We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre hotel rooms, but great beach and view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mediocre hotel rooms, but great beach and view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My family and I traveled here to relax and take 5 days off from school and work. Overall it was fantastic.

The location itself is great; you get a private beach, two swimming pools, a bartender (that knows how to whip up a mean pinna colada), and a restaurant. The staff is very friendly, and for the most part you the workout room is empty, and the kids leave the pool around 5:30.

The down sides are the rooms, they are small, the rooms are small, the beds are too small, and the bathroom is even smaller. Overall for the price I would have to say it’s a steal.

The workout room is their but the machines are noisy, and the dumbbells only go up to 20lb weights.
They give you a balcony with your room, but they keep the lights on all night, so if you want to relax looking over the ocean at 10pm there is a light shining down in your eyes. The paint is also chipping on the outside of the building and it seems that for most people, they get a view of a pool and some grass.

For us, we got room 224 and had a nice ocean view. It was fantastic and the price is right, so overall I would recommend staying here next time you go to Sarasota.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the #220 - 235 (higher floors). Those have excellent beach views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    533
    286
    109
    70
See reviews for
452
510
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elvis, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect as the hotel is described as "dated" but it was great! Pools were nice. Beach location couldn't be better! It was great to lay in bed and listen to the waves! Not your typical chain hotel but well worth it. It is my favorite place to stay near Sarasota! We had an upgrade to a Beach side room and that made the stay even better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sw80Elvis_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

OK, this hotel is a little outdated maybe, but hey, staff is so overwhelmly friendly and the beach is at your feet, so... unless you're a snobbish person that cares more for design than for friendliness and more for luxury than for the most beautiful sunset over the Mexican Gulf, just enjoy Florida at its best here. The pool bar is the nicest gathering place with Kelly as the perfect bartender (really!), Missy is there to make best of your late evening drinks, and whether it is breakfast, front desk, beach, cleaning of security personnel, once you stay longer than a couple of days, they become your family. I would without doubt come back to the Helmsley Sandcastle next time.

Room Tip: Without doubt, go for the beach sided rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank calmbruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We requested a room specifically with a beach front (gulf front) location with a balcony, because we had just finished with a business function in Orlando and wanted to be able to relax and decompress. The "balcony" is a 3 foot depth shared space and 2 plastic chairs with no privacy or separation from rooms on either side of us. The view, if you are seated, is blocked by concrete railing. We were at the mercy of neighboring guests and their cell phone conversations, cigarettes, talking, and eyes. Not quite what we had in mind. The description of the room accoutrements were inaccurate by ommission of this information. I agree this hotel is old, but in fairly good shape and priced well. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KcTde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I just love this old hotel for its history and it brings old Florida taste back to vacations. I stayed here many times but this is my first review. If I had any complaints it would be why can't I buy this hotel? Lol... Its olf Florida flavor is very eveident in the rooms and hopefully when they update they will consider this. There going to have to upgrade soon or lose some business because of the competition in the area.

The beach is theHotels true asset and its on a prime piece of realestate. The pools are nice but could use some refreshing in those areas. I hope to come back next Winter and hope to see some new improvements.

Room Tip: pools-side is loud in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berwick
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

A wonderful view with a great room. This hotel is showing a little wear but the service and rooms are great. The food is exceptional and room service is everything you expect in a fine hotel. The cost is very reasonable for both the hotel and the restaurant. The location is a little hard to get to and a GPS came in handy as it was our first time to the Gulf Coast. Laundry is located not far from the pool and beach and as we were touring by car laundry facilities were a bonus. This hotel is located on the Lido Key which is lush and beautiful. I highly recommend this hotel as a quiet, relaxing spot on a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiresoon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Iv stayed here twice now and it's lovely I had a gulf view room my last visit which was amazing hotel is very clean no complaint from me il me back In October :)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becky1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
7.2 km away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
6.8 km away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
6.8 km away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
4.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Property: Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota
Sandcastle Resort At Lido Beach Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing