We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised by the reviews.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central
Ranked #72 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprised by the reviews.”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I am surprised by the positive reviews of this hotel. That is what led us to book a stay here to visit with family during Spring Break. The location is handy to our family, the airport and other attractions; if you could get out of the parking lot. The intersection adjacent to the hotel has to be one of the busiest in Florida. There is also no area nearby that is conducive to walking or running.
I am surprised to read that it has been newly remodeled. They did not get their money's worth. There are many blemishes in the furniture, carpets and walls. The TVs are not HD and there is a very limited channel selection. This is the first hotel that I can remember in years that did not have a channel guide in the room. On three different occasions, our room key cards did not work and we had to return to the lobby to get new cards. This was a challenge as the one elevator in the building is very slow.
The "fitness center" consists of 3 aerobic machines. The pool is small and there is no indication that it was heated. The breakfast was OK and the food was replenished regularly. By the last morning, we just went down the street to an IHOP for a change of choices.
Housekeeping was very spotty. One night, we returned to our room after being out all day to find that our beds had not been made. We also found different numbers of towels in the bathroom each night.
Most of our issues were answered by staff as our fault. (We kept both keys too close to a phone or we must have sent the housekeeping away before they could make our bed.) When we left, no one asked how our stay was. We will not return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phinicky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    74
    33
    28
    19
See reviews for
114
63
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were in town for one night. We were up early to run the Gasparilla Half Marathon. They were very accomodating to our crazy schedule. I was able to back and get a shower and nap before checking out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Pros: Stayed here for 3 nights, good LQ property that has been remodeled. I always check the hotel pictures before booking and only pick LQ's that have been remodeled (you can tell by the bed linens). The staff were all very friendly. This was a great location for us - we went to Busch Gardens and the Tampa Bay Forum for a hockey game and had no issues at all getting around to either of these locations.

Cons: There weren't very many dining options around the hotel that we could find. Also, there were some strange smells during our stay. One night our bathroom had a sewage smell but it was gone by morning. We had gotten in late and didn't bother to report it. Another morning there was a very strong smell of garlic/chicken noodle soup?? Very odd. There also seemed to be a family living in the hotel in a room across the hall from us.

Overall, I'd stay at this property again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 223 - it is literally two steps from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bree4201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bell, FL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This is our second stay at this motel. I would recommend it to anyone in the area.
The staff is friendly and professional. Check in was easy as was check out.
The continental breakfast is good. On my last visit they had 1 waffle maker and I recommended they add another as it's very popular. They now have 2 waffle makers. The breakfast consisted of eggs, sausage, waffles, yogart, cereal, milk, juices, bagels, toast and of course coffee. There is an employee who is assigned to the breakfast area during that time and consistently resupplies anything needed.
We had a king suite this trip. It had a king bed with a fold out sofa. My son said the sofabed is OK, but not as comfortable as his bed at home. As my son and daughter won't share a bed, she slept on a twin size inflatable bed on the floor. The room was big enough for the blow up bed to be left out the entire time. The king bed had a thick pillow top mattress that is very comfortable. The pillows are adequate, but I am a fan of my own pillows and always bring my own.
The towels provided are nice and thick and the complimentary soap and shampoo were satisfactory.
There were little teeny tiny ants in the room, apparently attracted to our left over Thanksgiving pumpkin pie. I brought this to the attention of the desk clerk who gave us a can of bug spray to use. I threw the pie away outside and sprayed the room. Problem solved. As this is Florida and we have bugs, the ants weren't a big deal to us, but if this is a problem to you, you may want to reconsider staying here. Like I said though, it's Florida, we have bugs no matter what.
This is also a pet friendly hotel and there was an agility meet in the area, so there were lots of dogs. I am a dog lover, so this was not a problem to me. As this is a pet friendly hotel, there will always be animals around, so if this is a problem to you, you may want to reconsider.
All in all, we had a great stay, and will stay here again on our next trip to the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsrandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Quite nice inside - next to Walmart. Front desk service was good. Breakfast average with the usual waffles, pancakes, premade omlettes cereal etc. The only thing is breakfast is served only till 9am - not great when on holiday and want to sleep in.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gainerVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YONKERS
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Three is a great rating for me so don't be fooled by rating. Hotel is sort of hidden and my gps had us turning in the wrong direction on Waters Ave. but other than that, this hotel is quiet, excellent staff and a great breakfast with a free newspaper. We're traveling with a 15 year old dog so we were happy to see so much grass around the hotel since he isn't into long walks anymore.
We were going to a USF football game at "RayJay" and we were there in minutes! Perfect location. The Lowry zoo is close by and the Hard Rock casino was less than 10 miles away. All our needs were filled in this quiet, clean location with a very reasonable price and no charge for the dog! One of the La Quinta perks. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was the first facing Dale Mabry so it was slightly noisy. I would go more towards the middl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAKSALEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed two nights in a king suite. The room was clean, the bed and pillows were comfortable. Breakfast was good enough ; first time we had blueberry waffles. We had a dog with us; no extra charge is nice. We felt safe in the area around the hotel. The room was quiet. Staff was friendly and polite.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelLover1977_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
2.8 km away
Comfort Suites Tampa Airport North
3.3 km away
Hampton Inn Tampa-Veterans Expwy (Airport North)
3.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tampa Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Veteran's Expressway
7.9 km away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
6.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Memorial Hwy.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central
Address: 3826 W Waters Ave, Tampa, FL 33614-2011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Tampa Central
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central Hotel Tampa
Tampa Best Western
Best Western Tampa
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa Central Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing