We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramada Sarasota
Nearby Hotels
US$148
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Sarasota(Sarasota)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knights Inn Sarasota(Sarasota)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ranola(Sarasota)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota I-75(Sarasota)(Great Value!)
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regency Inn & Suites(Sarasota)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$435
US$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,150)
Filter reviews
1,150 results
Traveller rating
222
261
265
187
215
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
261
265
187
215
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbearded clamtiki bar restaurantwater viewgreat place to stayclose to the airportnice poolmarinascott
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,058 - 1,063 of 1,150 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

When I travel and stay at a Hotel/Motel/Inn I expect the basics to be met: a clean room, a comfortable bed, and good service. Unfortunately this Ramada failed in all but one of my expectations and clearly struck out as an advertised three star hotel/inn.

Checking in was easy as we had reservations through Expedia and the Ramada front desk attendant was very nice and friendly, but the Inn room as well as other missing amnesties and disappointments would prove to be the final result of my one star Yelp evaluation of this Ramada location. (see pictures; sorry that they wouldn't load upright).

#1, The Room: after repeated attempts to get the door unlocked with the electronic swipe key (this would happen everytime we tried to get into the room), it finally unlocked and we where instantly met with a newer and yet very poorly painted room filled with worn, dirty, and/or broken furnishings and fixtures. We shut the door which failed to seal to the frame thanks to the worn out seals and sash (proved to be very drafty) and proceeded to get settled. As we would be staying here for four days, we wanted to unpack our stuff, but after looking at the TV case, which doubled as the room dresser, we noticed it was covered in a dirty film (the TV itself was smeared with God only knows what), and it was also easy to see that the drawers where broken (broken and jammed shut) and of little use; so much for unpacking.

OK, we could live out of our travel bags easily enough, and after a long day of travel, we where really ready for sleep; this would prove to be a BIG letdown with this Ramada.

#2, After the first nights unrest-full sleep due to very uncomfortable beds (amongst other reasons), I decided to dig into the bed problem (check out the pictures); the bed[s] in our room where some of the worst I have encountered in a Hotel/Motel/Inn: mattresses where bowed and hard with springs that would dig into every part of the body; these mattresses where unsupportive, stained/filthy looking, and simply worn out! They where produced in 1999 and Lord knows what they have witnessed! Really Ramada, you recently purchase this two-bit Inn and you spend a little money on a repaint and skimp on the MOST IMPORTANT PART of a Hotel/Motel/Inn's function; a restful nights sleep! Preposterous!!

On to more letdowns with this Ramada!

#3, The actual location of this Ramada is a real problem being that it is near the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport but at such a location as to be in a DIRECT FLIGHT PATH of the incoming and exiting flights; bring earplugs as the Jetliners and other flight craft will rattle the ears as well as the hotel walls!
Of interesting note: A fun activity of this Ramada is to stand on the Inn balcony and wave at the airline passengers as the planes go by!

Other problem[s]:
#4, LOUD heating and air unit! Yes, if one wasn't bothered by the noise of Airport flyovers, one could certainly be put off by the excessive loud HUMMING and Tinny BUZZING of the heat/air unit; this thing is LOUD in all modes except for the off mode which didn't get used much being that a cold front hit us while we where staying there.
#5, Non fully closeable privacy and secondary curtains of which where old, filthy, and broken!
#6, A toilet that would run intermittently even after jiggling the handle!
#7, NO ICE Machine for ice!
#8, Hard and foul smelling water; this place REALLY NEEDS a secondary water filtration system!
#9, Sporadic or non-existent maid service; I guess if they come by while the do not disturb sign is out while one is using the bathroom, they won't attempt to return at all for the rest of the day.
#10, Very SLOW internet service; also make sure to ask the desk clerk for the password as they won't give it freely.
#11,The Tiki Bar was near our room and is open till 2:00AM so have some fun with the loud drunks as they stumble to look for their car or a nearby place to barf!
#12, The advertised view is for a limited section of this Inn so do not expect to get the fabulous dockside waterfront view with most rooms; we had a great view of the parking lot, the hotel/Tiki Bar/ Restaurant dumpster, and the nearby residential neighborhood!

OK, session over and on to some of the positives for this Ramada. As stated, the front desk staff was very nice and friendly, and this location does offer a small but limited continental breakfast as well as a decent Tiki Bar (bartender was great) and the available Bearded Clam Restaurant of which claims to have really good food although a bit pricey for the offerings (check out their website for more detail). The location is really easy to find and is directly on the N. Tamiami Trail just North of the Airport and Old Florida University.

As to why we stayed here? Well, this local was "picked" by using "Expedia"; it wasn't our choice, but the online pictures really looked appealing, so we went with it and the ugly truth would reveal itself while staying for four days.

Room Tip: Beware of the corporate General Manager's letters concerning the quality of this place; All the bedding is not updated as they have stated in FAR PAST reviews! Also, the corporate PICs are NOT accurate for this place!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Sareena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Guest: I will start out with an apology for your stay not being enjoyable. We have been in the process of renovating our waterfront hotel. The first two buildings have been completed and the third building that you stayed in is due for completion summer of 2012. I agree that that building needs serious renovations and this is why we have recently put this building off market until it is up to the same standard as the other two buildings.
Sincerely,
Navid Kichi
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We just returned from a stay at this hotel... and if they just replaced the mattresses (as the manager stated in an earlier review) in our room they were already used! This place was a misrepresentation... it is nothing like the photos. Our room was old, old, old and has not been remodeled in years! There was no ice machine in our building at all and the one in the building across the parking lot did not work. We did not even attempt to go to the pool as we saw a man urinating in the parking lot. This is a 1 star hotel at best. It is someone a group of 18 year olds would rent for a cheap party!
I emailed the general manager after seeing our room and seeing the front desk clerk was indifferent to the lack of ice, but he has not responded. The only good thing is we only paid $90 for the room and it was just a stop off betyween the Keys and Tampa so we just left everything in the suitcases and got out early in the morning.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell, the place was a dump. Maybe there are some decent rooms, but we sure didn't get one of them. I read some of the reviews but thought maybe people were being too critical...they weren't. Hated every moment!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Malinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Guest: I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize your stay with us was not a pleasant one. The building that you stayed in had not been renovated at that time. I would like you to know renovations for this building should be completed by the summer 2012
Sincerely,
Navid Kichi
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed there for a week, tried to find another hotel after seeing the room but everything was booked solid as it was spring break week. We arrived at 11, room wasn't ready, check in time is 3 and the manager, who seemed somewhat irritable, said there was no way they'd be checking anyone in before then because they were full. No big deal, we went to do some shopping and checked back around 2ish... still not ready. So we decided to have a couple of drinks at the tiki bar and get some lunch. We waited till 4, still not ready. Went back to the tiki bar for another couple of hours, finally we were given our keys. Went to the room, maid cart outside, door open, no one in sight. She showed eventually and said 10 minutes. It was like 8 before we got in. The pics will tell a lot of the story, but the room had a peculiar odor, the brass sink had green oxidation on it, the security lock was broken off, no do not disturb sign to use as a barrier to the maid in the morning, the headboard was screwed to the wall and the bed made noises every time you even sat on it. The first microwave had broken (built in) so instead of fixing or replacing that one, there was a smaller one stacked on top of what was supposed to be a cooktop range. The fridge was underneath, probably one of the only good points, it was a nice size and stainless steel. The shower drain was slow and you had to take your shower quickly to avoid it spilling out onto the floor. The shower heads were a nice design, doubled, but they were hung at about 4' and 5' heights??

The cleaning service was consistantly slow and not very thorough. Seems like the place is drastically under-staffed. The woman was nice but overwhelmed. They were painting the doors one day, but I think they have many more major renovations they should be concentrating on. And we were supposedly in one of the "newly renovated" rooms. Maybe 5 years ago. Looks like their pics on their site, but it's already worn down.

Pool: Would have been nice but you can't bring your own drinks, you have to get bar service from the tiki bar. We didn't want to incur large bar bills just sitting next to the pool, so we never went.

Tiki Bar: Lots of fun, met a few interesting locals and some not so nice ones. It seems to be a local hangout, music every day which was nice, but it made it hard to ever find a seat. The staff at the Tiki Bar were pleasant to deal with, hardworking kids.

The highlight of our stay there was taking our beach chairs out after dinner to the boardwalk in front of the marina and sitting with our own cocktails, watching people come and go, boats coming and going, and watching the stars.

In conclusion, after being home for a week, the vacation wasn't horrible, we were able to do what we wanted to do, going to the beach & visiting family. However, the hotel needs serious upgrades just to get to LaQuinta level. They are in an awesome location, they could do so well with some work. And it's a BIG resort, a shame to just let it go as it is.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank DanandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Guest: I apologize that you had so many issues during your stay with us. We always work hard at checking our guest in on time. I do want you to know all of the concerns you have will be addressed as your feedback is very important to us and helps us better this establishment.
Sincerely
Navid Kichi
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This property is not directly on the ocean but rather on a marina. The rooms were very clean and the price unbeatable! And we were there during the "season." It's an older property and therefore none of the rooms have balconies. Because of the price there are a lot of kids.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank patricia452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Guest: Thank you for taking time from your schedule to write a review about our hotel. I can assure you we are not trying to fool anyone about our location. We are very proud of this beautiful marina location. Thank you for mentioning our unbeatable price. I would like you to know that we do have rooms with balconies. I hope that we will see you again and thank you for your input.
Sincerely
Navid Kichi
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This was our second stay at this motel. We found the staff friendly and helpfull.Breakfast was not 5 star,but ok. The restaurant, was good,new menu. The location was handy. Room was good.

Room Tip: We had remodeled room on parking lot side
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jensenmk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Guest: Thank You for taking the time to write a review. We continue to expand our breakfast with new items. I want you to know how that your feedback helps us in many ways. We will look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely
Navid Kichi
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews