We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in Sarasota....”

Mi Tierra Restaurant
Ranked #396 of 1,193 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Colombian, Cuban
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 7, 2016 via mobile

There's not to many Spanish restaurants in Sarasota. However, there's no need for another. Excellent food. Service a bit slow, but worth the wait....

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Georgeny01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 41 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2015 via mobile

I ate a Bandeja Paisa and it was pretty good! However i ended up throwing up the beans later that night:( not sure if it was the fact that i over ate or if it was just the food! Not sure if i'd come back though

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank Tania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2015

Chuleta Calleña sp? Best I've ever had! pounded so thin and the fried. The platanos both maduros and tostones are killer. my spell correct is going crazy with all these spanish words. anyway. Love Love Love this little place.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank CaptainCrunch941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2015

I first discovered Mi Tierra (on the "wrong side of Fruitville Road") on Hwy. 301 in Sarasota during a Tropical Storm. They had pots and buckets all over the place because their roof was leaking everywhere. But I sensed I was in the right place when I noticed I was the only non-Spanish-speaking patron in the restaurant. I love finding authentic down-home fare of any kind and Mi Tierra is exactly that for Colombian and Cuban. Chicken and Yellow Rice, Roast Pork, Fish....oh, and the Fried Plantains taste like a decadent dessert. Yummy! The portions are generous and the price is very affordable. Give Mi Tierra a try. You'll be glad you did.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2015

If you're looking for authentic Colombia food, please stop here. I won't lie, from the outside, the place looks super sketchy, but when you walk inside you'll feel right at home. The food is so excellent and the service is great. And in true Colombian fashion, they give you alot of food. And prices are totally decent. Stop here for an excellent meal. You won't be disappointed.
They don't have pandebono or pan de queso here.

Date of visit: April 2015
Thank _CA-LA_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mi Tierra Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mi Tierra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing