We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent trip to Casa Ybel...”
Review of Casa Ybel Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Ybel Resort
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Just got back last night from a 5 night stay at this resort. I am only giving it a rating of 3 based on several things. At $600/night it was waaaaayyyyyy overpriced--this was for a 1 bedroom unit--and I can't imagine what they were charging for 2 bedrooms. The room was nice enough--full kitchen, two bathroom sinks, screened in porch, comfortable beds -- but for the price I expected a 5 star resort. Actually, everything in Sanibel/Captiva is extremely expensive, so come prepared to spend a lot of money. The entire resort is dated - be aware there are no elevators here, so not sure how someone who could not climb stairs would stay here. There is a pool bar/restaurant (Coconuts), which was nice, and we enjoyed several lunches which were quite good. There is also a charge to "rent" chairs to use on the beach. There were 3 of us and it cost us $40/day to rent 3 lounge chairs. Really?? For $600/night I was shocked we were charged for this.

There are some good things about this resort - all rooms are oceanfront, which was nice, and the location is good. The rooms were cleaned every day, sometimes not until later in the day, but that did not bother us as we did not get back to the room until after 5:00 or 6:00 anyway. There are several grocery stores close by (hotel does not offer any breakfast options) if you'd rather make your own breakfast than go out. There are also several grill areas if you'd rather grill steaks, seafood, etc. I saw several people doing that--probably got tired of spending a small fortune going out to dinner. The resort grounds are very beautiful and well maintained.

The meals we had at Mucky Duck, Jacaranda, Green Flash and Grandma Dots were about the quality of Applebee's/TGIF--maybe a little more. We went to the Bubble Room in Captiva for desert but found they charge $5.50/person fee to sit at a table - so we would have spent $16.50 just to sit at a table inside the restaurant to have desert. Recommend taking it to go if all you are having is desert--they do not charge a fee if you have dinner.

Bottom line is I do not mind spending money if I get quality along with it, which we did not. From the meals to the accommodations, everything was extremely overpriced and we won't be returning to this area again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveler4313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thank you for your recent visit to Sanibel Island and for taking the time to write a review on your resort and island experience. We're glad you enjoyed the suite and poolside dining at Coconuts. Island rates vary seasonally, we hope you will reconsider and return to Sanibel in the near future. Best regards from the Team at Casa Ybel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
There are newer reviews for Casa Ybel Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

This place is beautiful - lovely wooden condos with lots of space set in beautiful gardens right on the beach.

I think each property is privately owned so each has it's own unique decor and is in varying states of repair.

We arrived without a reservation after leaving the terrible Sundial resort. We viewed a double bedroomed property and the furniture and decor was just not us. Its worth pointing out that we are particularly fussy and like modern, uncluttered environments. We then viewed room 105 a singled bedroom property and it was much better. We got a slight discount but still paid $460 per night plus tax which is expensive. That said we had plenty of space, a well equiped kitchen with an island, large living area and balcony and our daughter loved it.

There is very little service, the towel attendant, cafe etc opened when someone turned up. Everyone seemed to simply except this laid back approach. I went to the reception to ask where I could get some coffee from and the girl in the office said she was just about to make one and she'll make me one too! It's not something I would usually tolerate but I found myself shrugging my shoulders and saying why not?!

You need your own provisions as breakfast isn't available (cycle to the old lighthouse to see the sunrise and have breakfast at the lighthouse cafe instead) and there is limited lunch and dining options. Most people seem to go out or cook themselves as there are also BBQ stations available throughout the complex.

Sanibel is different, it's active in a relaxing kind of way. Everyone is riding around on bikes, walking, shelling, watching the beautiful sunsets or the sunrises - in a word it's about enjoying the simple things.

We loved it and we certainly felt more relaxed leaving than arriving. It wasn't worth the money but everywhere on Sanibel is expensive and the island itself is a great spot to get back to basics and
chill out.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamesbrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaYbel-Mgr, General Manager at Casa Ybel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit. We're glad you enjoyed your time at Casa Ybel and Sanibel Island and hope you will return soon. Best regards, Team Casa Ybel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This was the first hotel/resort that we stayed at on our first ever trip to the USA and it certainly exceeded our expectations. The one-bedroom suite was very spacious and well appointed with the most fabulous view and sound of the ocean. A short walk across the grass took us to the beautiful beach which spread for miles in both directions - the perfect place for watching the sunset. My wife - a keen swimmer - gave the pool (as well as the ocean !!) top marks and the staff at the poolside bar were always friendly and efficient. The resort does not offer breakfast but, with a grocery store nearby and a kitchen ensuite, this was no problem. After an excellent dinner at Thistle Lodge on the first night, we ate there every night. Before booking Casa Ybel, we had considered various alternatives on Sanibel & Captiva but are delighted with the choice that we made. We can't wait to go back and won't be considering alternatives on our next visit to these lovely islands.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrGrumpy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We come here each year and no matter the weather, the beach, birds, shells, and view are spectacular. The grounds are gorgeous. Lunch by the pool is great fun and great food. The other activities--tennis, shuffleboard, jacuzzi make relaxing easy. The folks in the office couldn't be more helpful no matter the request. They are speedy and responsive.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhillyWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Casa Ybel was great! My husband and I came here for a long weekend while our son stayed with his grandparents. What a relaxing trip - Casa Ybel was a huge part of that! We were luckily able to check in early, which helped alot. We had booked an umbrella package ahead of time for our first full day there and I highly recommend that. They set up the chairs on the beach right outside our unit and it was so convenient. The next day we rented bikes and then stayed by the pool in the afternoon. I was impressed by the number of pool chairs that were available - most places never have enough! Every member of the staff we talked to was very nice and helpful. We'd definitely stay here again. Only small disappointment was that housekeeping the first day didn't come until about 2:30 pm and I had expected them to be finished by then. But the unit was great and very clean and had everything we could want!

Room Tip: All the units face the beach - I don't know if there's a bad one there!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We were desperately looking for a place to spend the night and watch the sunset. We were on Sanibel & Captiva for the day and the choices of hotels were few and far between. We really wanted ocean view & ALL the rooms at Casa Ybel are ocean view! Large one bdrm suite with full kitchen and lovely patio overlooking the ocean. Parking easy, extremely quiet location. We slept with the window open all night & did not hear a thing. Great place to relax. Very quiet & private beach, well maintained. No washer/dryer in units, but a place with machines is located nearby on the property. They have tennis courts etc. You can also rent bikes & explore the lovely bike paths on Sanibel Island.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SYLLOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This is our second year to be a Casa Ybel! This year we rented a unit on the second floor of building H. It had a beautiful view of the Gulf! Very comfortable and quiet. The pool is beautiful and the staff was great. I would have thought with the price of the unit per night, it would include coffee and maid service at least once during the week. We didn't see anyone to at least bring new towels! We also did not have a book in our unit that explained about the condo. We would return next year and ask more questions this time!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank millygirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
2.2 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,368 reviews
2.9 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
286 reviews
15.2 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 20 in Sanibel Island
382 reviews
3.1 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,854 reviews
18.8 km away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ybel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ybel Resort

Address: 2255 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6104
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $354 - $777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Ybel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Natural, secluded and exclusive, historic Casa Ybel Resort epitomizes the sanctuary, old-island spirit of Sanibel. Occupying 23 acres of beach front property isolated from commercial enterprise, the resort forms a sheltered getaway where romantic surroundings and outdoor recreation attract couples and families alike. Travelers have found respite and hospitality here since the 1890's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Ybel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ybel Hotel Sanibel Island
Casa Ybel Resort Sanibel Island, Florida
Casa Ybel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Casa Ybel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing