We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2015

The Shalimar is our new favorite place to be. Comfortable, very clean and convenient to everything. The cottages are lovely and the owners have thought to furnish them with just about any thing you could need.
The Shalimar is a true "getaway".

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2015

This is a great mid-island location on the beach. We began our stay in the 1st floor of the motel, rm. 5. The walls were too thin for our liking. We heard our upstairs and next door neighbors walking. Next door we could also hear talking and TV. When cigarette smoke seeped into our non-smoking room, we asked for a cottage. The cottage was sheer luxury, and the former discomforts were quickly forgotten. Love the pool and beachviews. Laundry room was handy. Staff were all hard working and helpful. We wish we could stay forever.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank flyer303_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2015

My husband and I came to Sanibel Island with no reservations for a few nights. We found the Shalimar along W Gulf Blvd and were very happy. The inn is family owned I believe and they gave us a discount because it was a last minute rental. They have cottages available but they were full so we took a room in the hotel. It had a kitchen area as well as a screened in porch with furniture which made it lovely to watch the ocean. We were literally steps from the gulf. They have bikes as well as kayaks available for rent. The beds are comfortable, the room was clean and there is an inground pool as well. The decor could stand some updating but we would definitely stay there again. It was a great find.

Room Tip: The closer to the beach the better- and the 2nd floor gives you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LynneG0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

We've visited Sanibel numerous times in the last 20 years; the island is one of our getaway spots in Florida. You can relax and unwind here as nowhere else. At one of our last year's trips to the island we drove by this place so we stopped to check it out. We found the property very clean right as we stepped out of the car; nice lanscape and we noticed how close the main building was to the beach. Later we found out this is the closest hotel builidng to the beach on the entire island. We booked our next getaway right on spot and returned in a month, this was back in last July. We spent a short week there, on the 2nd floor. The room was super clean, loved the little kitchenette for a quick meal. The beach was literally 5 steps from the building. The place is quiet, staff is super nice and friendly. We felt like we were on our homeymoon once again. Kept the balcony door open at night and listened to the waves, woke up to the view of the shining water from our bed..... picture perfect. A huge plus is that each room has its own AC unit so instead of sleeping with a noisy air conditioner all night like you get at most hotels here you can here the ocean instead....... priceless (the AC unit is outside on the ground floor so you don't hear the noise as it turrns off and on). We've stayed at so many other places on the island but won't try anymore for sure, we found our paradise right here at Shalimar. We already booked our next getaway for this summer; can't wait to come back! Shalimar and Sanibel is one word for us forever!

Room Tip: ose to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Just returned from a 5 day sister get away to our favorite spot Shalimar Motel/Cottages.
As always great time, weather was wonderful and sunny everyday. The pool spotless and always inviting. The chair for beach sitting make it great and bike rental for looking around or just enjoying a work out is great.

Stayed in motel for this visit enjoy the cottages better but for short stays motel is perfect. Small kitchenette for light meals and a screened in porch with full view of beach and water very relaxing.

Looking forward to another short visit in June. If you are a light sleeper top floor of motel might be better. Layout for both floors are the same as are the views.

Room Tip: All rooms in motel give same great views, if you want FULL water there are 3 cottages with this and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 101monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 6 days and that was way to short ! Perfect spot by the beach. I suggest room #1 it was the best being able to sleep w out patio door open to be able to hear the ocean waves falling asleep and 1st thing wen you wake up. Our room had everything we needed very clean, simple and perfect. The staff was very helpful n polite , Also loved being able to walk to the beach to go shelling as well. Loved it here and cant wait to go back.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrsStillwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015

We loved staying at the Shalimar. We were in unit 2 of the motel for 5 nights. Great views of the ocean and sunsets. The room was spotless. I love that there is no housekeeping...makes everything more relaxed. You bring your used linens to the office and exchange for clean ones by 1:00. There are all the normal amenities you would find in any hotel. The small kitchen area is plenty big to make a full meal. There is a 4 burner small stove with oven, microwave and full fridge with freezer and it's well equipped with dishes and utensils. There are grills available, but we did not use one. I've read other reviews and was a bit nervous about second level noise. We were lucky and had quiet upstairs neighbors. You can hear footsteps above. If it might be an issue for you ask to stay on the second level. We slept well due to all the outdoor activities on the island. Love, love love Sanibel. The day we left we realized there were beach umbrellas to rent. Plenty of beach chairs to use daily. You just have to return them after using them.I have to say that the grounds at the Shalimar are beautiful. Whoever does the ground maintenance should be highly praised. The staff is very friendly and helpful as well. We will be back.

Room Tip: #1 & #2 in the motel have great views. If you're a light sleeper, consider the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maryannGoffstown_Nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
4.4 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
311 reviews
3.8 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,498 reviews
6.5 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 20 in Sanibel Island
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#4 of 20 in Sanibel Island
389 reviews
1.5 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,014 reviews
11.2 km away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#11 of 20 in Sanibel Island
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Cottages and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Cottages and Motel

Address: 2823 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $227 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shalimar Cottages and Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shalimar is an Old Florida-style resort of 33 units located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. Blending in with the natural beauty of the island, Shalimar offers many features without spoiling the natural atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shalimar Cottages and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Hotel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Motel Sanibel Island
Shalimar Cottages And Motel Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing