We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and courteous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Ranked #13 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Convenient and courteous”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A group of us spent a Wednesday night at the Ybor Hampton Inn before heading out on a cruise out of the Port of Tampa. Recalling from my college days, I feared Ybor might be a little sketchy at night, but it was misplaced anxiety. My 80-year-old mom loved Hamburger Mary's for lunch, right down to posing for a pic with the Hamburger Mary statue. Much of the family came in late -- after midnight -- from San Diego, but we got them fed at Old Manhattan Pizza, an easy walk away. Great service! The crowded nightlife sidewalks actually make the neighborhood feel much safer than if it were desolate. As for the hotel itself, it was very secure and clean, and the staff was incredibly responsive. I can't compare the included breakfast offering to other Hamptons, as this was my first, but it seemed more than adequate. And the coffee/tea was available around the clock. The complimentary shuttle was great for getting our party of 10 to the port. Be a little careful with the closets, however. When you're packing up, it's easy to forget they're even there, just looking like a full-length mirror. Two of us left clothes behind. No problem, though -- we called once we were back in port and everything was wrapped and waiting for us at the front desk.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiFo_Washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    366
    135
    39
    24
See reviews for
248
395
88
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Arrived very late/early am about 1230 am. We were called by hotel staff day before and asked to be placed elsewhere since the hotel was overbooked. We booked this Hilton property 2 months earlier as part of our pre-cruise stay we always do when going out on a cruise. We really love the Tampa area and Ybor City. But do to circumstances beyond our control we could not get in earlier in the day and enjoy the Ybor City evening. Hotel staff was outside smoking at front entrance when we arrived. Not exactly what I would expect but since we are non-smokers we try and avoid smoking areas. Our room was very comfortable, there was a minor odor and that is perhaps due to fact area of hotel we were in was smoking area and that was room deodorizer used. NOTE make sure if you book and do not want smoking area that you explicitly state that with staff. Since we booked it so long ago I was not sure if I had done that. As with other Hilton properties, the beds were as comfortable as you could ask for. Rooms and hallways were a bit dated. AM staff and cleaning crew were very kind and accommodating. There was a large group staying at the hotel that were in town for some kind of training/seminar and they all converged on the breakfast buffet at once so the food was 80 % gone when we went to eat. Not a big problem for us since we did not have to check out until noon, so we went for about an hour walk down to pier area and back to hotel. By then much of the food was replenished and it was very good. I had stayed at a Hampton Inn 1 week previously and they had Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches which were very good! This Hampton Inn had a slightly larger buffet and is a great deal. The hotel also has a free shuttle to the cruise port which is about a 5 minute ride. We just love walking around in the Y-bor City area and this hotel is in the heart of it all. Bottom line: Great folks! Affordable, Comfortable and Convenient!

Room Tip: Pool is outside. If you do not want a smoking room make sure you advise staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I have had several occassions to stay at this hotel in downtown Ybor. By far, it is extremely convenient if you are attending downtown evening events and is great to come home to as the entrance is well lit and accessible from the sidewalk. The staff are very helpful, the rooms clean. My only concern is the recent price increases which tend to make the stay less enjoyable, especially since you pay for parking separately from hotel fees.

Room Tip: You will pay for parking separately and per day (about $7/day) Make sure to plan to use the pool on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTBandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

PRO'S
Not an inexpensive hotel by any means, but it is well maintained, clean, reasonably stylish, and not wildly expensive as i perhaps could be.

The bedding was excellent, as was the spaciousness of the suite.

Also, it's centrally located to most everything you would care to do in Ybor City.

CON'S
As several other reviewers note: paper-thin walls. By that I mean, truly stunning lack of sound insulation. Conversations in neighboring units were perfectly audible sounding as if the people were in the room with you. So...that's a pretty noisy environment.

Also: the depressingly common "hidden fees"...be it a 'resort fee' or a 'parking fee'. These have become so large and prevalent that they effectively mask the real price you are paying when booking online.

Interestingly, England has regulations to prevent this sort of thing. So, for instance when I travel in the UK and book a hotel...if the price on the site says, say, $140/night...then my final bill will likewise say $140/night.

Contrast that to our experience here in the US. Here, a hotel might advertise a hotel as being priced at, say, $99/night. Thinking that to be a good rate, you book it. Only once you arrive at checkout, you realize that it's $99...plus a $12/day "resort fee" for free bottled water you never ordered...plus a $10/day technology fee for the wireless internet you might never use...plus a $20 tax-recovery fee...because...umm...the taxes the customer already is paying isn't enough, somehow?

Why not just call it what it is? $99 "base room rate"...plus a $40 "this is what the real price is" service charge...?

Again, the hotel itself is fine. It would just be nice if the hospitality industry would stop following the airline industry's chief mistake...where the advertised ticket Price is only $150!!! (Not including $950 in taxes, for a total of $1100).

C'mon corporate America...be honest with your prices. We all understand the scam now anyway...Stop quoting us "fake" prices. Stop quoting us "fake prices" that leave out the other 80% of the cost. That's just plain old deceptive.

Not getting on you for this practice...most of the travel industry does it in the US in one form or another.

Room Tip: Bring some earplugs, as you might need them due to the noise coming from the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikemcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
We thank you for taking valuable time to review our hotel. We are very happy to learn that you thought we were well maintained and clean. We agree our location is second to none in Tampa/Ybor City!

We also agree that hidden fees are a nuisance. Our Hampton, and every Hampton in the US, provides a clean room with a complimentary hot breakfast and free high speed internet access. There are a few of us in high demand areas that do charge for parking and this is noted on the front page of our website. Other than that we do not have any hidden fees such as resort fees, technology fees, or any "extra" tax recovery fees. This one of many reasons to choose Hampton while traveling.

We hope to see you again as our guest. We love having you here!

Sincerely,

Stephen Nunez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
151 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My friend and I stayed here for one night in Jan. 2012. We checked in late and check in was a bit odd. The night desk person seemed more interested in cleaning than checking us in, then made a few rude remarks about a woman complaining that the elevator didn't work. We laughed it off.

Our room was spacious and clean. The bedding was very comfortable. They even had a microwave and small fridge in the room, which is a great touch that all hotels should have.

The next morning, we took advantage of the free, full breakfast. They had a nice selection and make-your-own waffles. Before checking out, we took advantage of the free computers and internet access in the breakfast area. It was easy to use.

This hotel is about a mile from the port and they offer free rides to and from the port every 20 minutes. We took advantage of it and it was a great service. We were going on a cruise, so it was very convenient. FYI: If you're sailing out of TAmpa on Royal Caribbean, you can get on the ship at 11:30 am the day you're sailing. Nobody told us that, so we walked around Ybor City for 2 hours to waste time.

This hotel is also about 10 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach bum in ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed there for a night before our cruise. Upon check in the front desk person Ebony was great and curteous, she pointed us to great restaurants and activities to do for the day, being that we arrived early. The breakfast ladies were also helpful and friendly, even though the food not so great but they do offer a variety, something I like about the Hampton Inns. The hotel provided us a shuttle to and from the cruise terminal, and I must say they are curteous and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family members and I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winstma2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for your review! We are proud of our staff and the way they consistently provide the Hampton hospitality we have come to be known for. We will be sure to pass along your comments to our team.

We look forward to seeing you again in Ybor City!

Stephen Nunez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I have been to Tampa several times for business and this was the first time I stayed in Ybor City at the Hampton Inn. I was there for a total of 10 nights, and overall my experience is positive. There were, however, drawbacks. The walls are paper thin- I could hear everything (and I mean everything) my neighbors were doing/saying. The hotel is located in a party district, so expect late night party goers to come back and wake you up. Not to mention you're right by the Amtrak rails- which honks their horns starting at 8:00am (even on weekends). If you go one block West make sure you are not alone- it is NOT SAFE. The restaurants around are fairly good, but overrated in my eyes (there are plenty of other great places to eat within close driving distance). The staff is overall friendly and helpful, but as I stayed 10 days, my sheets were not changed once- as they said they change their bedding every 4 days of your stay. If you're looking for a hotel in a fun, young area and don't care about noise pollution this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms South are off of the street, but closer to the railroad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ltbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPAYBGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to give feedback on our hotel. We do have a process in place to make sure guest linen is changed according to guest needs and/or at a minimum of every 3 days. Obviously we did not do this during your stay and I deeply apologize for that. We will follow up as necessary to ensure your experience is not repeated.

The Hampton Inn & Suites in Ybor City is in a very vibrant and active community. Although we are a few blocks from the nightlife there are times when the whole Ybor City area is buzzing with excitement. I was sorry to hear that a train horn disrupted your stay. As our local station does not open until 815AM I am guessing Amtrak either had a special train coming through or that they were working on the tracks. I can certainly appreciate how this must have interrupted your rest and comfort.

We look forward to being able to accommodate you in the future! Perhaps we can recommend some Ybor City restaurants from among the many we have here that will be more to your liking. I would be happy to do so personally on your next visit to Ybor City.

Sincerely,

Stephen Nunez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Historic Ybor
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Address: 1301 E 7th Ave, Tampa, FL 33605-3607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Family Hotel in Tampa
#35 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Tampa-Ybor City/Downtown makes a great connecting point: It is located in the historic district of Ybor City - only about a mile from the Tampa Convention Center, the Port of Tampa Cruise Terminal, and the Channelside Entertainment District. Enjoy our free shuttle service to any location within three miles of the hotel. Additional amenities you are sure to love include: spacious guestrooms with a microwave and mini-fridge, coffee maker, 32' inch flat screen tv, ergonomic desk, free WiFi, free hot breakfast available daily, outdoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, and 1,000sq ft of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Ybor City/Downtown Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing