We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Hotel El Dorado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Dorado
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in San Andres
Reviewed 11 March 2017

This hotel is a nice place to stay and for a good price.

Staff:
The staff is really nice, they helped me with all the information about places to go, where to buy and also they helped me when I asked them if it was possible to keep one of the rooms longer the day we flought back because our flight was late that day and we wanted to enjoy the beach longer. We paid an extra fee and it wasn't expensive considering we were able to keep the bracelets for food and beverages for 5 persons.

Food:
It was an all inclusive package. They have an open bar (the bartender at night is really friendly). They don't spare the alcohol, so my mojito was basicly rum with ice - ask the bartender how much alcohol you want.
I recommend the "Dorado" cocktail.
They have two restaurants, one next to the pool and the other one close to reception. Better to be there when it starts because it gets crowded.
Food was tasty, the juices were a bit sweet and the snacks were simple but all in all you can not complain, you get a good value for your money.

Rooms:
Our room was on the third floor with sea view, it was noisy considering that you are in front of the pedestrian street and people gather there to listen to music at night.
Since it is really windy in San Andrés we didn't have the need to use the AC but it was working. They try to raise awareness about the energy consumption, which I think is really good.
I read some comments about the lacking of hot water in the showers, we had hot water although we didn't need it.
I liked that they also put tooth paste with the toiletries in the bathroom. Perfect selection because we forgot about it.
We got spaceous and clean rooms.
It is nice that it is also a smoke-free hotel.
The wi-fi does not work in the rooms, it only worked in the reception or in the restaurant.

Hotel:
The hotel is very well located. Only 5 minutes in taxi from the airport, in front of the beach - crossing the pedestrian street. You can also go walking to the harbor (Portofino), where all the boats to Johnny Cay are.
The hotel is closed to Juan Valdez, el Corral and other restaurants in case you want to go somewhere else.
It is also clean and have a variety of activities and shows at night.
They give you the towels and chairs for you to go to the beach.

We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you are not bother by the noise outside and want sea view choose from 304 until 307
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nats_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel el dorado is located near the ocean but don't have a private beach and you can't get drinks bring it to you to the beach, what ever you see in the Comercial is not real. The hotel is old and needs lots of remodels, the hotel is crying for help, the front office people are helpless specially and older lady little overweight she don't care about customers it seems like she is there just to make living. Food is not really bad there is something for everyone. Although we did not ate at the hotel every day, drinks are good specially if claudi the bartender is there, very nice friendly lady. the housekeepers work like a dog trying to maintain the hotel clean " please give them a tip $$$. The people at the kitchen work like crazy, they are cooking allday. overall the hotel is not really that bad, the problem is management it seems like they don't care what do you think about the hotel, there is not ocean view only nice balcony with very far away view and if you are in the second floor forget it Notting to see. The're ants in the room so be careful with that. Good think of the hotel is location location location.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Standedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

WOW!! Is a Fantastic Hotel. We really enjoyed our holidays. The hotel was almost full, so they gave us an apartament but with all the services of the hotel. The apartament was cleaned every day, the food was delicious.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Pipecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

I just got back yesterday. The hotel is excellent location , rooms were decent and food was decent. All drinks included even beer..... The checking was delayed which is annoying also the hostess at the restaurant was not the niecest , some workers need to work on their skills manners. Others were nice attentive but some lack... Besides this the location to me was the best...

Stayed: August 2016
Thank claudianj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Visited my son and new Grand daughter in Colombia.
Stayed here in a family room with my Son/ Daughter in-law /and 4 month old baby for 2 weeks.
Wonderful food all day long/Lots of entertainment nightly and the staff could not do enough for us. Right opposite the beach, given clean beach towels everyday.
Wonderful friendly service, and very happy staff .
Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "lift side" are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cazzawoodyruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Un buen hotel, con cuartos limpios y cómodos aunque pequeños. El personal muy amable, y tiene buena piscina para un hotel de San Andres. El bar tiene buenos cócteles. No almorcé ni cené en el hotel, pero el desayuno tenía buena variedad. Muy buena ubicación frente al malecón, aunque no queda pegado al mar.

A good hotel, with clean and comfortable rooms if a bit small. Friendly staff, and a good pool area for a San Andres hotel. Great cocktails at the bar. Though I didn't have lunch or dinner at the hotel, the breakfast did have good variety. It's a good location on the boardwalk, though not touching the beach or ocean.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank Camilo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The hotel offers a good all around inclusive pacakge which is affordable. Food is perfectly OK and available not only during the meal time but some sort of snack is also available in between. Drinks are good and abundant including alcoholic ones included in the package and are available around the clock. Beach is right across from the hotel (less than hundred yards) and perfectly swimmable although seaweed is a problem restricting the size of the area you can swim in. Pool is OK, and nightly shows by their entertainment staff is surprisingly good. Staff is very nice and helpful though only 1-2 are in commend of English. One being a true God sent, namely Tracy Powell at the reception. Wifi access is unexpectedly for a fee (though you may bargain) available only around the lobby, and intermittent due to weather. Rooms around the pool are small and tend to be inferior in quality and have a poor odor. The other rooms (in main building) are far superior, even nice and reasonably well equipped. The real problem is that the staff is hopelessly incompetent in maintenance, even of the simplest things, hence we experienced endless trouble in a leaking AC, faulty refrigerator, partially dysfunctional faucet, access to hot water in one room, non functional electric switches, etc. They were nice enough and moved us twice (we only stayed three nice) in time to a better room to offset the technical problems we ran into, but each room suffered from other problems among the above list.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Andres
0.3 km away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#3 of 43 in San Andres Island
1,364 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Arena Blanca
Hotel Arena Blanca
#6 of 29 in San Andres
327 reviews
7.4 km away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#23 of 29 in San Andres
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#4 of 29 in San Andres
1,586 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Lord Pierre
Hotel Lord Pierre
#25 of 43 in San Andres Island
394 reviews
0.4 km away
Portobelo Plaza de las Americas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Dorado

Address: Avenida Colombia # 1 A-25, San Andres, San Andres Island, Colombia
Region: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island > San Andres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in San Andres
Price Range: $215 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Dorado 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Dorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing