We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We Love it.”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We have been to this hotel multiple times. The rooms are nice and always very clean. The staff is very helpful and you cannot beat the location. We usually eat at one of the restaurants in St Armand's Circle sinse it such a short walk. The hotel restauant has a great view but the food average at best. Walk on the beach in the morning, walk down the beach for beverage and luch at the Tiki bar or park, then a walk to the Circle for dinner and some ice cream that evening. It is a short drive to Siesta Key, Long Boat Key, and Anna Maria Island but you never really need to use your car once you check in.We will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Get a room on the Gulf if Possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks. We believe we have a special place here, and really appreciate it when our guests recognize it too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    412
    199
    82
    43
See reviews for
309
446
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Location is phenomenal - we had a Gulf view room. You have nothing between you and the beach except a road. It is a short minute walk out the hotel front door and you are on the white sandy beach. Stayed four days. Would come back again for a week. Room was very clean and not as dated as some people have indicated. Bartender was very nice. Did not eat at the hotel, but you are so close to other restaurants you don't need to. Good home base to drive to Siesta Key, Longboat Key or Anna Marie Island. Staff was very accommodating. They do have free chairs and towels. Right across the street you can also rent chaises and umbrellas - you will definitely need an umbrella on those sunny days! Free parking and wifi. Within walking distance to St. Armand's Circle. As to some of the other reviews, if you are looking for a five-star hotel, you shouldn't be booking at a Holiday Inn. This hotel was a great find for my budget.

Room Tip: Above 4th floor gulf view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Wow! Thank you for this kind review. We really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
519 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We were on our way to Siesta Key after
spending several days in Disney World. I was curious about Lido Key, the beach area, and the shopping there as well. The location of this hotel is phenomenal. It is very close to the St. Armand's shopping area. The view from the restaurant is breathtaking! Dinner was OK. Breakfast was a disaster. We didn't get our eggs until we had finished everything else on our plates first. The front desk people were cold. The cleaning people did a good job on the room and were actually very pleasant. The room was shabby, dated and run down for the price we paid. I feel like I did not receive the value of the money I spent for the room. I am glad we just stayed for one night. I would not return or recommend this hotel. Stay elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelewave04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
We thank you for your candid comments. Disappointed for us to learn of as well. As you see from other comments on our staff, we can and do provide much better service than you recieved. Our appologies that you did not have a better time during your short visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Holiday Inn Lido Beach was conveniently located across the street from the luscious sands of Lido Beach and a short walk to the bustling and beautiful shops and restaurants of St. Armands. Customer service at this hotel was exceptional when ever it was needed by me. The room was a standard three star hotel room with a bathroom that met basic standards, including a few toiletry items like shampoo, etc. The safe in the closet was in an awkward position to access and after a few days the lock stopped working. Tyler from maintenance was on the scene immediately. Pounding by a rubber mallet was effective in opening the safe preventing the need to burn a hole in the safe. Not being able to retrieve my wallet out of the safe delayed my evening excursion by an hour which the hotel compensated by giving my room mate and me a $25 coupon for breakfast but only after our request for compensation. The pool area was comfy enough. The hotel provided yellow beach towels for the beach and pool areas, in the room upon our arrival. Cable TV and wifi in rooms are free. Beach chairs are available on a first come first serve basis, stored by the front desk which you help yourself to by giving your name and room number to the front desk. Only one day of my stay was there a chair for me at the time I went to the beach. Fortunately the sand is so clean and luscious that lying on a beach towel was fine for me. There was a gentleman right at the beach entrance renting chairs and umbrellas ($7/$12). If you are looking for luxury, this Holiday Inn is not it, however if you want good customer service, and a clean and comfortable room, in a quiet location (February 20th) you will be pleased.

Room Tip: Room 212 was ocean view and right by vending machine and ice machine and elevator in the hallway whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lori-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Dissapointing to learn about your safe, and it sounds like it was handled by our team.
We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
199 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We've stayed at this hotel several times now. It's a great location for a short, beach vacation or getaway. Right accross the street from Lido Beach, and a short walk to St Armand's Circle. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. The facility, though, is average at best. Common areas are clean and neat, but dated and somewhat worn. Rooms are kept clean overall, but the daily servicing is less than ideal. Trash dropped on the floor or left on tables was not picked up or cleaned. We had to leave the toilet seat up to have the toilet cleaned...ugh. Overall, and average hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Gulf View rooms are ideal for watching the sunset from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback. Dissapointing to learn that your daily services were not up to yours, or our, expectations. The processes have started to improve our dated condition, and we do think you will be pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
183 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Been to this hotel two years in a row, same 4 days in February. Booking on-line saves you money and if you can pay it all up-front you can save even more money. Easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, bars, etc. Steps from the Gulf Coast and easy driving to more than 10 public golf courses. They have full-size rollaway beds so kids are welcome. Quiet, non-smoking facility with good customer service. Easy 5 minute drive to Mote Aquarium and Ringling Brothers Circus Museum. About 50 minutes south of the Tampa Airport and about 20 minutes north of Siesta Key, one of greatest all-white-sand beaches on the west coast of Florida. Nicely done!

Room Tip: Ask for city-view if you don't want/need to see the ocean and save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMaxCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your kind words on our location and staff. We are so pleased that you continue to visit us year after year. We know we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Positve - as everyone has commented...the location is superb- sunsets remarkable. We walked every morning to St. Armands for breakfast, for several dinners and shopping. The beach is a very short walk away, it is clean, not crowded while we were there, safe all hours of the day and night, and the view of the water and beach from our 6th floor balcony was breathtaking. Parking was simple, easy, and safe.

The use of a computer in the lobby to print information was valuable as we were looking at property in the area. Maid service was timely, and done well.

However, I could not recommend this property to my business colleagues, friends or family.

Here's why - while the location is outstanding - it does not make up for severely outdated and worn rooms; think circa 1980's. While the room itself was large and appeared clean (bedding, bathroom) there were water and or mildew stains on the majority of the perimeter of the ceilings - creeping along the faded wallpaper boarder, and blending up into the dirty looking celing tiles. It really did diminished the experience of staying there.

When closing the drapes or the room darkening curtins...I looked up at the track they are attached to. Gee, wish I hadn't. Also stained, old and dirty looking - I kept telling myself it can't possibly be mold as we were not moving and had 7 nights there.

There is no fan in the bathroom.
The walls are thin. We could clearly hear the cell phone alarm in the next room awaken us at 5:30am at least twice; and heard normal conversations in the evenings. I felt we needed to lower our voices when talking out of respect for those who may be on either side.

It seems Holiday Inn has taken the stance of making all the money it can from the location alone, and getting by with investing absolute minimum in the updating of the rooms. Really disappointing. An investment in bringing the rooms into the 21st century would be a prudent business decision - especially for the area. The beach chairs provided was a nice touch. Unfortunately, they were rusted and frayed.

The front desk greeter upon check in was humorless and projected a snobbish attitude. We have traveled all over the world and are open and friendly people. I was surpised at her tone; it wasn't a good way to begin our experience with their hotel. It seems to me there are many people booking here for the purpose of having fun. It does not speak well of Hilton to have a front desk person who so obviously either does not like her job, or does not like people!

All other front desk staff encountered were what one would expect - warm, friendly, and professional. We did not eat there so cannot comment.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SKATT61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your very candid remarks about the hotel and our staff. We are already working to improve the condition of the rooms, and want to assure you that we are moving in that direction. We do regret that any member of our team was snobbish or unwelcoming, as we work hard to deliver outstanding service all the time. Should you wish for updates on the hotel, please feel free to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
1.4 km away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
4.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
2,024 reviews
8.4 km away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
914 reviews
8.6 km away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,393 reviews
8.2 km away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing