We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Place in Town! Beautiful Wedding Cakes!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hofer's of Helen

Hofer's of Helen
Ranked #3 of 71 Restaurants in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$19
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hofer's Bakery & Cafe is an Authentic Bavarian Bakery and Cafe located just north of town center in Helen Georgia. European Cakes, Pastries, and "Old World" Breads compliment our delicious Breakfast and Lunch served in our relaxing dining room. We offer both German and American food favorites to satisfy the taste of all customers. Visit our "Gift Vault" where you will find many unique imported foods and gift items. Mail order service is available. Our outdoor Biergarten (located on our covered front deck) is open summer and fall (weather permitting) featuring delicious food, Beer and Wine and live music entertainment. Please call visit our website for more information
dallas GA
1 review
“Best Place in Town! Beautiful Wedding Cakes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I used Hofer's of Helen to make my wedding cake in October 2010. We gave Ralph quite a project to create an almost life sized Foosball table for the groom's cake. Ralph and his team did an amazing job both with the look and taste of our cakes. They were exactly what we wanted, the flavor was delicious, and they were very moist. We visit Hofer's every time we visit Helen for breakfast or lunch, and will continue to do so.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank haleyc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    838
    388
    151
    39
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornelia, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Uninspired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

If you like petrified pastries this is the place for you.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sautee Nacoochee, Georgia
Level Contributor
340 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Breakfast stop about once a month - good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Love the food at breakfast and great coffee, have not tried lunch. Pastries are great take home as well as bread.

Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweet Home Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bakery and so much MORE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We were hungry after sleeping through breakfast and arriving here just after they stopped serving breakfast. So glad we missed it. My reuben sandwich was the best I've had in a long time! The portions were huge and everything was delicious! In fact, we were too full to buy any of those wonderful mouth watering patries that enticed us at the door. Now, I want to go back!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank CheerfulVoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ducktown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“So much more than a bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I have to bring a cooler to Helen because I always stop at Hofer's to bring back some Bavarian meat that I can't get where I live.The pastry is so good,and they sell products from Germany as well.There's a small cafe and a beer garden.Hofer's alone is the kind of place that is worth the ride If it weren't already a part of Helen.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hofer's of Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing