We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach in Sanibel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Tropical Winds and we were very impressed by the beach, rooms and staff. Everyone was super friendly, the room was clean and quaint, and the beach was the best I've seen. Shelling was great and the beach was almost private (we only saw a handful of people the whole time). We will be back again SOON!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

We just returned from an absolutely wonderful trip to Sanibel. If you stay at Tropical Winds, understand that it's all about the location (perfect) and not the room (a bit run down).

Pros:
+Location, location, location - a 2 minute walk to the water and lovely, almost private beach
+Friendliness - everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful.
+Affordable

Cons: (for #5)
-Our room/efficiency was small, which is fine, but the shower was the smallest I've ever been in. If you're taller than 5'7" or have broad shoulders or a bit of a belly, the shower could be a real problem.
-I've lived in Florida and know how tough it is to keep a beach place clean, but our efficiency just felt and looked a little dirty all around the edges than I would have liked.
-The bed was rather soft and sunk down in the middle

Honestly, I'd go back in a heartbeat, but might try to stay in one of the larger cottages/studios next time.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5, unless you're a short and slender person. The shower (and bathroom) are minuscule.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xsfritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

If you are looking for ultra modern facilities, go somewhere else, if you are looking for food and drink served on the beach go somewhere else, if you are looking for crowded beaches go somewhere else!!! The cottages were as described quaint and old fashioned and clean. Everything you really need. The beach was secluded, the most people I saw on the beach at one time was eight. It was a very quiet and peaceful visit. Less than a 200 foot walk to the beach, in a heighborhood on the west end of the island but close enough to stores and cafes by taking a short drive. The owners took care of anything we needed. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Wonderful owners, sweet cottages, and beautiful beach steps from the front door. Pet friendly, too, even for our 2 LARGE but very well behaved dogs! If you want a feel for what Florida used to be like without high rises but also without compromising cleanliness or style, this is the place. Felt a lot like neighborhoods on Kauai, tropical, nice and laid back. Owners are kind and generous, as are the shells on the beach. Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: The studios looked quite small, a little larger room and you get a sweet porch and living room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittyhorsehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom cottage at Tropical Winds in Oct 2011 - the best thing about Tropical Winds is the location! It's in a residential area of Sanibel (like most of Sanibel) and it's just a short walk to the beach from the cottages. There was hardly anyone else on the beach which was wonderful for walking our dogs on the beach. The shelling was fantastic! The cottage itself needed some updating though - no central air conditioning, only window units which would be fine if the windows would open but 1/2 of the windows were broken and wouldn't open. Also the AC in the bedroom didn't work very well. The kitchen was TINY, the WiFi didn't work, there was not a remote control for the TV. We spent most of our time outside so these things didn't affect us that much. We LOVE Sanibel Island and the cottages could be great with a little updating.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crystalp09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Amazing place. Staying in a quaint studio on the beach. Only about 200' from the water and millions of seashells right at your doorstep (literally). Friendly service, beach chairs, umbrellas, kitchenette, queen size bed, small bathroom. Comes with a few bowls, cups, coffee maker, stove (no oven), refrigerator, sink, breakfast table and 2 chairs. Very nice place, clean, well-kept. It's everything you'd want from a getaway on the beautiful Sanibel beach. The sunset is straight out towards the beach from your doorstep so you don't have to travel anywhere to watch it. My only problem was our bed dipped in the middle so it was sloped, and the shower was about 2' x 2' (room #5), but the bathroom size overall was fine.

Room Tip: Get one of the studios or cottages on the beach side, not across the road. Perfect for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brittany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

A friend and I stayed here in Nov 2011 and were very pleased with the accomodations as well as the staff. Isaac was very welcoming, accomodating and made our brief stay just perfect. We stayed in a one bedroom cottage just across the street from the beach in a very nice neighborhood that was centrally located to everything on the island. The cottage was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
9.7 km away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
9.2 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,447 reviews
9.5 km away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#18 of 19 in Sanibel Island
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
11.4 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
705 reviews
5.1 km away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages

Address: 4819 Tradewinds & Jamaica Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2605
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: $184 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience Sanibel with the charm of Old Style Florida! Located on the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico, on the west end of the island, Tropical Winds is tucked away in a very secluded, private setting within a small residential neighborhood. Enjoy one of our beachfront or nearby cottages in our own tropical paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Motel And Cottages
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Tropical Winds Hotel
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing