We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway!”
Review of Casa Ybel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Ybel Resort
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Casa Ybel was great! My husband and I came here for a long weekend while our son stayed with his grandparents. What a relaxing trip - Casa Ybel was a huge part of that! We were luckily able to check in early, which helped alot. We had booked an umbrella package ahead of time for our first full day there and I highly recommend that. They set up the chairs on the beach right outside our unit and it was so convenient. The next day we rented bikes and then stayed by the pool in the afternoon. I was impressed by the number of pool chairs that were available - most places never have enough! Every member of the staff we talked to was very nice and helpful. We'd definitely stay here again. Only small disappointment was that housekeeping the first day didn't come until about 2:30 pm and I had expected them to be finished by then. But the unit was great and very clean and had everything we could want!

Room Tip: All the units face the beach - I don't know if there's a bad one there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    161
    71
    32
    27
See reviews for
256
231
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MONTREAL
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We were desperately looking for a place to spend the night and watch the sunset. We were on Sanibel & Captiva for the day and the choices of hotels were few and far between. We really wanted ocean view & ALL the rooms at Casa Ybel are ocean view! Large one bdrm suite with full kitchen and lovely patio overlooking the ocean. Parking easy, extremely quiet location. We slept with the window open all night & did not hear a thing. Great place to relax. Very quiet & private beach, well maintained. No washer/dryer in units, but a place with machines is located nearby on the property. They have tennis courts etc. You can also rent bikes & explore the lovely bike paths on Sanibel Island.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SYLLOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This is our second year to be a Casa Ybel! This year we rented a unit on the second floor of building H. It had a beautiful view of the Gulf! Very comfortable and quiet. The pool is beautiful and the staff was great. I would have thought with the price of the unit per night, it would include coffee and maid service at least once during the week. We didn't see anyone to at least bring new towels! We also did not have a book in our unit that explained about the condo. We would return next year and ask more questions this time!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank millygirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We have been coming to Casa Ybel for many years and love it. The units have great views of the beach and are comfortable and quiet. If there is a maintenance issue in the unit, the staff is quick to respond. The pool is beautiful. It is immediately adjacent to a bike trail.

Room Tip: We prefer upstairs rooms in the H building for views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanVlietTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo with kitchen and screened porch. Very clean and well maintained. The property has it's own beach access as well as a great pool. All staff were very friendly and attentive. The only complaint deals with the bed as it was a bit hard. I recommend this property and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dupont2Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Location is very nice with beach views. Rooms are large with a screened balcony, sitting room and bedroom. Full kitchen also in unit. Furnishings are average and bedroom a little dreary. We couldn't believe there was no breakfast facility. We had some problem with Thistle restaurant on premises. An item listed for $28 was billed at $35 because "price had changed.". Since menu said $28, they reduced the bill. However, I would never have noticed it if my wife had not checked bill. Also, none of the entrees on the menu actually came with the sides listed on the menu.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CT-and-JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Pros: location, and friendly helpful staff
Cons: price At $320 plus lots of taxes per night we just didn't feel the value was there. Upon checking in our unit had a rather musty smell. We are typical beach vacation folks and this was not typical. Coffee pot in unit but no coffee and no working batteries in tv remote. We thought the maid might bring some the next morning when she came to clean, but alas the cleaning didn't happen till around three the next afternoon. To be fair the musty smell did resolve by the third day and after we called the front desk the coffee and batteries were brought pronto. Still for the price (and this was not high season) I expected more. Lanai was lovely and had a table and chairs as well as a lounge chair. The bathroom was in between two dressing areas each with their own sink and mirror. Regular size tub - no seperate shower and not great water pressure. The kitchenette was pretty well equipped. The pool area was lovely but it did close early and there were lounge chairs and cabannas which could be rented for an additional daily fee. I would reccommend this property for older couples (which we are) or for families with very young (babies or toddlers) children. Not much action for older kids but it was safe and quiet. For folks looking for more facilies (translate value) I would try the large resort on Captiva which has golf, a marina, several restaurants, and a variety of nicely appointed accomodations. We did eat at the Thistle Restaurant in Casa Ybel and had a wonderful experience. Food nicely prepared, service excellent, and lovely views of the Gulf. The lobster bisque was superb.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkazzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
2.2 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,295 reviews
2.9 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
2.8 km away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
5.0 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
676 reviews
3.1 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ybel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ybel Resort

Property: Casa Ybel Resort
Address: 2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6104
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Ybel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural, secluded and exclusive, historic Casa Ybel Resort epitomizes the sanctuary, old-island spirit of Sanibel. Occupying 23 acres of beach front property isolated from commercial enterprise, the resort forms a sheltered getaway where romantic surroundings and outdoor recreation attract couples and families alike. Travelers have found respite and hospitality here since the 1890's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Ybel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ybel Hotel Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Resort Sanibel Island, Florida
Casa Ybel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Casa Ybel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing