We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanibel Moorings Resort
Nearby Hotels
Seaside Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Song of the Sea(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanibel Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$373
US$249
Sanibel Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$246
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ybel Resort(Sanibel Island)
US$319
US$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Kai Motel(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$179
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (841)
Filter reviews
841 results
Traveller rating
669
139
24
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
669
139
24
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanal sidegarden tourconference centertowel exchangecourtyard viewgrounds are beautifuloffice staffthe kitchenbeach chairs and umbrellaswonderful stayeasy access to the beachlaundry facilitiesbedroom condohome away from homefront officesecond floorgreat condo
Filter
Updating list...
733 - 738 of 841 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed in a one bed condo on the mooring side and just loved it. The unit was very clean & well equipped with everything you could need for a self-catering break. We were just a short stroll to one of the pools and only a few minutes walk through the other units to the beach which was just beautiful. The staff at the office were very helpful and informative about the area. IWe definitely hope to return - just perfect!

Room Tip: You can hire for free from reception canoes which are great for boating around the moorings and inland waterways.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank totalfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2011

This place is great and I can't recommend it enough. They are really big and have places on both sides of the road. Both sides have their own pools. The beach side where we stayed has three access walkaways to the beach. They provide beach chairs and umbrellas, plus little carts if you bring a family load of stuff! The have tons of plants and even have a person who gives a tour as they are marked. They have a small workout room with a couple of trend mills. There is a little meeting room area. The court yard has a couple of nice Weber Gas Grills for cooking out. The room we stayed in was VERY clean and seems to have been updated not too long ago. All new Moen faucets, counter tops, etc. There were two Sony TV's one in the living room and the other in the bedroom, both new models. There is screened in porch for every unit, in case you want to set out and the bugs are out. The parking lot is all pavers and the outside looks freshly painted. They do a LOT of maintenance here and it shows. Prices even in the summer are little high 3 nights for $460, but I will pay a little more to stay in a place like this.
It would be nice to come back in the fall when the temp is down and water is still warm. The pool was like warm bath water in the summer during the 100 degree days.

Highly recommended if the west coast is your kind of place or you want to come do some shelling on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ThePCGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We decided on a late Saturday morning to take our children to their first trip to Sanibel Island for a long weekend get away. We have vacationed there by ourselves before.

After a frantic search here on Trip Advisor and combing over many reviews I landed on Sanibel Moorings. The photos of the grounds that I found do not do it justice. I wish I would have remembered to take some.

The unit we stayed in was perfect ( #322) because it was close to the pool, walkways, and beach without paying the big waterfront premium. All of the units are decorated differently because they are independantly owned and ours was in great shape.

Sanibel Moorings is located on the best shelling beach on the island hands down. We left with bags of shells and had a great time finding and diving in the shallow water for them.

You can't go wrong here. Between the heated pool, free canoe / kayaks, beach, grounds, and units it's a wonderful property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side of Gulf Dr. since the property is situated on both sides of it.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CandS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My wife, 3 yr old and I stayed here for 3 nights. We are from St. Petersburg, a 2.5 hour drive away. We lived in Hawaii for a few years, and had the opportunity to stay at some of the nicer condos and hotel resorts in the islands. Sanibel & Sanibel Moorings is the closest we've come to that experience here in FL.

The idea of a "resort" is often lost here in FL. A dusty old motel on the beach with a parking lot and pool with some concrete around it does not a resort make. On the other hand, Sanibel Moorings sprawls over several acres of well manicured gardens. If you are interested in gardening, you will appreciate that fact that most plants are labeled. You'll find everything from plumeria to a nice collection of hybrid hibiscus to a butterfly garden.

We stayed in unit 211 which had a garden view. The unit actually faces a sidewalk, but a good amount of foliage provided privacy and a tropical feel when we enjoyed the spacious screened in lanai. This is a very nice unit, the kitchen and bathroom had been recently updated. Both TV's in the unit were LCDs and the paint and furnishings were all in very good condition. The flooring (tile & carpet) was slightly older but still in perfectly acceptable condition.

The staff is helpful and seems attentive. My wife was actually bitten by a small dog that belonged to one of the condo owners. Apparently the dog had escaped from the condo. The front desk clerk was able to track down the owner (when we realized the skin had was broken we wanted to make sure the dogs shots were up to date.) The dog's owner was upset/concerned and brought us a couple of gift baskets to apologize. The way it was handled by the front desk and owner made us feel better.

The property has kayaks and canoes available dockside for use in the canal at no extra charge. They also provide beach chairs (either lounge chairs or sitting chairs) as well as umbrellas. I think they may be a bit short on umbrellas- either we were looking in the wrong place or they were always out. However, we had brought our own along anyway, so no big deal. They have two pools (one on each side of the road.) The main pool area on the gulf side also has a kiddie pool (2ft deep) which is great for the younger ones.)

There are a few things that make Sanibel unique, which combined with this specific property make this a great getaway. Anna Maria Island is probably the closest second, it is very nice also but it doesn't have large amounts of greenery like Sanibel. This is tropical lushness-think coconut palms- not the scratchy palmettos and scrub that you'll find elsewhere in FL. Also, Anna Maria, to my knowledge, doesn't have a tropical resort like Sanibel Moorings. Sanibel lacks almost any business you will recognize, which is a wonderful thing. (If you want chain restaurants and Wal-Mart, go to any other beach in FL.) Even businesses like banks that you do recognize are no in their standard suburban shells- they're nicely camouflaged in island-style structures. You won't find strip malls here either, much less an indoor shopping mall. Overall it feels a lot like the more rural towns on the outer Hawaiian islands, or the north shore of Oahu. The drive over to the end of Captiva even feels a bit like the trip to Hanalei.

The beach and water quality at Sanibel are fine, but not as nice as some other areas of FL. I think this is just because of the geographic characteristics such as sand bars, the islands orientation relative to the mainland, etc. Areas like Siesta Key, Lido Key, Pass-a-Grille, etc. have clearer water with less of a fishy odor, and the sand is nicer. That is really the only thing slightly negative I can say about the entire place. I've also heard that the water quality can differ a lot depending on when you go.

In summary, Sanibel + Sanibel Moorings = a win.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Brian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed here on our first ever trip to Sanibel. We loved every minute of it and we hope to come back soon. I kayaked for the first time with Sanibel Moorings' free equipment and it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cclark0021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews