We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is my second stay in an Indigo Hotel....the first was in Chelsea in New York a few years ago. I believe that this brand is going to grow into a very successful hotel chain....perhaps it already is so and I'm just becoming aware of it. I note from their website that there are some international openings in the offing. The room here was quite large, modern decor.....hardwood floors.....good furnishings and work space....large bath and notably large shower stall with upscale amenities....just a nice, clean, sharp, chic feel. The hotel is 10 minutes walking from Main Street and a wide choice of very nice eateries....the Opera was in session while we were in the area and there was a large crowd of attendees for that. The most memorable and perhaps important facet, in a way, of this visit was my experience in the business center. I went there to print a document. I was having some trouble getting my document to print......a young woman from the staff saw that I was in the business center and she came over to check on "how i was doing". She stayed with me and spent a good 15 minutes trying to help me.....then when we just couldn't get it done.....she took me to the front desk and allowed me to use the equipment there to get the job done. This little incident illustrates what is really significant about this property. It roused memories of my visit to the property in Chelsea, which had made a real impression on me for the attitude of the employees and the chic decor. Same here in Sarasota. The combination of a unique decor and an exceptionally well trained and motivated staff make this brand what I believe will become a destination for devotees. The helpfulness and energy of the employees seems to have infected all of the people who work in this hotel. They look like they're having fun. I believe they ARE having fun. These hotels have a "with it" feel to them. I will look for the brand in the future when I am traveling.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Thank you roycharles; your review blew us away! It means a lot when a guest notices all the effort that goes into making our hotel great. That you had such a positive experience and took the time to share it warms our hearts.

As a boutique hotel, we have the ability to get to know our guests and develop personal relationships. It’s certainly true in Sarasota and we know that this attitude resonates throughout the brand.

We hope that continue to visit not just our hotel, but Indigos the world over. Give us a call when you’re heading back to town (941-487-3800) and ask for Leslie Power, General Manager. We’ll treat you like family and wow you once again with our staff’s energy and enthusiasm.

From one Pittsburgher to another, a thousand thanks. We look forward to impressing you time and time again…Go Steelers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

731 - 737 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

This hotel is really cool. We loved the room, the huge shower, the laminate floors, and the beach feel. It was very clean and we got a good deal with the government rate. However, there was no fridge or microwave in our room, kinda weird. Also, the A/C in controlled by the key card to save energy, but we found that it would randomly turn off in the middle of the night, leaving us to wake up very hot. Also the fan cannot be turned on independently of the A/C or heat. We were right next to the elevator, which is pretty loud, so we had to have the fan on the mask the sound.

The TV was new and nice, but the remote only works for the channels, so we couldn't watch a movie from our external source, because there is now way to charge the input on the TV.

This hotel is great, don't get me wrong- We would come back here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the elevator. The elevator is very loud and can be heard in the rooms. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNcoastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Thanks for the feedback, TNcoastie! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and got a feel for the relaxing environment of the hotel.

We’re pleased to announce that we are in the process of upgrading our A/C systems; soon guests will be able to operate the fan independently of the A/C…and we’ll still meet our high green standards. Let us know the next time you are coming and we’ll do our best to put you in a suite or a room on our executive floor, where fridges come standard.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel is truly a gem. While we hardly spend any time in the hotel since we were doing so many other activities, I am so glad we stayed here. It is located right across the street from the Hyatt (which we had also been looking at but it was just too pricey) and very close to the "downtown" area of Sarasota-well within walking distance to many restaurants.

The rooms were beautifully decorated, the front desk staff was lovely, and they even had a jazz musician in the lobby one night. The cliental of this hotel is definitely older (or at least that's how it seemed to us), but that was never an issue. There's really no pool area or scenic views, but this hotel is still a great deal.

Check out Station 400 for brunch and Darwins for dinner, they are fantastic!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Sounds like you had a great time! There’s always something going on in Sarasota and we think the Indigo is perfectly located to help you explore.

We hope you come visit us again soon! Let us know when you’re coming to town and we’ll recommend some other great activities and places to eat…although we agree – Station 400 and Darwin’s are pretty hard to beat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at the Hotel Indigo Sarasota and it is one of those 'best kept secrets' lodging locations - no matter what your purpose for staying in Sarasota, their invigorating 'seaside cottage escape style' truly is a refreshing alternative when traveling and creates a wonderful state of mind. ALL the staff are simply amazing with attention to detail and gracious hospitality, so many thoughtful extras and just so comfortable, very different than most hotels. We look forward to staying there for baseball spring training each year; clean and refreshing, a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: We have stayed in three different rooms, different sleeping configurations, on different floors over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WVshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

We’d say the third time’s the charm, but we hope that every visit to the Indigo is a charm! Of course, we love having charming guests who keep up the positive environment and help make the work place fun :-). Can’t wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The staff make extra effort to welcome you , are helpful to make our first stay in Sarasota very nice. Great deal.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clemence_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Thank you Clemence! You picked a great time to visit Sarasota and we hope you make it a regular destination. Let us know if there is anything we can do to help your second visit top your first!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This charming boutique hotel is a delight from the first encounter on the web to the last minute at check-out. I booked the hotel based entirely on its location. I had to attend a business meeting across the street at the Hyatt. In comparing both on the internet, this seemed to have all the services I needed at a fraction of the cost. I was not disappointed. The Indigo Hotel is beautifully decorated in a beach motif with huge aquatic murals on most walls. Staff were very efficient and friendly seeming to anticipate our needs before we even asked. The guest rooms and bathroom is large compared to most hotels with very comfortable bedding. Our room and the entire hotel were exceptionally clean. Tried the hot tub after and long drive and found it refreshing and clean without that strong chlorine smell.
WIFI and parking were FREE. What a treat. Loved every minute of my stay. Only wish I could have stayed longer than one day.

Room Tip: Take a cab to the historic downtown area for an amazing choice of quaint restaurants. We ate at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay! Nothing like unwinding in the hot tub after a long day’s drive to start a trip off right…

We at the Indigo firmly believe in the importance of amenities and strive to meet all of our guests’ needs. Thank you very much for noticing that our staff anticipated your needs before you had to ask—that’s what we aim for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I recently stayed in Sarasota on a work trip. I chose to stay at the Indigo based on the price ($130 a night) and the location (close the downtown). I was not disappointed! The hotel was very easy to get to and had free parking ( a rarity these days!). The front desk manager was very pleasant and helpful and gave me a nice 3rd floor room. The rooms are beautifully decorated with hardwood floors, quiet beach themed and nice "extras" like Starbucks coffee, mood music and nice shampoo and soap. The hotel lobby had a bar and a small restaurant and also offered free water with various fruits (it's the little things that make a stay nice). The hotel is about a mile from Whole Foods grocery store and three blocks from all of the shopping (think: Lilly Pullitzer, Ben and Jerry's, etc).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustCallmeTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indigo_SRQ1223, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you Sarah! We see that you travel a lot and are glad to have your experienced input. Nothing like a seasoned traveler to know what makes a hotel great!

We hope you’re in town again soon and look forward to having you. Feel free to tell us your favorite fruits and we’ll make special infused water during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 50 in Sarasota
2,141 reviews
4.5 km away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
9.6 km away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 50 in Sarasota
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
1.0 km away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#14 of 50 in Sarasota
242 reviews
9.5 km away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Sarasota

Address: 1223 Boulevard of the Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-2901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range: $238 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Sarasota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Inspired service, intriguing design, invigorating atmosphere: Hotel Indigo Sarasota is the refreshing alternative, perfect for business and leisure travel. Situated on the edge of downtown Sarasota three miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport. Hotel Indigo Sarasota is close to many cultural attractions and business centers. Play on the pristine beaches of Siesta Key and shop or dine at the famed St. Armands Circle. Explore the beauty of the John & Mable Ringling Museum,the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens & the Mote Marine Aquarium or take in a show at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, all minutes from the hotel. Come and savor the experience of our unique atmosphere at the H20 Bistro. A dining pleasure with an intimate and casual atmosphere serving breakfast, lunch, starters and dinner, we also offer a specialty beer and wine bar! Relax beside twin spa wading pools or curl up in an oversized chair with your laptop and take advantage of the complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, or play a round or two of golf at the many nearby courses. Hotel Indigo Sarasota, when you travel and stay with us; you re never too far from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing