We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice way to start our winter vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Solara Surfside Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Surfside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“nice way to start our winter vacation”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Like other reviewers, our experience with Solara Surfside was very positive. I will admit, having above average temperatures, daily sunshine & nothing to do but relax, made our stay a fine way to start our winter away from MA. Our corner 1 bedroom was HUGE. I think it was previously an apt. complex as our room had a storage closet (room) which was large enough for a child to sleep if you had an inflatable mattress! The staff is very helpful, a welcoming & helpful concierge, beautiful beachfront property with beach attendants who get you settled into lounge chairs with umbrellas. The propery is along the beach walk which is a picturesque walk along the various hotels/resorts. You pay for valet parking, but once your car is in the garage, you have easy access to it for forgotten items stored in the car. The bus route is in front of the resort & with parking lots at a premium, taking the inexpensive bus is the way to go out & about. We'd stay there again prior to cruising in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    82
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
66
85
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Islip, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We visit Solara Surfside Resort every April for 1 week. The unit we stay in is a 2 bedroom, ocean view with 2 balconies. The view is breathtaking. The unit is huge, roomy, clean, bright, breezy, well stocked....simply heaven. The property has a pool, a large deck area with tables, a garden area with lounges and bbq grills, and a short walk to the ocean. There is a walking/jogging/bike trail right between the property and the ocean. This area is mostly residential so it is quiet. We walk to the supermarket (Publics) to get all of our food. There are great restaurants within walking distance and nightlife a bit farther toward South Beach. This part of Miami has become my favorite spring getaway. The staff is helpful and friendly. The hotel is small so it has a homey atmosphere. If you can get an ocean front/view unit it is so worth the effort.

Room Tip: Bluegreen property so you must reserve room 11 months in advance, ocean front are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BubblesLaRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We are Bluegreen owners, and this is a Bluegreen property. I reserved a 1 bedroom condo 10 months before our arrival, for 2 nights before we took a cruise. We arrived at the Solara, at about 10 pm after a very long day of traveling from Michigan. The space was large and clean, there was no outdoor space like a balcony from the condo. We didn't come from Michigan in Febuary to stay inside. I asked for a outside space and was told in no uncertain terms, there was none. that is not what they showed on the film about the property and because in reservation was in for such a long time I was horribly disappointed .
Other than that the room was very dated as was the hotel. The outside space, pool, beach,
volleyball court were beautiful. wouldI stay there again, not without a promise we would have
an outside space

Room Tip: try to guarantee yourself a balcony room, if that is important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUNDAE01Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
639 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We are bluegreen members and had never stayed here before, we wanted to do some of the attractions in the Miami area....From here everything was over an hours drive away with the exception of south beach and that was over a half hour away...some of the other reviews said there wasn't much in walking distance...maybe if I was 30 and not mid 60's there would have been plaves in walking distance...but the nearest spots all were about a mile away so we drove everywhere ..parking is at a premium mostly on the street and you need LOTS of quaters as meaters are everywhere and enforced 24/7. there are a couple lots where you can use a credit card but most of area is on street parking.
Now Solara itself was was fine..rooms were a little small but had everything...bathroom was small and dated looking but clean..the people were friendly and helpful esp the parking valets
The beach was nice and goes on for miles, the pool as warm and not overused ..the hot tub is where you met your neighbours...all in all was a fun vacation but just too far out for what we wanted to do

Room Tip: the higher up you can get the better the view and they are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinnScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My husband and I are Bluegreen owners and live in South Florida. We have always traveled to other Bluegreen resorts and decided to try one in our back yard. I am happy to have found this treasure. Solara Surfside is FANTASTIC. The receptionist Morris greeted everyone by there name and made you feel important. All of the workers greeted you and ensured your stay was comfortable. The grounds are well kept. We stayed in a 1 bedroom Studio and it was HUGE. Updated rooms and very clean. When entering the room we were greeted with nature music set for us with sounds of the ocean and birds chirping. What a way to start the vacation. We will definately be coming back more often as it is a 25 minute trip from our home. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lioness728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed here for our wedding since we have a timeshare at bluegreen. It was great! We stayed on the top floor in a 2 bedroom and we also had the other 2 bedroom on the top floor and one 1 bedroom. I was satisfied with all the rooms and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We received great service. The rooms were up to date and were very clean. The grounds were well kept and the pool was also nice. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaylasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My hubby and I are Bluegreen owners and this is the first time that we stayed at the Solara Surfside. We were here for one week (dec 12-19th 2011) and we had a awesome time!! The staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean with a beautiful ocean view. The beach was a minutes walk from our room. Two of the "must see" places that I would recommend are Bayside and South Beach. The both have shops and resturants for blocks. Live entertainment and a beautiful view! There is something there for everyone..from the high end of the spectrum to the low... just depends on your budget. I would definetly return!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harmony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside
0.8 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach Surfside
1.2 km away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
1.5 km away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside West
1.7 km away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
2.0 km away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bal Harbour
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solara Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Surfside Resort

Property: Solara Surfside Resort
Address: 8801 Collins Ave, Surfside, FL 33154-3501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Surfside
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Surfside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Solara Surfside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Solara Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Surfside Hotel Surfside
Solara Hotel Surfside
Solara Surfside Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing