We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottage was perfect for our Georgia vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahlonega
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mtn Laurel Creek Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Dahlonega B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harvard, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cottage was perfect for our Georgia vacation”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The Inn was all we hoped for. Arrangements were easy and included the things we wanted - spa treatments, privacy, close to mountains for hiking, friendly hosts. We chose the only standalone cottage rather than the B&B rooms, for extra privacy. We enjoy B&B style also but in this case wanted to try something different. It has its own outdoor jacuzzi in addition to a jacuzzi tub and steam shower inside. It takes a little effort to figure out how to use some of their features, but they worked fine. At one point the outdoor jacuzzi cooled down and once we mentioned it to our hosts it was fixed the same day. The interior of this relatively new cottage is nicely laid out, clean, very cozy and comfortable for a couple. Knowing we would not have access to the B&B breakfast we ordered the grocery package including eggs, english muffins, jam, etc. and it worked out great.

We enjoy vacations on the more active side, so we actually spend most of our days off site hiking the local mountains on the Appalachian Trail, and wine touring. Both were outstanding. Our first surprise was the story of this up and coming wine region. We expected average, small town wines, but found high quality wines of interesting varieties, and great food to go along with it. Winery hosts were very friendly and engaging. We liked Wolf Mountain and Three Sisters the best. We purchased some of the wine to bring home to Massachusetts and plan to taste them blind with friends, against California equivalents, and we'll post our results back to our hosts at the Mt. Laurel Creek Inn & Spa.

For food, we recommend the Corkscrew for good food and good sampling of local wines. The host there was very friendly and spent alot of time with us at our table, explaining the history of the area and the wines. We also ate at the Back Porch which had great food but carried none of the local wines and had no plans to change that. They gave us the impression that they know wines better than we do, so our high assessment of the local wines didn't mean much to them. They're not listening to their customers, i guess. It's a perfect fit in Dahlonega for the local restaurants to highlight the local wines to complete the local experience.

We plan to come back to the Mt. Laurel Creek Inn again sometime in the future, for more hiking and wine tasting. This trip was what the doctor ordered.

Room Tip: We chose the only standalone "cottage" rather than the B&B rooms. However, the online...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gormleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
297
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I wish that I could give the Inn a higher rating than five, because it is worth a ten. Honestly, you can't find a more beautiful, relaxing romantic place than this. I read a review that said"Iwish I could got back tomorrow, and we only left today"...that is exactly how I feel. The room (Dogwood), the grounds, Salvator the happy cat, the breakfast..everything was out of this world. Thank you Dennis, we will be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easton, maryland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Friends invited us to tour the Georgia wine country...already a new adventure...who knew Georgia has great wines! They booked us at this lovely, hidden treasure nestled in the mountains. David and Dennis are gracious hosts and know about top quality. The inn, the small but high quality spa, the breakfasts, the 'pub' stocked with the best of Georgia wines.
What a treat on every level! The spa is small but stocked with the highest quality equipment, sheets, products. And the practitioners from the area are as good as any I have had anywhere in the world. Dahlonega is a very special area...Frogtown Winery and wines are exceptional.
Enjoy a cozy, intimate, warm getaway...and fine wines.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissOleMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tifton, ga
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My wife and I both have jobs that become extremely hectic in the holiday months. Fortunately, our annual post-Christmas visit to Mountain Laurel Creek Inn & Spa has become the reliable remedy for all that ails us. Set in the mountains away from the hustle and bustle of city life, the owners have created a luxurious oasis where we feel like a king and queen every time we visit. The bathtubs are enormous; the breakfasts are spectacular; the rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed; and the spa services are exquisite. Add to this the charm of downtown Dahlonega with its many shops and restaurants, and you have a perfect, restful adventure on your hands.

Dennis and David are exquisite hosts. They honor our privacy, yet are always available when we have a request, express a need, or simply want a good a dinner recommendation.

Breakfast is always a treat. Never your standard grits-n-gravy, their breakfasts are unique, beautifully crafted creations that appeal to all the senses. At our most recent stay, we requested a particular item we had thoroughly enjoyed the year before, and they went out of their way to make it again.

And please, if you stay at MLC, avail yourself of the spa services. The massage therapists are extremely professional and very highly skilled. It's one thing to stay in a beautiful, comfortable B&B... it's another to have a layer of complete relaxation and rejuvenation added on top. It makes the MLC experience complete.

Room Tip: The Dogwood Room is our favorite. Located on its own floor; very spacious and beautifully appointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

What a beautiful, relaxing and peaceful way to ring in the new year! We stayed in the dancing bear cabin and it was wonderful! I cannot tell you too much about the surroundings because once we checked in we did not move! It was so cozy and warm. There was a HUGE bathtub and a steam shower as well as a hot tub on the back porch. We had our own little spa and never had to leave. The bed was comy too. The place was spotless! We loved it here and hope we can return in the spring!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deemeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Decked the halls for holiday fun, helpful advice even for vegetarians, and a great atmosphere for recharging our batteries, the inn has it all. We heard great things about the breakfast and the painstaking efforts that the innkeepers take to anticipate our wishes. The bar allows for socializing and offers a wide variety of local wines. We look forward to our next trip already.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Mountain Laurel Creek Inn & Spa is a delightful place! It is close to a lot of interesting things to see and do. There are excellent restaurants within a reasonable driving distance. The outside world does not exist while you are at the Inn. Dennis and David are wonderful, knowledgeable hosts. Breakfast is delicious! Now if we can talk Dennis into dinner, all would be perfect.

Room Tip: The website is very helpful with room selection
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dahlonega
21.4 km away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
9.1 km away
Park Place Hotel
Park Place Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dahlonega
157 reviews
26.7 km away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Days Inn Dahlonega
Days Inn Dahlonega
#3 of 9 in Dahlonega
481 reviews
8.4 km away
Quality Inn Dahlonega
Quality Inn Dahlonega
#7 of 9 in Dahlonega
160 reviews
23.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mtn Laurel Creek Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mtn Laurel Creek Inn & Spa

Property: Mtn Laurel Creek Inn & Spa
Address: 202 Talmer Grizzle Rd, Dahlonega, GA 30533-2934
Region: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate B&B Inn and Spa in the heart and soul of GA wine country, featuring 7 guest rooms and one cabin with gas fireplace, sitting area, balcony, private bath with jetted tub and original artwork through out. We are a quiet and romantic getaway in a mountain setting six miles north of the scenic mountain village of Dahlonega, GA. Includes a small pub featuring local area wines and onsite spa with men's and women's locker rooms with showers & dry saunas, facials and massages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Laurel Creek Inn And Spa
Mountain Laurel Creek Hotel Dahlonega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing