We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Relaxing Stay at Tropical Shores”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Beach Resorts
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Siesta Key
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Relaxing Stay at Tropical Shores”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and 2 daughters (16 & 18) and I stayed here for 3 nights April 7-10th. We had a one bedroom unit in the corner. The girls slept on the pull out couch in the small living room. The rooms were a little on the small side, but adequate. The bathroom had lots of counter space and drawers to put stuff in to keep it off the counters. The kitchen was pretty well stocked, although we only used it for breakfast. Our unit seemed a little bit dark, but maybe others are different? The place was clean, although my daughters weren't sure if the sheets and blanket on the pull-out were clean the first night. One said she found a hair, but this may have been drama more than anything. The blanket did have some sort of stain on it. We asked for and received new linens for the next night. The unit was close to the private beach. It would be nice if the person who rents umbrellas and chairs didn't set up his entire inventory in the morning before people have rented them. This would allow those of us with our own chairs and who don't want umbrellas a choice of space on the beach. As it is, non-renters have to walk to the left of the beach designated for the resorts or squeeze in between the rentable chairs and umbrellas. Tropical Shores has beach chairs and towels for use on the beach, which was great. The property was a nice bike ride to Siesta Key Village. On our last day we checked out at 10:00 and packed our car and they let us park in guest parking all day so we could take advantage of the beach and pool before we had to leave at 4:30.We really have no complaints about our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Pfricke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,590
    590
    108
    33
    23
See reviews for
705
1,223
67
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Lovely visit-will return and recommend it from now on! We had hoped to get into the Hyatt on Siesta Key, but it was fully booked for school vacation. We decided to go with Tropical Shores Beach Resort, and from the very start, the staff was very helpful in helping us navigate through some bumps with Expedia. To our surprise, the Hyatt shares the same part of the beach as Tropical Shores Beach Resort--in fact the hotels are neighbors! We loved Tropical Shores and wouldn't try for the Hyatt again.

The Tropical Shores Beach Resort is a group of first floor units nestled in four “villages” amid landscaped grounds, substantial outdoor areas and lovely gardens of tall trees. It felt like a private neighborhood about the size of 4 football fields. Each village had a lounge area with a gazebo, plenty of comfortable patio furniture for dining & relaxing & clean, updated gas gills the size of small SUVs. The management kept well appointed gardens to stroll through and play shuffleboard, two heated pools with outdoor furniture. (Nice to stroll in the evening with up-lighted trees and soft floodlights highlighting the gardens.) Each section had it own laundry facilities & vending machines tucked in an unobtrusive nook. Quiet hours are suggested from 11 pm to 8 am & we were grateful for this.
Based on Trip Advisor reviews—thanks to everyone who reviewed—we chose this hotel. Our one room efficiency was in pristine condition and actually looked like the photos on the website. We were surprised how convenient it felt to just walk out of our unit onto the garden level—no elevators and lobbies to traverse—it added to the relaxation and unencumbered feeling. A short walk (200 ft) to the beach through a landscaped brick walkway (no busy streets to cross) led to a beach with other hotel guests, and right next door was the Hyatt’s section of beach. It was school vacation week but people were able to have 15-20 ft between groups. Pairings of two chaises and one umbrella ($12.50/ 4 hrs or $20./8 hrs) were already set up; some folks opted to bring their own chairs. This week felt like simple living with options for amenities should we need them.
Employees were helpful & courteous. Great for young families and the hot dog vendor at noontime was a fun delight!
Sarasota only 15 min up the road; 15-20 min to St Armand Circle.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OneLifeToLive100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,279 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,384 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We were wondering how we would like Tropical Shores after having loved our accommodations on Treasure Island. When we pulled into Tropical Shores and did the short loop road, and then pulled into the Tropical Sun, where our room was located, I was a bit hesitant. NO reason really, just thinking they couldn't beat what we had experienced already. And I was put off by the fact there was no office in this small motel, it is located next door at the next motel, which are all connected by path, sidewalks and that loop road and is home to 3 of the motels (as far as I know of-maybe they have more than the 3 motels?). So, we had to drive over there, though we could have walked, realizing that afterwards!

Desk staff always was friendly and helpful. There are a few snacks you can buy in the office, lots of brochures for the area and FL, you can get more towels, and get books and rent movies.

Off to our room. We had a corner room, a Sandpiper King. Two very nice chairs and small table located right outside your door. WOW, we said, as we opened the door. One large room, plus the bathroom, but it is very nice indeed. As another reviewer noted, the furnishings were a notch or two above "nice" room furniture and colors and decor were soothing and cheery without being overwhelming. The artwork was very nice and pleasant to look at. Nice touches here and there. The entire floor is tile and that made for a few slippery moments. You might not like that fact if you have small children. Large entry with a full length mirror. Round, 4 person table for dining. A small, leather sofa sleeper and floor lamp. An excellent fan with light in middle of room. Two more lamps on the nightstands. 2 pendant lights hanging over the bar/island. More lighting in the entry, and kitchen-ceiling, under the cabinets. I have a thing about lighting in a hotel/motel room and most of the time it is inadequate, no matter what level hotel/motel you are staying at. One of my biggest complaints I make! This place has excellent lighting!! :) There are two, very nice bar stools at the bar/island.

The king bed was very comfortable. Pillows were good, but not great. Bedding very nice. The headboard and footboard of the bed are beautiful. There is a large, heavy wood table at the foot of the bed with some local magazines and info on it. I would think a better placement for this table would be as a coffee table in front of the couch, but it was useful as a luggage rack. There is a very large, 5 drawer chest near the bed, and a new flat screen TV on the wall. I believe everything was remodeled over the last couple of years. We loved the wood shuttered windows-they really add to the decor of the place and open fully if you want them too. Lots of windows! Lots of natural light.

Bathroom has a deep soaking Jacuzzi tub. Shower pressure was very good, and it was a decent sized bathroom as far as I was concerned. A bit of limited counter space, but you have 3 small drawers (hair dryer) and under the sink storage. Curved shower rod. Nice tile surround. Plenty of lighting! The small closet is here and it is not that big, but was good for us. Several hangars. Iron and small board. The hot water heater is in the closet too, and that takes up some of the room. A safe is located here, also, along with extra blankets and pillows. Towels are good and bath products very nice! We asked for and got extra towels. We did not have to "exchange" them. Everything worked very well-plugs, lights, A/C, phone, TV, remote, DVD player, etc. They do provide you with two ice trays and an ice bucket. We made ice all the time, as we had a small cooler with us and wanted to take it with us. Ice is .50 cents a bucket.

The room is exceptionally clean, as is the whole complex.

The grounds are simply lovely. Trees and flowers. Plenty of lawn space, with a variety of seating-picnic tables (some with umbrellas), loungers, chairs and tables, individual chairs. Grills to barbecue under little tiki hut covers. There are 2 or 3 seating areas like this at each motel. Two pools. One is open all night. The other is locked at 10 PM. Pool areas have plenty of seating and are kept immaculate and well maintained and they are heated. Pool toys and floats. Security patrols the grounds on foot in the evening and night (not sure about all night), or in a golf cart. Shuffleboard. PLENTY of beach chairs to take to the beach, located by the main pool. A small park like setting is also right behind main pool. A nice path to take to the beach, where you have kayak rentals, umbrella rentals, etc. I think they may have a concession here too, but can't quite remember!

The motel complex is near some restaurants and bars that you could walk too. The road is busy out front, but the road noise didn't ever bother us, except in trying to get out onto it because some of the beautiful trees and shrubs block a full view of the road turning left. I hate to say it, but they should cut some of the greenery back. About 3 miles from Siesta Key Village, but is a very nice scenic drive.

I more than highly recommend this lovely complex to anyone who is looking for a mom and pop motel type accommodation (they might not like that moniker..) with updated rooms, lovely landscaping and plenty of lawn space for the kiddies to run around. Though there were plenty of kids around, everything seemed quiet whenever we were there. They have good rates, and have specials, so be sure and check them out. I will stay there again upon my return. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Loved staying here! We had a one bedroom suite in the Sara Sea Resort portion of Tropical Shores, and it was perfection. I honestly don't think I've ever come across a condo-type accommodation that was THIS clean! I'm a tough sell when it comes to cleanliness, and they've got it nailed here. Not only that, but the decor is very pretty and welcoming (not stuffy and old-fashioned like you often find in Florida "resorts". ) A one minute stroll to the beach was the icing on the cake! My one and only complaint was that we were in a unit that was next to the housekeeping location, and two of the four mornings we were there, we were awoken at 7:30 am by the chatter and laughter of the employees. They weren't obnoxiously loud, but given our close proximity to their stations, it would be advised that they not make any noise at all in the early morning hours because it is disruptive.
Can't wait to go back here again!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyfromLitchfieldCty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gotha, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

This was my second time at tropical shores. And im never disappointed coming here. I love our room the bed was very comfortable, our unit was very clean i cooked for my family and i got all the things i need to cook. We stayed at room 128. The kitchen was really cute. the beach is a short walk. Thanks Tropical Shores for your warm welcome to us :) will see you again soon

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at the Sara Sea Resort in the boutique room at the beginning of March.The room was very clean and perfect for 2 people for a 3-4 day stay. We liked having the kitchenette area because it gave us the opportunity to make breakfast and lunch in the room and not have to wander far from the beach.... which is about a 2 minute walk away. The resort has some smaller chairs/towels for check out but the nicer ones on the beach (2 - with an umbrella) you have to rent for 1/2 day or full day.

The location of the resort is farther away from the village so you would have to drive or take other transporation to get there, but there were a few shops, grocery and restaurants within walking distance.

I found the service at the resort to be spectacular. They accomdated a later check out for us, came w/in 10 minutes of our calling the front desk to show us how to use the DVD player in our room and housekeeping was friendly and flexible.

The resort has nicer ammenities. We used the common area grills and they were spotless, a big plus. There is a fish place across the street from the resort that sells great fresh seafood. They also have a lot of recently released dvd's to check out.

If we found ourselves back in the Sarasota area, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CubbyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tr0picalSun, General Manager at Tropical Beach Resorts, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us and letting us know how much your enjoyed your vacation on Siesta Key! Our favorite quote,” I found the service at the resort to be spectacular..” That means a lot to us and we are very glad you found your accommodations to be clean and perfect! Thanks for recommending us and we hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This our second stay and really no complaints. Good staff. Beautiful rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcedillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
4.4 km away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
4.1 km away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
4.0 km away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
1.2 km away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
7.2 km away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Beach Resorts

Property: Tropical Beach Resorts
Address: 6717 Sara Sea Circle, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2520 (Formerly Tropical Shores Beach Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Romantic Hotel in Siesta Key
#3 Family Hotel in Siesta Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Beach Resorts is one of the premiere Siesta Key hotels where you can enjoy your vacation at the #1 beach in the USA! Gently rolling waves, sun-drenched sand and spectacular sunsets... This is paradise, and it's called Siesta Key. T's truly the land of flowers and they bloom in a rainbow of colors. Home to exotic sea creatures, a lively village of friendly folks and some of the world's top-rated beaches, Siesta Key boasts Tropical Beach Resorts: a comfortable, yet stylish collection of properties just a short walk from Siesta's shores. The rooms at Tropical Beach Resorts are white-glove clean, feature 32" flat screen TVs and either double, queen or king-sized beds with fluffy white duvets. Most include a sleeper sofa and fully appointed kitchens. While none of the units overlook the gulf, they each offer a colorful garden view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Shores Beach Hotel Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Siesta Key
Tropical Shores Beach Resort Siesta Key
Tropical Beach Resorts Siesta Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing