemed to drain slowly the few times we used it. My boyfriend fell asleep on the couch one afternoon a proclaimed it really uncomfortable. The main room seemed to need a coffee table or ottoman, but I can see where other people woudl find that to be clutter. Our balcony was great - beautiful view of the Gulf, very attractive/sturdy furniture, screened in (ours had a small hole in teh screen that never became an issue). It looks like they power-washed the balcony and stuff got stuck in the screen, but nothing outrageous. The pool was very nice as well as the outdoor shower/foot wash station. They take umbrellas and chairs out to the beach everyday that it's nice enough for people to sit out there, and that is very cool. They have bikes available to check out and I'm not sure what other resources shared between the hotels. We never went to the complimentary breakfast, but it seemed nice. We were awakened by some hotel workers (not sure if it was painters or housekeeping) early one morning.
My biggest problem was the laundry facilities, which I woudl bet most people don't use. The laundry is in waht we referred to as the "laundry shack" and had very old coin operated machines that cost $1.25 each to use..they were rusty at the bottom and there were wasp nests above us. They sell detergent in the office. We did two loads of wash and then transferred the stuff to the dryers, and one dryer took our money and didn't start, and the other had a sign on it that it only worked on high heat...so, high heat it was.
The view was great - I was happy enough with the hotel just because of the umbrellas/chairs on the beach and being able to sit on my screened in balcony and read with the ocean before me.

Room Tip: Beachfront suites are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlleyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This was our third stay at Song of the Sea in the past 11 years. The location and setting are beautiful, but the rooms need to be renovated and updated. The sheets were thin and we had to ask for enough towels and linens. The kitchen and bathroom were rundown and the floors were gritty and sticky. The dishes and flatware in the kitchenette weren't clean enough, so I had to rewash everything. The interiors just didn't feel luxurious overall, as they had in the past. On the positive side, the pool and beach are lovely (except for all of the dead fish on the beach due to the "red tide"). This property currently doesn't live up to the expensive rates, but I hope they make some improvements because I would like to give it another try.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HampMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The location is great, right on the gulf. Only the second floor of the back unit has a view, however. The dunes and shrubbery is too high to see over on the first floor. The room itself (at a price of $299.00 per night) is greatly overpriced. The queen bed barely fits in the "bedroom". You have to climb over it to get to the other side. The building dates from (I'm estimating) the 1950's and although it appears to be well maintained (great landscaping) its getting kind of tired. Everything metal - door hinges, cabinet door handles and hinges are rusty. You can't open the door to the bathroom past the toilet, so you have to go in, stand between the toilet and sink, then close the door to get in the shower, etc. Good linen, etc. "Throw" mats on tile floor in front of couch and bedroom, otherwise all tile (I assume for sand). Gave my wife and I (who stayed for two days) the feel of the old 50's shore motels if you have any experience there. Again, not horrible, buy WAY overpriced!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.8 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,496 reviews
1.1 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
311 reviews
1 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 20 in Sanibel Island
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,013 reviews
0.2 km away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,350 reviews
6.6 km away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#14 of 20 in Sanibel Island
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song of the Sea

Address: 863 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7098
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $269 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Song of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Song of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Of The Sea Hotel Sanibel Island
Song Of The Sea Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing