We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SERENITY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arvilla Resort Motel Treasure Island
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We just got back from a three day stay at Arvilla, it was so peaceful, clean and really relaxing, it had to be one of the best motels I had the chance to stay at. We got up every morning for our walk along the pathway of the beach, stopped at Mcdonalds picked up a coffee and for the return walk, took the beach. The motel was super clean, close to everything and we cant wait to return. Thank you for a beautiful 3 days at your motel.

Jodie and Robert.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleogirl_havingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2010

This was our third trip to the ARVILLA RESORT this year, and each time it gets better. The staff treats us like family each time we are here. So many things to see in the area, boating, golf and dining are spectacular this time of year. The evening seabreezes were starting to pick up on our last stay, which made the outdoor tiki style restaurants even more enjoyable. We will certainly be back again in October! Thank you again Arvilla for a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpierson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We LOVE the Arvilla, the place is AMAZING!!!! We visit several times a year and they are always updating the rooms or the grounds. When we arrived we had the opportunity to stay in one of the remodeled rooms. It was fabulous!!!! It had a brand new king bed. We slept better than we sleep at home! The room had a reclining chair, a big flat screen t.v., a kitchenette, a table and chairs, and it still had alot of space! The weather is so nice this time of year. We enjoyed sitting outside on the patio with the celing fan and the new chairs. Another very nice addition is the patio by the pool with the gas grill and tables. The room rates are very reasonable in price. The Arvilla is truely a treasure.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treasurerose2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We have probably stayed in almost every room in the Arvilla that's how much we love it here. The staff is wonderful,rooms are very clean, pool is wonderful,beach is amazaing and if you want a quiet place to stay this is the place. We will continue to come back again and again. We miss you guys Shurla & Greg

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shurlalew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We love staying at the Arvilla. It reminds me of old Florida places we would stay when I was little. But it is very clean and updated and just has a great feel to it. The location is perfect, right on a quite stretch of beach on Treasure Island. It was a great salt-water pool to enjoy lounging around as well. And you can't beat the prices. We live near Tampa and I go to St Petersburg for courses regularly, and the Arvilla is where I like to stay. I would highly recommend it to anyone, but especially to those that are getting away with their families and want a quiet, old-Florida, but well-maintained, type of place to stay!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Why is it that we two Dutchies keep coming back to the Arvilla Resort since our first stay in the summer of 1991? Is it the beautiful nautical appearance of this small (15 units) well-maintained 1950íes mom and pop motel with direct access to the wide, clean Gulf beach?
Is it the nicely landscaped courtyard? Is it the clean and heated large pool? Or is it the (gas) bbq near the pool and beach or the freshly brewed complementary early morning coffee? YES! But what makes it so special to us is The Personal Approach. From Jim, general manager, to Melika, housekeeping: these people really CARE. They all show a genuine interest in their guests' well being: "How are you?" is not an obligatory question, they stop and listen. So next time you are considering vacationing in the St Petersburg area forget about the dime a dozen, chain motels and book the Arvilla Resort Motel instead. Beware though, you might get hooked, just like us! Maybe we'll meet....
Klaas and Corinne, Hoek van Holland, The Netherlands.
p.s. We did not even mention the wonderful sunsets that mother nature provides most evenings and the dolphins that cruise the shallow waters of the Gulf of Mexico close to the beach.
p.p.s. It is also a great place to celebrate a (special) birthday, I turned 40, 50 ...... here!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ck-dutchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I have traveled much, and was born and raised in St. Petersburg, FL. So, I am very familiar with Treasure Island and a host of hotels in Pinellas County. The Arvilla Hotel is local, and seemed a nice, modest choice for a weekend stay on the beach. We knew what we were getting: Treasure Island is not an "exotic destination". The facility is a modest 1960's Mom & Pop style hotel. We did not expect "luxury, or great service" - we expected a nice, "vanilla" experience. We experienced much worse ... is was WEIRD! I hope your experience will be different. A solid travel evaluation follows

=======================
Our Weird Personal Experience: At 9:00 PM, before any alternative plans could be made, and without ANY advance notice, the manager, called the Treasure Island Police Department to request "assistance". Mr. Maurer, then told the us (three adults and three young children) :"The Police has been called you have 5 minutes to leave."

Honest confusion followed. What? The manager was beyond firm. I was certain he was operative with faulty information because his behavior was so far from proportion and reality. I was wrong. There was an invisible scoreboard. If you are thinking of staying at this hotel, take strong note! THIS PLACE HAS RULES!!!! Limited number of guests, limited parking, extra fees for use of pool for guests. Pool strictly closes at defined hours.

In our case: Strike 1. Our guest. walked through the complex with a 4 pound dog (which never entered a room) Strike Two. Children doing cannon balls from the side of the pool (no other guests were in the pool) . Strike Three. Four glass bottles of Corona Light were brought onto the pool deck. So far this was WEIRD. BUT HERE IS THE KICKER ..

My sister was staying at the hotel to simply "get out of her house". It was the three year anniversary of the death of her husband. Her and her 5 year old son wanted to do something special. It was beyond puzzling to watch three children crying at the site of police, saying "are we going to jail?" "This is my daddy's special day."

The Treasure Island police, to their credit seemed embarrassed; we, the adult were confused. The manager of the Arvilla was aware of this special circumstance, and acted like a man who never second guessed himself - a temperament not fit for any position in the hospitality industry. But, everybody has a bad day, right?

So the next morning I went to back to the office to drop off the second key and to request final billing. That's when I learned that the manager, Jim Mauer, billed the room for the night he evicted our party ( at what hour of the day was this decision made?) . Even worse, he was still "deliberating" on whether or not he was going to charge the next day even though there was no service rendered. To be nice, that is simply STUBBORN (you may use any other adjective you wish). All of this, though person, is very relevant as a travel report.

==============================
BACK TO THE FACTS.

The Arvillia is as nice as a 60's building can be without major modification. The ownership has installed internet and flat screens TVs to position their product as "head of class." The bathrooms remain aged in a 1960's design and small. It is an Mom & Pop beach hotel with a few extras that come together clumsily ... for example, a small breakfast is served right below the exhaust of an wall unit air conditioner. AND DON'T FORGET, this place has RULES! Think Marine Basic Training.

The Area: The hotels on Treasure Island, while on the beach, are seated about 5 or 6 city blocks off the water. (This is not the case in St. Petersburg, Redington Beach, or Clearwater. There is NO night life to speak of in Treasure Island. There is only Sloppy Joes on the beach behind the Bilmar. On Sunday night there is a "drum circle behind Sloppy Joes .... interesting, but brings out teenagers that can get loud. The only higher end hotel is the Marriott.

The bridge connected Treasure Island to Madera Beach (city just north, has been under construction for 4 years. They are almost don. The John's Pass Village is a nice, big, tourist attraction loaded with restaurants and shops to kill some time.

Conclusion, the Arvilla is adequate, but there are 50 other alternatives within a mile of either direction that are equal or better. Photos help picture the setting and caste of characters to our little story.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank rivardco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvilla_Crew, Manager at Arvilla Resort Motel Treasure Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2010

REGARDING "WIERD" REVIEW: WRITTEN BY A PERSON WHO HAS NEVER BEEN A RESGISTERED GUEST AT OUR MOTEL.

A woman and her child arrived and registered on July 28th through July 31, 2010. The woman read, signed, and initialed the registration card for two people in the room. Within a few hours, two additional cars, two additional children and six additional adults arrived stating that they were "visitors" of the woman and her child. Our manager, Pam, recieved no less than 4 complaints from other guests regarding their rowdy hehavior, noise, young children running around with no supervision and adults throwing full, glass bottles of beer into the pool from the second floor balcony. Pam communicated with the woman on multiple occasions trying to resolve the problems with no success. The "visitors" refused to leave the pool at 9:00 P.M., which is closing time for the pool. This group of people had complete and utter disregard for any rules, laws, posted signs or the safety of other Arvilla guests.

Pam called the General Manager and once he arrived, the police were called (since all attempts made by Pam to remedy the situation had been unsuccessful). A police report was made and all persons affiliated with the original guest were removed from the property.

We have operated the Arvilla Resort since 1996 and have never experienced anything as "WEIRD" as this, and we pray it will not happen again.

Arvilla Resort


Jim Maurer
Gen. Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.2 km away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#17 of 48 in Treasure Island
541 reviews
0.1 km away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
503 reviews
0.1 km away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Blue Waters Treasure Island
Blue Waters Treasure Island
#15 of 48 in Treasure Island
40 reviews
0.4 km away
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
Treasure Bay Resort & Marina
#11 of 48 in Treasure Island
933 reviews
0.2 km away
The Bayside Inn & Marina
The Bayside Inn & Marina
#34 of 48 in Treasure Island
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arvilla Resort Motel Treasure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arvilla Resort Motel Treasure Island

Address: 11580 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4646
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: $107 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arvilla Resort Motel Treasure Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arvilla Resort Motel Treasure Island Hotel Treasure Island
Arvilla Hotel Treasure Island
Arvilla Resort Treasure Island
Arvilla Resort Motel Treasure Island Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing