We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solara Surfside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solara Surfside Resort
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Surfside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at Solara for the second time this October. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The concierge Carol was the best! She had great ideas and provided information about the nearby places.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms have balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happytraveler1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

Just got back from a wonderful 2nd anniversay trip. The resort, pool and beach were all very nice and clean. Everyone was super friendly. You do pay $5 a day for valet parking but the attendents were awesome at getting your car right away. The room (ours was the one bedroom suite) was very clean and the kitchen adequately furnished. My only complaint was we faced the buidling to our south, so saw little of the ocean from the room and the was a traffic camera at the corner, so you had to close the curtains or you saw a flash every couple of minutes. Over all I was please with the resort and would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DEMCPITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Overall, very nice. This is a BlueGreen resort. the valet's were super and remember your name, though the same cannot be said for the inside staff, even after an eight day stay. Local restaurants and groceries are about a one mile walk.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HighPowerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This is an excellent resort - in good condition, nice staff, very nice beach and pool areas. The gas grills with picnic tables in a separate area are a good asset to the area. I would recommend this resort for families with children who will use the pool and beach alot and will also eat in alot. There are no restaurants within walking distance and with the necessary valet parking, I can't even imagine staying here with small children. That being said, it's perfect for couples who don't crave a lot of nightlife close by and for a relaxing vacation. Since we are BlueGreen owners I can't comment on the value for the price paid. We were very satisifed with these accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My husband and I are Bluegreen owners and stayed at the Solara Surfside for 5 nights in August 2011. Overall our trip was pleasant and we really never have that many complaints about ANY of the Bluegreen Resorts. This is the 8th BG resort we have visited as we usually try different resorts in different areas. In comparison it was adequate, but not the best resort we have visited. Some pros and cons:

Pros:
Staff is very helpful and exceptionally nice & friendly - especially the front desk staff and more importantly, the valet guys were great in getting our car to us quickly when it was requested!

Resort is right on the beach and has free chairs with comfy cushions for those staying at the resort & even little tables you can put between the lounge chairs for your drinks & such. Umbrellas are rented for a fee, but we brought our own so that wasn't an issue for us.

Pool and hot tub are nice - although small, and we seemed to be there at a less crowded time. I would imagine during peak times this would be a problem with a lot more people using the pool & spa.

Really nice area behind the resort with a nice sand volleyball court, hammocks, picnic tables with umbrellas and gas grills. Wonderful for people who want to bbq or grill and use the kitchen/dining facilities in their rooms to save money.

Rooms are large and spacious and the beds are so comfortable. Plenty of closet and storage space. Kitchens are well equipped and large.

We weren't hassled by the concierge or front desk about sitting through the dreaded "owner update". We were contacted once about it -ignored the call, and were not contacted again. There did not seem to be a high-pressure sales tactic at this resort like there is at so many of the other BG resorts where they jam it down your throat to try and buy more points constantly and make you waste 2-3 hours of your day to get a free gift card. Not worth it at all.

Cons:
The bathroom in the master bathroom is TINY! We could not fit two people into it at one time and it only had one sink. The toilet was so close to the wall that the toilet paper roll rubbed on your leg when using the toilet. Compared to the master bathrooms in other BG resorts we have stayed - this was the worst bathroom by far.

There is no free wi-fi in the rooms. I think that Bluegreen needs to get up with the times and start offering free wi-fi as most all other hotel chains now do. It is ridiculous to charge owners for wi-fi when we already spend so much on maintenance fees and yearly owner fees.

This is really neither a pro or a con, but they charge $5.00 a night for valet parking, which really isn't that unreasonable considering there is NO FREE parking anywhere in the Miami/Miami Beach area anyway. It was worth the $5.00 a night for my husband and I not to have to fetch and return our car every time we came and went from the resort.

There are very limited activities at this hotel either for adults or for children, and I didn't see anything offered on the weekends. Also, they had two days a week where they were supposed to have free cookies in the lobby between 3-4 p.m., but they brought out two batches (small) of cookies two times within that hour, and it took them 40 minutes in between the batches to put the next batch out. There were a lot of people standing around waiting for cookies that were told the next batch would be out in 15-20 minutes.

Overall we had an enjoyable stay. I am not sure that we would repeat a visit to this particular BG resort, but it was surely better than staying in a hotel and the location was great! We enjoyed the quietness of Surfside, while still being close enough to the activity down in SOBE. Plenty of great shops and restaurants were close by. We especially like Sazon - a little cuban place a few block south of the resort - we went there every morning for coffee and goodies, and we even had dinner there one evening! Be sure to try it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank sunnygirl646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

One of the best values for your money all around. We loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BIGmikeNYCITY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Great place right on the beach--about 6 or 7 miles from South Beach, but close enough! Lobby even smelled wonderful when we walked in! Stayed in a one bedroom, that is huge! We are Bluegreen Owners, and this is one of the best places we've visited! Friendly, fun, good quality--recommend to anyone, couples, family even solo!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvgal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside
1.2 km away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
0.8 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach Surfside
1.5 km away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Four Seasons Hotel at The Surf Club, Surfside, Florida
1.2 km away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside West
1.7 km away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solara Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Surfside Resort

Address: 8801 Collins Ave, Surfside, FL 33154-3501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Surfside
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Surfside
Price Range: $252 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solara Surfside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Solara Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Surfside Hotel Surfside
Solara Hotel Surfside
Solara Surfside Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing