We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seahorse Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seahorse Cottages
Taghkanic, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I enjoyed staying at Seahorse Cottages for the peaceful, quiet location. It was also a very short walk to both the bay side and the ocean. The cottage was spotless. They had complimentary bikes on site too, which we enjoyed using. I would like to say something regarding another reviewer's comment about the size of the pool. She mentioned that she was disappointed because the pool was so small. I would rather describe the pool as intimate. There is no reason for a large pool at a place like this. There are only three cottages. I felt like the pool was made just for us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank DianeR12521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    30
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
90
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

These cottages are a real gem. Situated on the east end of the island, they are easily accessible from the causeway, and have the advantage of being on the less busy end of the island. The room was clean and comfortable, and quiet. The kitchen was adequately equipped. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Sanibel is so different from the mainland and we found staying in Seahorse Cottages was an ideal way of seeing the island. We had the 2 bed cottage which is a good size - larger than we'd expected - and it had everything we needed - easy access to the beach, bikes to get around the local area, barbecue, pool all in good shape: the place is well looked after. The owners are friendly and welcoming, all very comfortable. We had a great time. Hope to be back soon!

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank BobTheRechnung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Seahorse cottages are just a short walk from the beach -- and when we were there in December it was 80 degrees and sunny every day! The 1 bedroom cottage has a comfortable living room and cable TV, a good-sized kitchen area and eating area, a bathroom, bedroom with queen sized bed, and a great back porch by the pool. The pool area was fantastic with many chairs, a hammock and shower. I loved choosing a bike provided by the owners and riding up and down the great bikeways alongside the main road through the island. The cottage is just a few doors down from a deli, a cafe and the ice cream shop. It was helpful to have laundry facilities and the restaurant guides left in the room. I loved it there, wish I could move in forever!

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom doesn't have a front porch, but is on the end and nearest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank spatzer1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Friends and I stayed at these wonderful cottages in July 2011. All three of us desperately needed a vacation and staying at Sea Horse Cottages made our Sanibel experience perfect! I arrived very late during a Florida thunderstorm and was so happy to see a note on the outside of my door welcoming me to my temporary Sanibel home. We enjoyed sitting on the outside porch with our glasses of wine every night, and walked to the ice cream store around the corner several times during our stay. We utilized the complimentary bikes and pool often. We enjoyed swinging on the swing and watching the salamanders scurry up the banyan trees. We have decided that we will make this an annual experience. Do yourself a favor.... Pick up the phone and reserve your spot at Seahorse cottages so you too can feel like you have your very own little island getaway!

K. Osmon (Chicago)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank KOsmonChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We had a one-bedroom unit complete with kitchen, living room, large screen television and extra TV in the bedroom. The WiFi worked great. Lots of bikes were available for use of guests along with wagons to cart all the beach equipment (also provided by Seahorse) to the shore. I don't think we could have made a better choice for our week on Sanibel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longboat Key, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We arrived at our unit and it seemed a little warm in there. So we turned the temp. down and left to go check things out around the island. When we got back it was 80 degrees in the rooms and the fan was blowing, but it wasn't cool air. So we called and called and finally got someone to call us back. We waited around for a while and I think Shauna called us and said to go do what we needed to do and she would be sure and get it taken care of. So we left to go eat. Thank goodness it was fixed when we got back. She was very nice about it all. The pool is more than small. More the size of a large hot tub. It wasn't really clean, so it was a very quick dip in and out. The cottage was very small, but ok. Not really close to the water and for shelling?????? We live on Longboat Key and Lido Beach has tons bigger shells than down there. Maybe we just didn't go to the right place. It was a nice getaway, but we sure appreciate home a little more.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Silvercat34228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
3.6 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
0.8 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.8 km away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
7.6 km away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
2.4 km away
Gulf Breeze Cottages
Gulf Breeze Cottages
#9 of 42 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Cottages

Property: Seahorse Cottages
Address: 1223 Buttonwood Ln, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seahorse Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seahorse Cottages is tranquil ground-level attached cottages nestled in a lush garden of tropical plants with a heated pool; located just 200 feet from the Bay beach and a block from the Gulf. All suites are comfortably furnished and include living area, bedroom, kitchen, bath and patio. Use of wireless Internet, bicycles and beach equipment is included. The peaceful setting and attention to detail makes Seahorse Cottages an ideal romantic destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seahorse Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Motel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Cottages Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing