We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freshest Fish Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boston Cooker - CLOSED

The Boston Cooker
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
tampa bay
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Freshest Fish Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I had lunch with a friend and it was delightful: good service, friendly staff, clean and comfortable seating, and above all excellent quality of fish. I had the scrod; she had a scallop/lobster/shrimp combo. None of it fried. All of it so flavorful you barely needed additional ingredients. If you're tired of ordering fish and getting.....who knows what....this is a place you should try to restore your delight in fish.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelerTampaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    9
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

This place reminds me of an upscale Red Lobster but with lower prices. Every meal we've had has been delicious. The homemade hot rolls are a great addition to any meal.
You can listen to a good piano man on Thursdays and Saturdays.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 127goldengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, OH
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fried Clams WITH Bellies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I am always searching for fried clams WITH bellies, the Boston Cooker has never let me down. We've been going to this place for the past four years and not once have we received a bad meal. Prices are fair for the amount of food on your plate.

Family style salad with their dressing is awesome.
Don't fill up on the fresh baked, out of the oven rolls! They're addicting!

2 for 1 on wine and well drinks - every day - all day. They even have "Sunset" prices from a special menu from 4 - 6pm. Two people can easily eat and drink for under $20.00.

Be sure to sign up on their email list. The manager (Clay) does a great job sending monthly specials with coupons.

Service is usually good although some people sometimes just have a bad day and shouldn't go to work with the public. Regardless, we really like their food so it's easy to overlook someone's bad mood.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeriNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Everyone was happy with their meal. The service was good, and attentive. The place might be bit noisy, and we probably contributed to that! Not cheap, but I think the food quality is quite good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwolfgang9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
137 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Provided an 'Adequate' dining experience but did not live up to Expectations!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We were in the mood for some good seafood and thought The Boston Cooker would be the way to go.....They advertise "Happy Hour" all day every day but our bartender sure didn't have a happy attitude! The seating reminded me of a Denny's more than a seafood type restaurant. Our group ordered the mussels which were enjoyable especially when using their 'famed' rolls for soaking up the garlic butter. Our Lobster Rolls were really disappointing, Looked like they used a toasted piece of Texas Bread with the lobster meat inside then just folded it over. Tasted OK but not the roll we were expecting! The overall experience was enjoyable and other food items did look good, maybe our group should have mixed it up a bit and tried some different items.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gr8BrdLovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boston Cooker also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing