We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Ride!”

Ranked #15 of 83 things to do in Tallahassee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trail following Florida's oldest railroad line.
Tunnel Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Perfect Ride!”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This was a great leisure ride for my wife and I. We search out paths from the Rails-To-Trails Conservancy and plan trips to ride them,as was the case here.(traillink.com)
The trail was well marked,had great facilties along the path and was very scenic south of the Capital Circle trailhead. We'll be back to do this again. Thanks RTC!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Possibly the nicest paved long distance trail in Tally”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We took advantage of the newly paved road and cycled from Tallahassee trailhead to Saint Mark's and back. As we only started riding close to 3pm and wanted to get back to our car before it gets too dark, we did not get to stay at the Saint Mark's end for long. If you cruise at 10-12 miles an hour, you can get there and back in less than 4 hours comfortably, with rest points and a little walkabout in Saint Mark's.

There are 3 possible locations to start, 1. the actual Tallahassee trailhead (with a simple notice and ample parking. When we were there on a weekday afternoon, there were more than 5 cars parked there. 2. Approximately 3 miles down, there is a sports complex area with lots of parking, facilities and water point. 3. Wakulla trailhead, also ample parking and a nice playground. It was quite quiet when we stopped both ways.

All in all a pretty easy flat ride, made as challenging as you want it to be, determined by how far and how fast you want to go. There isn't much to see, but the scenery does change along the way, from heavily wooded to residential neighborhood to plantations.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank effynaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Historic Railroad Trail”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Well used 16 mile bike/hiking trail from Tallahassee to coastal fishing town of St. Marks. Excellent seafood restaurants at trail's end. Goes through pristine national forest.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Skyelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakulla, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good family fun”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

16 mile bike trail, ride a bike to st marks and eat seafood on the st marks river when you get there, what fun ! just paved, nice and smooth !

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
287 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Just gorgeous from Wakulla down to St. Marks”
Reviewed 26 September 2009

There is a trail head for this bike trail near Wakulla, about 6 miles from St. Marks and roughly half way between the Tallahassee and St. Marks terminus's of the trail. The trail head is well equipped with a marvelous playground and picnic areas. The trail itself is an 8' wide paved strip on the bed of what used to be a railroad from Tallahassee to St. Marks. It is quite flat, but goes through spectacular woodlands and in and out under the tree canopy. We timed things to arrive in St. Marks around lunch time and had an excellent meal at the Riverside Cafe, right on the water. For those familiar with St. Marks, the Riverside Cafe is somewhat akin to Posey's, a locally famous dive wiped out by Hurricane Denis in 2005 and never rebuilt. The Riverside Cafe is a worthy successor with both inside and outside seating. Rather than use the Wakulla trailhead, we biked in from the Wakulla Springs Lodge in Wakulla Springs State Park, an easy 5 mile ride to Wakulla since the highway (State road 267) has bike lanes. Biking (or hiking) around Wakulla Springs is also quite pleasant, but the highlight for us was the trail from Wakulla down to St. Marks. We haven't been on the section of trail from Wakulla up to Tallahassee, but I'm sure it is also quite nice (and obviously a bit more urban).

Helpful?
1 Thank JAXers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tallahassee-St. Marks Historic Railroad State Trail also viewed

 
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
Tallahassee, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Tallahassee-St. Marks Historic Railroad State Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing