We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Driftwood Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$92
US$80
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Vero Beach(Vero Beach)(Great Value!)
US$79
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Vero Beach(Vero Beach)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$124
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Vero Beach-West I-95(Vero Beach)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Vero Beach(Vero Beach)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$110
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach(Vero Beach)(Great Value!)
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Spray Inn(Vero Beach)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
US$233
Costa d'Este Beach
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$325
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
144
101
30
21
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
101
30
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaldo sextonhistoric hotelold floridastained glassfun place to stayred onionmain poolwithin walking distancefull kitchenliving roomrocking chairssmall kitchenocean grillpull out sofalaid backbeach viewlemon tree
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 309 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

...having picked Vero Beach at random, and a nice waitress suggested staying here. I will say, it is not for everyone: it is ramshackle, and a bit junky. There’s no spa, the aircon is noisy, and it’s not state of the art fancy if that’s what you’re after.

We LOVED it. Big rooms, great staff, loads of places to sit or lie out, barbecues on site. It just felt so easygoing and idiosyncratic but handy for everything. Plus nice and quiet in October and we felt we had plenty of space. This is a terrific, authentic place to stay and we feel very lucky for stumbling across it. If you’re fed up of identikit service and great big chains, honestly you’re going to love it here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank jBeatonLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne M, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2018

Thank you for your review. We like to call the resort eclectic, reflecting the builder, Waldo Sexton's early 1900's style, but ramshackle works too. So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return again soon. Jeanne Radlet, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2017

I had the opportunity to stay at Driftwood Inn over a long weekend and had a condo rental over the pool and view of the ocean. The beach area was limited since the beach must be losing sand due to hurricanes. There are different sections of the Inn and each one was unique in its own way. Rustic - modern - cottage etc. the town itself is very quaint and everything is in walking distance to enjoy. I had a great time and the Inn also has Waldo's restaurant which is perfect for hanging out - nights with music & drinks. The Inn is "weather worn" but still a place to stay at. ENJOY

Room Tip: try for ocean view rooms - its worth the extra money
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DeeDee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne M, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2018

Thank you for your review and kind words about the resort. We've been here since the 1930's and part of the property is now on the National Registry of Historic Places. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return again soon. Jeanne Radlet GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

I'm so surprised at the positive reviews. The doors hardly open and my room temp is 77 degrees due to air conditioning failure. On top of that, a band is playing at full volume directly beneath me. After calling the front desk, I was told there was no technician available and I would have to move to a different room. However, I was put on hold after being told the room type I booked is not available. This might be the worst experience I have ever had with a "resort" while traveling Florida. I'm gonna deal with paying $200 per night with no A/C and get out of here early tomorrow. Tack this one up as lesson learned. I will never return here despite my frequent travels to the area. I'm giving it 2 stars because the front desk staff was very friendly in spite of the horrendous condition of this "resort".

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Mgreg651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne_GenMgr, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Thank you for your review. I'm certainly sorry that at 8PM at night there was not a technician available to fix the air conditioning in the pouring rain. We DID move you to another room with air conditioning, full kitchen, bedroom with king bed and one bath. We also had our security guard assist you in moving. There are only 4 rooms on the property like the one you originally reserved and none of them were available to move you to for the one night you were here. We also discounted your rate for the inconvenience. There is not much more we could have done and I'm sorry you found our solution to your problem unacceptable. Jeanne Radlet, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017

We came here for a planned short week visit. The visit was severely shortened by the impending arrival of hurricane Irma. Nevertheless, we liked our stay here. The room was neat. If you are looking for a modern look, go elsewhere. But for those who like a step back in time - this was perfect. To me, it was a great beach-side getaway. Our room made you feel like you were in an old ship from the 17th century with lots of dark wood. however, we had all the modern conveniences necessary to keep the teen kids happy. We will try to come back again when a hurricane is not headed this way.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor Corner facing the beach.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne_GenMgr, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

HI-
Thank you for your review and kind words about the Driftwood Resort. We are sorry you had to leave early because of Hurricane Irma but we are open again now so please come back soon!! Thank you again. Jeanne L. Radlet, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2017

What a fantastic place, I just can't get over how laid back and relaxed this wonderful place makes me feel, trying to get back in in January 2018, got my airline tickets now it's up to the Driftwood! Great people work there, and if you want a Marriott then go get one, this is no for you, if you want old school, there is no other place but here.
The Spiro's

Room Tip: Ocean front room's, you don't need a car, a lot to do right at the hotel, Waldo's restaurant is excellent.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tgspiro54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne_GenMgr, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Thank you for your kind words about the Driftwood. Hopefully something will open up for your next visit, we love all our return guests!! Thank you again. Jeanne Radlet, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews