We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
202
109
29
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
109
29
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews screened in porch sandbar restaurant no daily maid service second floor adirondack chairs small kitchen literally steps old florida top floor beach location bedroom cottage gulf view beach front the past years your feet gulf of mexico nice pool
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 373 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2015

The Shalimar is our new favorite place to be. Comfortable, very clean and convenient to everything. The cottages are lovely and the owners have thought to furnish them with just about any thing you could need.
The Shalimar is a true "getaway".

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2015

This is a great mid-island location on the beach. We began our stay in the 1st floor of the motel, rm. 5. The walls were too thin for our liking. We heard our upstairs and next door neighbors walking. Next door we could also hear talking and TV. When cigarette smoke seeped into our non-smoking room, we asked for a cottage. The cottage was sheer luxury, and the former discomforts were quickly forgotten. Love the pool and beachviews. Laundry room was handy. Staff were all hard working and helpful. We wish we could stay forever.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank flyer303_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2015

My husband and I came to Sanibel Island with no reservations for a few nights. We found the Shalimar along W Gulf Blvd and were very happy. The inn is family owned I believe and they gave us a discount because it was a last minute rental. They have cottages available but they were full so we took a room in the hotel. It had a kitchen area as well as a screened in porch with furniture which made it lovely to watch the ocean. We were literally steps from the gulf. They have bikes as well as kayaks available for rent. The beds are comfortable, the room was clean and there is an inground pool as well. The decor could stand some updating but we would definitely stay there again. It was a great find.

Room Tip: The closer to the beach the better- and the 2nd floor gives you a better view.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LynneG0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2015

We've visited Sanibel numerous times in the last 20 years; the island is one of our getaway spots in Florida. You can relax and unwind here as nowhere else. At one of our last year's trips to the island we drove by this place so we stopped to check it out. We found the property very clean right as we stepped out of the car; nice lanscape and we noticed how close the main building was to the beach. Later we found out this is the closest hotel builidng to the beach on the entire island. We booked our next getaway right on spot and returned in a month, this was back in last July. We spent a short week there, on the 2nd floor. The room was super clean, loved the little kitchenette for a quick meal. The beach was literally 5 steps from the building. The place is quiet, staff is super nice and friendly. We felt like we were on our homeymoon once again. Kept the balcony door open at night and listened to the waves, woke up to the view of the shining water from our bed..... picture perfect. A huge plus is that each room has its own AC unit so instead of sleeping with a noisy air conditioner all night like you get at most hotels here you can here the ocean instead....... priceless (the AC unit is outside on the ground floor so you don't hear the noise as it turrns off and on). We've stayed at so many other places on the island but won't try anymore for sure, we found our paradise right here at Shalimar. We already booked our next getaway for this summer; can't wait to come back! Shalimar and Sanibel is one word for us forever!

Room Tip: ose to the beach
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2015

Just returned from a 5 day sister get away to our favorite spot Shalimar Motel/Cottages.
As always great time, weather was wonderful and sunny everyday. The pool spotless and always inviting. The chair for beach sitting make it great and bike rental for looking around or just enjoying a work out is great.

Stayed in motel for this visit enjoy the cottages better but for short stays motel is perfect. Small kitchenette for light meals and a screened in porch with full view of beach and water very relaxing.

Looking forward to another short visit in June. If you are a light sleeper top floor of motel might be better. Layout for both floors are the same as are the views.

Room Tip: All rooms in motel give same great views, if you want FULL water there are 3 cottages with this and remainder have porches with water views. Top floor of motel if you are a light sleeper and don't want to hear foot steps.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 101monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews