We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, Charming, Good for Groups”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Siesta Key Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We got our rooms half off from a Groupon deal. I felt like we got a big bang for our buck. We came with a small group as a sort-of family reunion. Each family/couple got their own bungalow, but we were right next to everyone else. It was PERFECT for our group. Our rooms all had kitchens, so we could bake pizzas and breakfast casseroles for quick meals. The grounds of these bungalows are top notch. It's filled with palm trees and ferns, and there is a cute, running fountain in the center. It's right on a lagoon, and there are two, single-person kayaks to take out into the water for free. We frequently sat out on a sand patio they constructed.

There isn't daily maid service, which I actually appreciated. We just left towels in a basket that we wanted replaced.

Had we paid the full price for the bungalows, I don't think we would have enjoyed them as much. There were many little problems, like peeling wall paper in one room, an oven that couldn't open all the way in one room, a gas oven with no working pilot light in one room, sagging tile ceilings in one of the kitchens, and no clocks at all in one of the rooms. We had such a good deal that we easily overlooked those inconveniences.

Room Tip: We occupied Dolphin, Pineapple, and Hibiscus. Of those, I'd say pineapple was the best. We didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WhirledPeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

This was supposed to be a non-smoking bungalow where we stayed but the ventilation system carried smoke from a neighboring room and made for a most unpleasant stay. A little pricey for not being directly on the Gulf. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MalGregoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My girlfriend book this for our vacation and it was amazing. The place is called Siesta Key BUNGALOWS... Not Siesta Key Suites. So please remember that when booking and reading the other reviews. I loved the atmosphere of this hotel and enjoyed every moment there. I truly felt that I was at my own beach house. The hotel is right off Heron Lagoon and they provide two kayaks for their guests to use! So no need to go and rent kayaks at these other locations. I did go kayaking up Heron and it was fun and a great place to bird watch. The hotel also provided bikes for your personal use and we rode them to both Turtle and Crescent beach which made it nice to leave the rental behind. The staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. I would recommend staying here if in Siesta Key.

Room Tip: Choose a room off the Heron lagoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhatPatW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

First arriving the staff was very helpful with local favorites and things to do. The room was very clean and comfy. They have all the kitchen utensils you need( we made breakfast and lunch everyday). They provide kayaks and bikes complimentary to the guests which I thought was great! Kayaking up and down the Heron Lagoon was gorgeous! Crescent beach is one of the most beautiful beaches I've been to and short bike ride from the bungalows. When I go back to siesta key I will most definitely stay at Siesta Key Bungalows again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SamiJeanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Just spent 2 nights here and will never return. Really bad. We were here for a reduced rate of only $160 per night because that's about double what the stay was worth. The regular rate is $320 per night and can't imagine paying that for this place.

We stayed in the Mermaid and the inside was clean however that's where any positive impression stopped. The furnishing are very old and sparse. The living room had only 1 old wicker chair (missing the cushion) and a sleeper sofa. The TV is across the room and almost too tiny to see. All floor tiles are chipped and worn and show signs of years abuse and wear.

The kitchen is also dated and the faucet is so loose on the sink it feels as though it may fall off at any moment.

The bedroom is ok but the bed is old, very soft and worn out.

The bathroom is vintage 1950's with cracked tiles, mildew and rust in the tub and rust in sink. The greenish colored tile and peach sink and tub appear to be original and should have been contributed to the artificial reef program decades ago. The bathroom door will not lock and the knob is hard to turn. It's also important to note the walls are painted in white primer with white floor tiles and white window blinds and white curtains and the bedding is all...white. FYI there are other colors in the rainbow. It's like a hospital room stay.

After all this, my main complaint is the air conditioning. We arrived at 3:00pm our first day and the interior temp was 80 degrees. At 10:00pm it was 79 degrees and it wasn't till 3:00am the next morning the temp dropped to a comfortable 76 degrees and we stopped sweating.

I brought some of theses concerns to the manager, Ashley, a pleasant and friendly person, who stated this room was intended for a "different age group". Not really sure what age group could appreciate these accommodations but maybe there is one out there...somewhere.

A prior review stated the place was having "financial issues" and if that's correct, it shows in the lack of maintanence inside these units. It's actually really a shame because the setting is very nice, as is the small pool area. We really enjoyed one morning sitting on the front porch watching the rain fall thru the lush foilage in front of the unit in the courtyard area.

Also they advertise wireless internet service but that system was inoperable our entire stay.

I really hope this place gets their act together as this could be a really nice place to kick back and relax a few days as their setting is unique and lends itself to that type of stay. My wife summed it up perfectly. It has the feel of a cheap Motel.

Room Tip: Unless they put some money into this place avoid staying here. Very old and run down units inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We will NOT be staying at Siesta Key Bungalows ever again!!! We booked a long weekend in the Dolphin room. We were ready for a relaxing weekend and excited after reading good reviews and getting a great discount. My initial reaction after checking in was how extremely OVERPRICED the bungalows are for what you get. I am glad we booked at a discounted rate because I couldn’t imagine paying ~$320 per night for this dirty run-down place.

Cleanliness: The floors were dirty and our feet were black within minutes of walking throughout the bungalow. It was laughable that the housekeeper left an envelope for tips.

Bedroom: Old mattress on bed with a pillow top cover to make it look new/soft. Be ready to have an achy back every morning.

Kitchen: Old and greasy appliances. Numerous cracks in wallpaper/plaster. The kitchen sink drained into a bowl under the sink that had to be emptied outside. I am certain that the office had prior knowledge of this issue since bowl was placed to catch the leaking water. It is a shame that we were not made aware of this problem.

Patio: Uninviting and covered with leaves.

We ended up leaving a day early after the office couldn’t manage to repair the kitchen sink. We stated that there was no reason to pay ~$200 per night while having to wash dishes in the bathroom. The office provided zero customer service and stayed in their closet office while we had issues with the room. Instead, I spent a day of my vacation checking with them while, evidently, nothing was being done.

After my stay, I conducted a quick search of Siesta Key Bungalows along with the management company. They seem to be going through financial issues; I can only assume this is the reason behind the deteriorated state of the place.

Overall we feel ripped-off and wish we had of stayed ANYWHERE else!

Finally, I should mention that we were refunded for the night that we did not stay. However, this does not make-up for the above stated issues.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Dolphin, or bring pliers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Samnewton1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Everything about my experience was wonderful! The bungalow and surrounding lagoon was amazing. The shops and nightlife exciting. The staff even put a map in the bungalow, and had circled some things for me. I definitely recommend going to siesta beach a few minutes away at night. Breath taking. All beaches were awesome. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aufleger86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siesta Key
2.2 km away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,705 reviews
2.3 km away
Hyatt Residence Club Sarasota, Siesta Key Beach
6.5 km away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
The Sea Spray Resort
The Sea Spray Resort
#1 of 12 in Siesta Key
602 reviews
2.8 km away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
276 reviews
1.9 km away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Siesta Key
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Key Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Key Bungalows

Address: 8212 Midnight Pass Rd, Siesta Key, FL 34242-2754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Siesta Key
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Siesta Key
Price Range: C$245 - C$451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Siesta Key Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siesta Key Bungalows is a cozy island offering 10 one-bedroom bungalows, some over looking the tranquil pristine blue waters of Heron Lagoon, and others overlook the lush tropical courtyard of Siesta Key Bungalows. The Bungalows sit less than a mile away from Siesta Key's beaches and boast free kayaking and canoeing on Heron Lagoon as well as a sparkling, heated pool and affordable rates year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Siesta Key Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Key Bungalows Hotel Siesta Key
Siesta Key Bungalows Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing