We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dumpy, Dirty Cheap”
Review of Motel 6 Venice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Venice
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed 1 night. Dirty hall areas, no clock in room, no fridge or microwave, old small TV. No hair dryer. Had to request one from front desk after leaving my driver's license with them. Scary looking clientele who seemd to watch me. Very run down. Price was horrible considering what you got. Staff was friendly but that's it!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klp1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed for 3 nights. Every evening there was a work crew who spent the evening drinking & arguing in front of the next room. Did not feel safe & manager was no help. The tv was fuzzy & didn't work well. Found roaches in the room & bathroom was dirty. I've stayed there in the past & enjoyed my visits. No more

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckey1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

pets stay for free!!! Swimming Pool.. Great management and a friendly courteous staff!

Room Tip: they're all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian9858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at Motel 6 in Venice, Florida for three nights. We were visiting family and didn't want to spend a lot of money on a room. Motel 6 was very reasonably priced and very clean. You won't get a lot of amenities; however, if you want a clean room in a good location, look no further. The rooms are small, but we slept comfortably. Very quiet during our stay in October. There is a pool with umbrella tables and chairs around it. Staff was very friendly and seemed interested in making our stay comfortable. The motel is close to the beaches and there are plenty of restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammydavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The wife can't stop talking about going back to this hotel for a weekend. We didn't know they were dog-friendly at the time. Swimming pool was B plus. this is an economy motel but it's an A plus location, close to the the Island, beach, and within one site of Venice Avenue. Recommend for budget conscious and low frills weekend trippers.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harplayah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

For this price, it's excellent, but giving 5 circles may convey the wrong image. Very friendly and helpful staff. The internet worked fine, but can be slow due to # of users relative to access points. The room's interior is well-worn, reflecting wear and tear of use, but it was very clean. Some of the other reviewers, I think, are confusing "dirty" with what is simply well-worn interiors. The price is going to go up if they renovate and I'd rather they didn't given the cleanliness to my senses of sight and smell. Appropriate priority to sanitation is reflected in modest bathroom renovations, with relatively new (yes, economical, not fancy) showers, sinks and toilets installed. The pool and surrounding area are clean and well-maintained. The walkways and stairs are, again, old, but well maintained. You get two channels of HBO and a nice cable pakcage. Free coffee from 6-10 AM. It tasted fine. For $51.50/night, given the location (very close to nice beaches), I was a most satisfied customer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cohenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We were trying to stay cheap because this was a totally unplanned trip. We decided at the very last minute to detour after our time spent at the Wyndham in Tampa near the Moffitt Cancer Center. That was necessary...this was for fun...

So I read the reviews and think...we just need a bed. So we did it. Welllllll yesterday morning we woke up to find DIRT at the Foot of the bed. GROSS. I decided not to say anything yet because I figure that retaliation might not be past this management (although the front desk seemed really sweet and personable).

The Internet sucked. Never worked for me.

If you stay here just know that it is a CHEAP place and you certainly get what what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raeraeraerae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
0.4 km away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
1.7 km away
Island Sun Inn
Island Sun Inn
#8 of 13 in Venice
163 reviews
3.2 km away
Sunshine Motel
Sunshine Motel
#6 of 13 in Venice
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Venice/Sarasota
4.9 km away
Best Western Plus Ambassador Suites Venice
2.5 km away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Venice

Address: 281 Venice Bypass North, I-75S at Exit #36, I-75N at Exit #35, Venice, FL 34292
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Venice
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $85 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Venice 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Venice FL is conveniently located near shopping and dining. Visit the public beach just 2 miles away. Relax in our outdoor heated pool, enjoy our coin laundry facility and enjoy WiFi, available in all modern guest rooms for $2.99 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Venice Hotel Venice
Motel Six Venice
Venice Motel Six
Venice Motel 6
Motel 6 Venice Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing