We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views....so so pillows”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Ranked #3 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great views....so so pillows”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay is a good, but not great hotel on Tampa Bay. The views are awesome, particularly from Oystercatchers (a good hotel restaraunt) at sunset. The service was good, the room was nice, but the pillows was far below average for a Grand Hyatt property.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,785
    677
    172
    63
    28
See reviews for
560
756
156
888
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We have been going to the Hyatt in Tampa for years, and it has never failed. Right now they have begun renovations, but we were not disturbed by any noise, dust, debris, or any other problem usually associated with this sort of construction. They made every attempt to keep guests in rooms far away from the floors being renovated. It's hard to have a room with a "bad" view, but some are better than others. We were treated to a spectacular bay view this time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bay side of the hotel for a great view....the higher up, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're delighted you had a wonderful time. Our hotel has some amazing water views and we're glad you enjoyed them. Please feel free to contact us if you need any future assistance.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

3rd time here, and I am always surprised how this resort just gets better and better. Yes they are renovating, but we did not see a bit of that. No inteription at all . Family friendly, excellent service . We were welcomed back like family. Hgood choice to stay in Tampa.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fabiab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
I am thrilled to hear that you had another great stay at our property. I am pleased that the service gets better with each stay. We want to make sure our guests have everything they need to have a great experience. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Tough to beat the combination of class, amenities and layout (and facilities) of this excellent hotel complex. Well trained, courteous staff - everything is well done and the result is excellent.

The only possible negative is that it can be hard to find in the maze of highways....but once you do, it's worth it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisconsinTraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
We're delighted you had an amazing experience at our hotel. It's always great to hear our staff went above your expectations. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Comfortable rooms, convenient. Nice pool bar. Food average

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay is a beautiful hotel approximately 10-15 mins by hotel shuttle from TPA. Hotel offers great vistas of the bay and environs. The property offers 2 pools, many restaurants, multiple room options, and nature trails.

The trip began on the rocky side when I booked my stay through Hyatt Reservations and I mistakenly asked for the Hyatt Regency Tampa Bay...(different hotel and about 20 mins by cab away). After another call to Hyatt Reservations my error was graciously corrected and was rebooked at the Grand.

Check-in: The reception area is a somewhat cramped area between the lifts and the exits/bar; many people having to weave their way through and around guests at reception. Also Hyatt needs to promote the elite check-in line as the small nondescript glass sign is easily overlooked and ignored.
TED, the front desk agent that assisted me was fantastic! Ted was efficient, friendly and knowledgable about the property and its features. After explaing that the property was "fully commited" there may be a slight wait for my accomodation, he also offered other options in the property. After a brief wait (10 min.) Ted came to the lounge informed me (by name) that my room was ready, and offered his and his coworkers assistance in making my stay pleasant. **JOB WELL DONE!**

Accomdation: The room was on the 8th foor and turned out to be a large bay view suite. Room met the Hyatt perception of cleanliness, and appointments.

Grounds: Put this hotel in a resort like catagory. The entire property is well maintained with many secluded areas for sunning or walking. The 2 pools have lounges and cabanas with bars and plenty of seating.

Dining: At the bar and had the Tomato Avacado salad. YUM! Service was attentive. The only thing that would make the experience better: BRING BACK THE CHICKEN TORTILLA SOUP!



Full disclosure: I am a top tier member of the Hyatt loyalty programme.

Room Tip: The hotel runs a shuttle from the hotel to TPA every 30mins. Best to call hotel from airport so driv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris_Junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We're delighted our reservations department was able to correct the error with your reservation.It's always great to hear that your had a wonderful time at our hotel. We're delighted you enjoyed your bay view suite accommodations. We look forward to your next visit.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Hotel 's Casita is a nice bugalow near the trail and pool. We were in town to see "Chicago" in concert. We decided to eat at "Oystercatchers" which is on the premise. The food was great and the service was outstanding. Donald was our server he was excepitional. He invited us back after the concert to treat us to dessert and share our concert experience. He then offered to take our photo developed it and put it in a card--- thanking us for our evening!
Wow what a outstanding dessert we had cream brulee and fresh fruit! Ask for DON

Room Tip: Casita are in the back of the property they are the original rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serreala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
3.0 km away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
9.8 km away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
7.6 km away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
1.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
9.3 km away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 163 in Tampa
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Property: Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607-1479
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#1 Business Hotel in Tampa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#2 Family Hotel in Tampa
#4 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay offers a unique retreat for business travelers and vacationers alike. This 4 Diamond, waterfront hotel set among 35 tropically landscaped acres offers 442 deluxe guest rooms including 23 suites, 45 casitas and exclusive Grand Club accommodations, two swimming pools, tennis courts, a nature trail, three restaurants including award winning Armani's high atop the 14th floor and Oystercatchers at the waters edge. Conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle and International Plaza & Bay Street Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing