We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel,nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge on Lake Oconee
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eatonton
GA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good hotel,nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

We stayed over the weekend in the kids suite room. Good decision. Kids had a separate room with twin beds and TV. Room & bathroom were clean, staff was very friendly. They even let us have a late checkout w/out addt'l charges.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAgymtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    42
    26
    15
    9
See reviews for
48
41
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DeBary, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

I stayed with my wife one night and do not have a single complaint.
The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. In fact the lobby, halls, building and grounds were very well kept. We were in Eatonton Ga for a wedding at the Cuscowilla Country Club so the location was ideal being less then a mile away. If we return to the Eatonton area, we will stay at that hotel surely.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank action80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

This was my second stay at the Lodge on Lake Oconee. Generally, the hotel is OK, with comfortable rooms overlooking the lake. However, the bathrooms were dirty on both of my stays. Mildew in the tub/shower, soap-scum buildup on the tub/shower and faucets, toilet had a "ring" that indicated it was rarely cleaned. I noted this on a comment card during my stay in 2008 -- but months later, they are still unwilling to properly clean a bathroom. This might be acceptable on a $40 room. I paid $129/night for a 2-night stay.

There was a power outage (not the hotel's fault) during my stay. Many of the emergency lights were not working in the stairways and halls. Cleanliness and guest safety are clearly not a priority at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trh8556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

We stayed here as an alternative to staying in Rock Eagle accomdations. The hotel is nice and located alongside Lake Oconee. We had a jacuzzi room w/ king bed. It was spacious, clean and well-appointment. We also had a view of the lake. The beds are comfortable and clean. The only disturbances were from being located right at the end of a hall at the stairwell.

There is free internet in the room and the hotel even provided the cable.

There were 2 things that really bothered me that I felt could be improved:

1. There was an ant problem. We had ants (the little tiny ones) on the sink (with the microwave and fridge) in the room.

2. This is directly related to number 1 - I went to the front desk to ask if there was any ant spray that I could use. The lady at the front desk did a circle around the back, came back to the front and said that there wasn't any spray. That was it...no I'm sorry, I'll see what I can do to get rid of the ants, nothing. She paid no more attention to me and I took that as my cue that I wasn't getting any help.

I will say that when housekeeping came by, I asked her about ants and if she had any spray. She said no, but she did go to the hotel office and tell them. She came back and said that someone else had came by earlier in the AM saying he/she had ants. I'm pretty sure I was that person. There were even times when the front desk was empty. Housekeeping has more customer service skills than the front desk.

All in all, it's a good place to stay but don't count on excellent or even good customer service. If I were in the area again, I would stay here.

  • Liked — Clean rooms and good location
  • Disliked — Customer Service and ants
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank peachstt04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights in April. A great rate ($100/night) and location attracted us to this location. I asked for a king size bed, top floor, and view away from the pool--I got 0 for 3. But they did give me a 2 queen bed suite in exchange, so we rolled with it. The rooms are very clean, but nothing fancy. Front desk staff were just kind of there--usually when we walked by, no one was at the desk, I guess they prefer hiding in the back. So if you need a clean, safe place to stay and need no help from staff, then this is the place for you. They do offer a free breakfast, we did not check this out--there is a Waffle House right down the road (along with gas stations, McDonald's, Publix...).

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JMB2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2006

I just stayed there this weekend attending a math conference at Rock Eagle. I am pretty picky about hotels (don't like exterior rooms, must be clean, etc...) this was very nice. I am actually surprised it used to be a Holiday Inn Express because that to me sounds not so nice! The room was very clean, comfortable beds, bathroom fully equipped and complete the bath and body works shampoo/conditioner, etc... We got a conference rate of $89, although originally booked for $139--the desk was very nice in giving us the reduced rate. Cont'l breakfast was very well stocked, fresh. No 'make your own waffles' but there were some available to put in a toaster. Other baked goods, cereal, fruit, juices, coffee, etc. Our viewed overlooked a portion of the lake Room was quiet and free Wi-Fi was great--no problems. Everything looked very new to me. I'd stay there again any day!

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank spot28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2005

I stayed here in Oct 2005 while attending a conference in the area. This was an excellent Hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the service was excellent and the selection at breakfest was very good. Ask for a backside room, which overlooks the lake. In the back of the Hotel, you can walk down to a beautiful lake which the hotel has several docks on. I very much recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank garedsoxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eatonton
8.0 km away
The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
23.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Madison
16.3 km away
Jameson Inn Greensboro
Jameson Inn Greensboro
#2 of 3 in Greensboro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 km away
Hampton Inn Madison
Hampton Inn Madison
#4 of 6 in Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
31.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Milledgeville
23.9 km away
Days Inn Madison
Days Inn Madison
#3 of 6 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on Lake Oconee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on Lake Oconee

Property: The Lodge on Lake Oconee
Address: 930 Lake Oconee Parkway, Eatonton, GA 31024
Region: United States > Georgia > Eatonton
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eatonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge on Lake Oconee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Lake Oconee in Eatonton, Georgia, The Lodge on Lake Oconee is a beautiful lake front hotel featuring cozy rooms and suites and exceptional amenities. Views of Lake Oconee are abundant from the lake side rooms and the outdoor pool and hot tub. Relax and enjoy all that the Lake Oconee area has to offer including a moments drive to championship golf at Harbor Club & Reynolds Plantation; outstanding Boating, Bass & Crappie fishing; the historic towns of Madison, Greensboro, and Eatonton; the Antebellum Trail; and quaint Antique Galleries and unique local shops.Our guests find themselves centrally located between Augusta - with the Masters Golf Tournament, Athens - with the University of Georgia Bulldogs and Milledgeville - with the Georgia Military College and Georgia College & State University. It is a short drive to the Rock Eagle and Rock Hawk Effigies, Oconee National Forest, and Hard Labor Creek State Park and much, much more. Our lake front hotel is located just 90 miles from Atlanta & Hartsfield Airport. Perfect for Business Meetings, Vacation Getaways, Weddings and Family Reunions.Escape to Georgia's Lake Country at The Lodge On Lake Oconee...where Affordability and Luxury meet...why stay anywhere else! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge on Lake Oconee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On Lake Oconee Hotel Eatonton
Hotel On Lake Oconee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing