We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disabled Traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Douglas Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Blue Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2010

As a disabled adult, I found these accommodations very comfortable. My stay in Blue Ridge was for five weeks. The bathroom was large with a built-in shower seat in the tub. The safety rails were excellent for easy access into the tub. The bed room had a queen size bed that was very comfortable. The kitchen was supplied with dishes, utensils, pots and pans. The management couldn't have been more helpful. They were always asking if I needed any assistance. They even provided a bench outside my rom for me to sit and enjoy the beautiful vista. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ignats_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douglasinn_blueridge, General Manager at Douglas Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Hello,
We are the new owners and took over the Inn one year ago. We are excited to let you know the room for disability accommodations now has a brand new king size bed with all new bedding and pillows. We also installed brand new carpet, new kitchen and bath flooring as well as new living room furniture and two new 32" flat screen tv's.

If you ever come to our great little town of Blue Ridge again please contact us and reserve this room so we can provide you with a great place to stay.

Thank You,

Leah, Lori & Jessica
Douglas Inn & Suites
1192 Windy Ridge Road
Blue Ridge, Ga. 30513
706-258-3600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 117 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2010

Maybe I am not picky. When I go to the cheapest hotel in the city (any city), I consider myself lucky if it is not on the wrong side of the tracks (bad area) and if it is not next to a country bar near a military base when all the men are let out on r & r (I'll tell you that horror story sometime). It amazes me, the more expensive a hotel, the less they tend to provide for you, but the cheap hotels give you a table, sometimes a desk, a refrigerator, a microwave, and all the normal things that is practical for an overnight stay. I saw that most of the reviews of this hotel were pretty bad, so I thought I would take time to say my piece. This hotel is the cheapest hotel in Blue Ridge, and yes, it isn't perfect. But I've been here twice and the rooms are in good condition, it is quiet and safe. As I said, it isn't perfect, the tv is a bit small, the hotel is hard to find, apparently the hotel prices tend to vary, When I came during the summer, the pool was not filled, but I don't know if that was normal or not. It is close proximity to the Blue Ridge Railroad, restaurants and shopping. So, if you are looking for the Taj Mahal, don't come here. This is a typical mom and pop place, frequented by more working class stiffs than travelers. If you want luxury, stay at the hotels in the city that cost more than a hundred dollars. But if you want value for your dollar, then stay here. And I know, because at one time or another I've stayed at almost every hotel in the city. I come up here every month to work for the Blue Ridge Railroad, so I know what is what about this city. All of the hotels are fine, but this one is the best bang for the buck. PS if you want a view of the mountains, you won't find it here unless you walk across the street.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelwriter52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

If you have a hankering for a hotel room reminiscent of a crime scene, then look no further. If not, run! This place is looks beyond sleazy and the smell is no better. The room is filthy; the walls have nasty marks all over them. We had a total of 6 blown lightbulbs (many of which were just missing) which leads me to believe that the staff was aware of their absense. I don't think the bathroom fixtures have been cleaned this year and the linens don't appear to have been washed either. The toilet barely flushed at all and had to be plunged almost every time we used it. I made my best attempt to vacate the premises, but they will not offer a refund. Therefore, I'm stuck to tough it out until I can get an early check-in at another hotel that is far nicer, and actually $10 cheaper. Don't be fooled into thinking that you will be getting a nice room by getting a "suite". Not so! You might get a living room and a kitchen, but they're absolutely disgusting. The kitchen has no paper towels and what silverware there is in the drawers is obviously dirty. In addition, everything needs a good scrub and the table is so crooked that I wouldn't even advice setting a drink on it. I actually found a used plastic fork amongst it.The living room furniture is peppered with nasty looking white stains. Although Blue Ridge is a beautiful destination that I will forever love, I vow to never return to this disgrace of a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank flgirlonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2008

I stayed at this small hotel on November 7, 2008, because everything else in Blue Ridge had sold out. I would never, under any circumstances, stay here again. The bathroom and vanity area are unbelievably small, and the television is tiny. The worst thing of all, though, was the condition of the room. It was FILTHY. The bathroom faucet was covered with...let's just say that many guests had stayed there since it was cleaned last. When I pulled back the bedspread and blanket on one bed, it was digustingly obvious that the sheet had not been changed since the last guest had slept there. When I looked at the other bed, it, too, had dirty sheets. The carpet looked only a little dirty, but the bottom of my feet were literally black with filth after walking across the floor twice. When I called the office, I was told that no cleaning staff was available. I should have vacated the room and demanded a refund, but couldn't; I slept on the bedspread, fully clothed, using my coat as a pillow. AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank susieh135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank muggy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douglasinn_blueridge, General Manager at Douglas Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mary6440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douglasinn_blueridge, Manager at Douglas Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Ridge
1.4 km away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
317 reviews
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blue Ridge
37.3 km away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 km away
Best Western Mountain View Inn
29 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites East Ellijay
34.9 km away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Inn & Suites

Address: 1192 Windy Ridge Rd, Blue Ridge, GA 30513-8003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Blue Ridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Blue Ridge
Price Range: $132 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Douglas Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a seven year hiatus our family was delighted to be back in Blue Ridge in August 2014 and managing the first Douglas Inn & Suites we ever built. We live on site to ensure all aspects of our business can be properly taken care of in order to meet our guest expectations. We offer 25 units in a quiet location on a ridge overlooking Blue Ridge, just a mile or less from downtown. We welcome you to our beautiful little town of Blue Ridge, Georgia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Douglas Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing