We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Waiter Ozzy Villegas Made My Birthday Dinner Experience Extraordinary!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabana Restaurant - CLOSED

Cabana Restaurant
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Latin, Caribbean, Spanish, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lake Worth, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Waiter Ozzy Villegas Made My Birthday Dinner Experience Extraordinary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

My Husband & I had the privilege of having my Birthday Dinner at Cabana Restaurant on Clematis Street in downtown West Palm Beach March 6. We won "the customer lottery" by having Ozzy Villegas as our waiter. He was extremely kind, considerate, thoughtful and very tuned into the fact that I am unusually sensitive about my Birthday. I went to the Ladies Room after I ordered my dinner and when I came back, he put confetti all over our tablecloth. He was so respectful of the fact that I am over the top about celebrating my Birthday and treated me like a Birthday Queen. He made this one of the most enjoyable and memorable Birthday experiences I ever had. In the very fast world we live in today, it is so refreshing to know that there is someone who cares about doing the little things that make a customer smile. Actually, I felt more like a guest in a Dear Friend's home, than a customer in a restaurant. Everyone in the world should be so fortunate to have a Birthday dinner like mine. Ozzy Villegas, you are an extraordinary example of the way someone should treat a guest. Can't wait to come to Cabana again soon and celebrate more special occasions with you!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TobyandJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    56
    11
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fine latin food in very casual setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Great empanadas, terrific churrasca and seafood---sea bass in particular. Very casual setting on Clematis street in downtown West Palm. Several outside tables. Service was good, not great. Good value.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dubaytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Absolutely a fine meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

First experience at a truly Cuban restaurant.
Could not have asked for a better time.
Waiter was very knowledge about menu, answered all our questions and provided exemplary service.
Three of us had the large appetizer platter and two entrees.
My wife and I shared the paella. Large serving in casserole of an excellent paella.
Absolute must if you are in West Palm Beach.
Downtown parking could be a problem.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank KMHonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“First time here. We'll be back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We were visiting West Palm and stumbled across Cabana. It was warm at night, so we were able to eat dinner at a table on the sidewalk. The food and service were both excellent. For dinner we ordered: Coco Cabana, Churrasco, Paella, & Mero Chileno. The food was a bit on the expensive side, but it was worth it. We sampled each others dinners and all agreed that we would have ordered everything again. If we make it back to West Palm, we'll definitely eat at Cabana again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank scotrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Homerun at Cabana!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We were looking for a fun and different dining experience in West Palm Beach and after a little research, decided to try Cabana.  Wow!  Am I glad we did.  The decor at the bar was bright and bold - sophisticated in the main dining room.  The food, which is latin (not Cuban as we had mistakenly thought) was delicious and just so flavorful.   We had bocadillos as an appetizer - a mixed sampler platter of shrimp fritters, vegetables fritters, chicken wings and empanadas.  It was plentiful, hot and very very tasty.  The sauce on the chicken wings was dark and tangy - really special.   The entrees were equally good - we ordered the mixed grill, and the favors of the chicken and sausage just blended wonderfully.  

Not surprisingly, the classic Sangria punch was excellent as well.  A special shout out goes to our excellent waitress Irina, who provided not only great service and humor, but really guided us well through the menu and helped choose very complimentary favors.  A great evening.  

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank christmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cabana Restaurant also viewed

 
West Palm Beach, FL
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing