We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Conch Fritters this side of Key West ! ! !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goombay's Island Grill

Goombay's Island Grill
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Caribbean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Conch Fritters this side of Key West ! ! !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Several months ago my we discovered the best conch fritters this side of
Key West only a half hour drive from our house. Unlike almost all conch fritters
out there, these are made with lots and lots of big chuncks of conch !!! Absolutely
delicious. The atmosphere is Key West like, the staff very friendly and prices are
great. We always start with an order of the fritters and follow that up with the
most wonderful, fantastic, out of this world, better than anyone's FISH TACO's
I have ever had anywhere. We're partial to the grilled mahi with their secret
mild sauce........a smooth cheesy delicious blend that tops off the fish taco.
The fish is the freshest around, I wouldn't even doubt that the owner goes out each
morning and catches that day's fish!!! We've told so many friends about this
restaurant we hope they don't get so busy we have to wait for a table there. Seating
is available inside with a/c or outside on many picnic tables if you prefer the heat!!
Go, enjoy, I guarantee you've never had better Conch Fritters or Fish Tacos ! ! ! ! ! !

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HungryGreek32955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    49
    16
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bob Marley's Favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Good seafood in an open-air (if desired) environment replete with live music. A bit pricey but prbably as good as it gets in Satellite Beach (run down to Melbourne if you want better selection).

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tommytennistoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
1 review
“A Diamond in the Rough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

We live in Barbados and we know what fresh fish is - like right out of the fishin' boat!
The chefs (that's right! Not cooks! Chefs!!!) at Goombay's have that magic touch that you seldom find anywhere.

Everything on that menu is a treat - from the soups (fantastic gumbo!) to the mango bread a la mode (now THAT one just blew us away!). And of course the fish and shrimip were done to perfection.

I wanted to come back every day for lunch and again for dinner! How good is that?!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hearingandspeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Mothers day lunch!! With FREE fresh baked cookies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

I have to say I was a little worried even though the parking lot was full. We walked up and decided to sit outside. There was a heavy smell of burned french fries in the air, but everything looked really clean so we decided to stay. I had the blackened Mahi sandwich and was very impressed with the quality of the food. My fish tasted like it had been caught this morning and the bread had been baked minutes prior to serving. Even the lettuce on my sandwich was high quality greens instead of iceburg. My mom had a salad with the chicken salad. The chicken salad was not canned and had real chicken breast (so it was fresh as well). The salad was so large my mom took half of it home. We had three people and one person had a beer and the check was only $30!! But what made this mothers day lunch extra special was the delicious home baked chocolate chip pecan cookies they surprised us with at the end.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank floridawolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
satellite beach, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recommended, nice Floridian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

It's pretty good, not the best but a good open air beach restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank simmie1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goombay's Island Grill also viewed

Satellite Beach, Brevard County
Satellite Beach, Brevard County
 
Indian Harbour Beach, Brevard County
Satellite Beach, Brevard County
 
Satellite Beach, Brevard County
 

Been to Goombay's Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing