We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run away.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Run away.”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I booked this place on a short notice, hoping that recent updates have turned this ex-Keys motel into a nicer place. The reality could not have been more different.

"Renovations" consist of a poor paint job. They painted *tiles* in the bathroom! Of course paint is peeling off already. Rooms are extremely dirty - floors look like they have never been washed or swept. The first room I was offered had bed sheets that were obviously left from previous guests - with *lots* of hair. In both rooms I've been to there was dirt, grime and hair everywhere. Old furnishings, dirty microwave and minifridge, tiny old TV. Don't forget the extremely noisy window AC that never shuts off. I had to turn it off half-way through the night just to get some sleep. Also doors that don't lock, road noise as rooms face US 1, worn out towels. I could go on - but you get the picture.

On the day I was there, the whole place was empty (there was one other car in the parking lot).

Oh, and I paid almost $100 for this stay. I'll chalk it up to learning experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bork3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
German F, Owner at Creekside Inn Islamorada, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
We are extremely sorry to hear about your recent bad experience staying with us. Since we took over this place we have been working very hard on making it a nice place where to stay while visiting the Florida Keys, a place where you would come back with friends and family. Of course, we can not compete with the many 4 or 5 star hotels that you can find in the Keys. Yes, the bathroom tiles have not been removed (yet) but there are new vanities and floors, new tiles in the rooms instead of carpet, fresh paint, and new beds. Also, we are getting all our new furniture from Tahiti and new plasma TV's, bedspreads and pillows. What surprises me is the dirt and hair you've seen, I have a lady that goes over every room every day checking for cleanliness since its what we thrive for.
We would kindly like to offer you a free night stay at Creekside Inn whenever you plan to come back so that we can make this up to you. Once again, we sincerely apologize for this experience and look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    143
    73
    31
    36
See reviews for
87
172
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

it was another great stay at the Creekside Inn in the Keys (Tavernier near MM 90). it is a cozy warm place with great views, a restaurant next door, a great bar (Dillons) walking distance and clean/comfortable rooms at a great rate! highly recomended over the chain joints!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
German F, General Manager at Creekside Inn Islamorada, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you so much for this nice review!! We appreciate your comments and look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed here in November, I could tell the rooms were under renovation so I got a very decent rate for mid-week. I was delighted to open the rear door and see the canal, the sunset was glorious. The building is old but I had a very decent nights sleep and the shower was fine, especially the fancy shampoo and conditioner and soaps. The woman who checked me in was gracious and had a lovely French accent, she apologized for the renovation mess, but she didn't have to . The tiny pool was a treat, clean and cute.
One of the reviews here was terrible but I would probably be angry if there were screaming kids and music, and swearing fishermen in the morning, but that was not my experience at all. I would highly recommend the Keys motel, they are trying to update the rooms, good luck to them. I plan on going back.

Room Tip: Tiny room, good value. Right on main road but I didn't hear road noise, and I am a light sleepe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
German F, General Manager at Creekside Inn Islamorada, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for your comments ! We are certainly working very hard to make the hotel a great place for people to stay when visiting the beautiful Florida Keys. Looking forward to having you stay with us on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
3.7 km away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
14.1 km away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,504 reviews
2.5 km away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
949 reviews
1.9 km away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,267 reviews
5.9 km away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#7 of 20 in Key Largo
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekside Inn Islamorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Inn Islamorada

Property: Creekside Inn Islamorada
Address: 90611 Old Hwy, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2443 (Formerly Keys Resort & Marina)
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Creekside Inn Islamorada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creekside Inn Islamorada located in Islamorada in the heart of the Florida Keys along 1,000ft of unique canal front with prime dockage and deep water access, minutes from the Ocean and the Florida Bay. We are a moderately priced small hotel with Old Florida values who welcomes fishermen, boaters, divers, families and business traveling people who are looking to stay for a couple of days or weeks in our spacious, newly remodeled rooms, with prime dockage and complimentary WiFi, while caring about their budget and convenience. We have a casual canal front restaurant call "Made 2 Order" loved by the locals were to have breakfast or lunch, also Tavernier Creek Marina, the largest indoor storage Marina in the Keys, is just across the street, with all your fishing and boating needs. (Gas, REC Fuel, tackle, dive shop, Boat Rentals) Come and visit us! We are the Creekside Inn Islamorada and welcome you to the beautiful Florida Keys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Creekside Inn Islamorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keys Resort & Marina Hotel Tavernier
Keys Resort And Marina
Keys Hotel Tavernier
Keys Motel
Creekside Inn Islamorada Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing