We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely regional cuisine”
Review of S. Anna

S. Anna
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Livo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed July 26, 2017

We were recommended Sant Anna by the people at our hotel and ate here a couple of times. I had pasta with a spicy tomato sauce as a starter , the sauce was really nice but the pasta both times was like shop bought penne, maybe home made pasta is more traditional in Tuscany and Emilia Romagna . The first time I had steak , my wife had veal spezzatino with polenta which was delicious so the second time we both had the veal with polenta , although the steak was good. Nice friendly staff and a stream running past the outside seating area reasonable prices. Livo is a very old rustic village a short drive up a winding road from Gravedona with great views .

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlbertoScotlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 102 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

. Fantastic location with river and interesting local buildings....ideal if you have had a good walk up from Domaso or Vercana. Good pizza and also local

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Douglas from Gl... Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

This is a place To visit wen you have big portions with a perfect taste for low pricing for meat And pizza

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Jos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2016

I am so happy that we found this little restaurant in the mountains. It was a beautiful drive to the town of Livo, small and very traditional. The town has stone houses and narrow streets - you feel like you are walking into history. The restaurant is tucked into a corner, next to a small stream.

If you hope to eat outside on the terrace, especially on a weekend day, you will need to make a reservation. We did not. The inside is also very nice. We wanted to try traditional food and had the antipasto and cheeses (the goat cheese, in particular, was memorable), and a baked dish pizzoccheri - speckled buckwheat noodles, cheese, potatoes and cabbage or chard. I think it must be more of a winter dish - but it was delicious. We also shared a half liter of the house white wine.

I would recommend this for the food alone, but the atmosphere made this one of the most memorable meals of our trip to Lombardy.

Special thanks to our gracious waiter, Giacomo, who made good recommendations and was patient with our poor Italian. (His English is very good.) A wonderful experience. and we hope to go again.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank drmom93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2016

We have a small apartment in Livo. The place is simply stunning and feels miles away from the tourist sites by the lake

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed S. Anna also viewed

 
Gravedona, Lake Como
Domaso, Lake Como
 

Been to S. Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing