We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Family Style Thanksgiving Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Smith House

The Smith House
Ranked #12 of 84 Restaurants in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Famous for our all-you-can eat family style meals. Country vegetable and fried chicken is everyone's favorite. Stay in our historic inn and visit our historic town square of Dahlonega where the first Gold Rush was located. The Smith House is locked one block from the square.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Family Style Thanksgiving Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We decided to not cook this Thanksgiving. After some discussion, we headed north about 25 mile to Dahlonega.

Some people might be turned off at the thought of sitting at a table full of stranger and "tying on the feed bag" but not us. This restaurant does not accept reservations. So, you pay before you enter the dining room. On busy days, such as ours, you will wait in line. We waited about ten minutes. If it's a longer wait, they will take names and call them in order. The building itself is historic and they are all kinds of interesting stuff inside to keep you busy while you wait.

The table we sat at held fourteen people and only one place was empty. The serving bowls were filled when we sat down and we just started serving and passing the bowls around the table. When a bowl was empty a staff member would refill it. There were plenty of choice to suit any taste. The fried chicken is to die for. And at the end.... pie. What can I say.

We enjoyed the food, the company and the atmosphere. The staff is wonderful. Don't miss exploring the shop and the rest of the house especially the old Gold Mine shaft they discovered under the house. After the meal, enjoy a walk around Dahlonega Square and explore it's many shops or a drive through the mountains.

Truly a wonderful day.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Valinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    104
    67
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Our experience at the Smith House was wonderful. We stayed 3 nights in the Captain Hall Suite and it was perfect. The room and lobby area was very clean and well taken care of. During our stay we had our son's rehearsal dinner at the Smith House and the food and service was outstanding. The location is also great! It is right on the square where all the great shopping and restaurants are.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SBenedick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calhoun, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

The dining room was nice and we enjoyed sitting and talking with other people. The food was very good. Glad we made The Smith House a part of our experience in visiting the North Georgia mouintains.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We will return.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

My husband and I visited the Smith House in Sept. 2011. It was getting kinda late and we had searched for a good inexpensive place to eat and finally decided to try the Smith House. We were kinda leary, it being an all you can eat establishment and it being late. We were afraid the food would not be fresh. We were wrong. The food was great. We were seated promptly and were served almost immediately. The staff was attentive and we had no trouble getting refills of anything we requested. The atmosphere was also nice, a huge dining area with a huge beautiful fireplace. We were stuffed when we left and even though they were no longer serving I spent quite some time looking around the great little gift shop. The guy at the hotel desk even checked me out. Good food, good service, good atmosphere, and a good value. I would reccomend to anyone looking for good food. We will return.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyfye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Really Good Hearty Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Yum. We’ve been going up to the Smith House for years. They are transitioning from family-style, where you sit down with strangers to family-style where you get your own table. (So if you have been in years past, and didn’t like the communal sit-down, you can now get your own table.) There’s no menu -- You are served big all you can eat dishes of Southern favorites – fried chicken, pot roast, ham, fried okra, sweet corn, corn bread, biscuits, greens, green beans, sweet potatoes etc. etc. etc. We were just up there yesterday, and it was as good as ever. As an interesting side note, they also discovered a gold mine shaft under the floor some years back, and it’s fascinating to see. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it… in all the years, I’ve never had a bad meal.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CobbCoGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smith House also viewed

 

Been to The Smith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing