We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Fit for our Family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caribe Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caribe Beach Resort
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Fit for our Family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We had been staying at a very large and lovely condo about 20 miles away, with no beach. We came to Sanibel for the day and knew we had to stay there for our sake and our kids. Went into the Caribe and they were very friendly and let us look at a few of the units to select which we preferred. We chose the one above the office in case our 2 year old woke up and cried as we did not want to disturb others. It was the perfect fit for us. Make no mistake, this is old school Florida, but we loved it. We had a bedroom with a full bath and a Murphy bed in the living room for sleeping. The kitchen was well stocked and there was a 1/2 bath in the hallway. The grounds were very nicely maintained and had lovely vegetation. The pool was perfect. Best of all, we were a short walk to the beautiful Sanibel beach for shelling. If you are expecting luxury, this is not the place for you. If you are there to be a beach bum and not worry about sand on your feet, this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    26
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

First, the positives: Quiet. Clean, well-maintained grounds, friendly maintenance staff, good location on West Gulf Drive. Pet-friendly. Now for the negatives: We arrived to discover the specific ground-floor room we were promised (in writing) was occupied and unavailable, though no one had warned us. The property manager agreed to our request for a 15% discount for the inconvenience. I guess the room key says it all about the need for updates on this property: when was the last time you stayed at a hotel that gave you a metal key attached to one of those brightly colored plastic fobs with the "drop in any mailbox" instructions? The room number had long ago worn off the fob, and had been retraced with white-out. Other issues: Exterior door louvers that were inoperable, ants in the kitchenette (friendly maintenance staff did lend us a can of ant and roach killer, but it didn't get rid of them), an unsupportive mattress on the Murphy Bed, a policy that directs guests to exchange dirty towels for clean ones but ONLY ON WEDNESDAY MORNING and ONLY FROM 9:00 till 10:00!!! Any other time, and guests are just plain out of luck. And one final item you may find interesting. Internet access was cut off at 12:00 AM the day of our departure, even though checkout was ten hours later. And, Surprise!, when we logged on to our home page later in the day, hundreds of miles from the Caribe, guess whose log-in screen appeared? Yes! The Caribe's! And it won't go away.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BillyBatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

I've been coming to the caribe since I was young, probably 5 or 6 and I am now 26 and I still come every summer with my family. Between me, my mom and my grandmother, we have 3 time shares there and it is so nice and memorable because all of the family can get together. I actually got engaged at the Caribe. I am now a mother of two and I am so glad that I am able to share the memories with my children. The accomodations are amazing, the beach is wonderful, staff is great and everything is so close and convenient. I would reccomend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munkypie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, WV
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2008

The Caribe is a timeshare resort, but when you visit you aren't slapped with one of those annoying sales-pitches. The resort is older and in severe need of updates. The refrigerator, dishwasher, wallpaper, and the entire bathroom should be removed and replaced with something more modern. Even with these problems, however, our stay was fantastic. Our room on the 2nd floor of building A had a beautiful Gulf View. The wind in the palm trees was relaxing, and the pool was refreshing. What really made this place great was the people. The employees have got to be some of the best in the business. Moreover, the other vacationers made this time so enjoyable. We were traveling with a 9 month old who was the star of the resort. Everyone remembered his name and asked about him. I had never slept on a Murphy Bed before and was expecting something akin to a pullout sofa. The bed was actually rather nice and the pillows were comfortable. A flat screen tv was a nice touch to the room as well. The resort is located, in my opinion, near the best spot on the whole island for shelling (the Tarpon Bay beach access area--from the resort, go to the beach and turn left...it's about a five minute walk to a fabulous tidal pool filled with sea life and shells). Although four adults could sleep in the room, I wouldn'd recommend it. Two adults, and at the most two small children, would maximize the room's occupancy. We didn't really spend too much time in the room, so it's small size didn't really bother us. Be sure to check out the Ding Darling Wildlife Refugee on the island and cruise on up to Captiva to eat at the Mucky Duck or the Bubble Room.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wvfamily2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apison,TN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2008

We had the most delightful time.I brought home tons of wonderful shells;the beach was devine!!!I spent hours on the beach.My husband joined me on the beach for the early couple of hours and all the susets;he was amazed at the South Seas feel of sitting on our balcony and viewing the waves through the huge palms.
Being an avid gardener myself,I appreciated sooo much the landscaping.Everything was perfection with flowers and fragrances at every turn.I even picked up some of the lovely little cones from the very tall,unique trees that I had not seen before.The cones are tiny and will be this years additions to hand made Christmas ornaments.The needles are so beautiful and unique,I would love to have live branches;I have never seen them duplicated by the silk flower industry.
And then there's the staff;great folks;especially Blake in housekeeping;she's a real asset to Caribe;be sure to ask her for shelling tips(when she's not too busy of coarse).
So clean,quiet,and perfect..highly recommended.
I want to go back right now....ERM Apison,Tn

  • Liked — Clean and beach appropriate (no Carpet)
  • Disliked — I wish they accepted two tiny toy poodles
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BEACHREADYTOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmcdmtglady
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

We exchanged through RCI originally for Siesta Key - decided to go to Caribe Beach Resort instead partially because they are "pet friendly" - we absolutely made the right decision ! This is a small quaint quiet clean resort - we were lucky to get the "Outrigger" 1 bdrm unit - more than likely on cancellation due to unknown track of Hurricane Gustav - we watched the forecast carefully and it worked out SO well as we could not have had more perfect weather and awesome shelling due to some previous storm bands that had come through the area with the previous storm Fay....the managers at this resort do an awesome job keeping it in top condition - even though the units are somewhat "dated" they are well stocked and very very clean - only negative was the "no see ums" these unseen pests bite so we will be looking into a good repellant for when we return - and we WILL return !! Our main focus was doing NOTHING
and this is the perfect place to enjoy doing just that - lots of good restaurants abound although we chose to eat at home except for one night at Jacquaranda for Happy Hour which was AWESOME as well... ! Can't wait to go back to this relaxing atmosphere - missing morning shelling already !

  • Liked — beach shelling tranquil low key setting
  • Disliked — no dsl
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmcdmtglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2008

We've been staying at Caribe for about twelve years, off an on, as a timeshare property. It hasn't changed at all in those years, except perhaps a few new pieces of furniture and an update to the tv technology.

The resort is very quiet, with shuffleboard and horseshoes available, and what looks to be a bocce pit (but no bocce balls on site), only a few steps to the gulf. The shelling, of course, is second only to Captiva island, a quick drive of fewer than 10 miles. The pool (like most Floridian pools) is a little salty (not on purpose) and incredibly warm (around 87 degrees). We saw very few children, but it's definitely child-friendly.

The staff is incredibly nice and helpful, and check-in was quick and easy. Everything worked well. The room was clean, but it would have been nice if the front door was glassed in, rather than a screen and wood slats (they weren't quite tight-fitting enough to keep out no-see-ums). The kitchen is stocked with all of the basic tools, but no food items (obviously) so plan to bring everything from oil to condiments to meat and veggies. There are grills for public use, too. The room was a standard efficency, big enough for two, sleeps four, but really four people are a bit much for that room.

If you plan to grocery shop, go to the off-island Publix rather than shop on the island, to save money. Bailey's and Jerry's are about the same as far as prices, depending on the item, but Bailey's is a locally-owned store while Jerry's is a small chain (but a huge store) and has a wider variety of offerings.

All in all, nothing special, but not lacking anything either.

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — No internet access!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank katbriil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.2 km away
Villa Sanibel Condominiums
Villa Sanibel Condominiums
#28 of 42 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.7 km away
Ocean's Reach Condominiums
Ocean's Reach Condominiums
#2 of 42 in Sanibel Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.4 km away
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
#14 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
2.9 km away
No photo provided
Spanish Cay
#42 of 42 in Sanibel Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.4 km away
Casa Ybel Resort
Casa Ybel Resort
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Beach Resort

Property: Caribe Beach Resort
Address: 2669 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5911
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Caribe Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Caribe Beach Resort Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing