We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Mountain Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hiawassee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Enota Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mountain Getaway”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My boyfriend as I went tent camping in the adult section last weekend. It was a little cold at times! They have three or four hiking trails and three or four different waterfalls.. There is a lot to do, I can't wait to go back in the "on" season with some friends! NOTE: Site 59 on the Adult Campground in $40 extra because of a private waterfall... it's beautiful yes but the ground you're supposed to set your tent up on is so rooty that it's not worth it!! We camped at site 58.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helloo_geisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    71
    25
    35
    32
See reviews for
226
118
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Enota is absolutely beautiful and the staff is fantastic. Spent a week farming, hiking, and learning. The moment you pull in you feel the love from everywhere. You can spend an eternity looking at the beautiful landscape. Two amazing waterfalls and the cabins are rustic and comfy. Come find a home in Enota and you will never want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I absolutely loved staying at Enota for our retreat. It was peaceful and quiet. We hiked up to the waterfall which was just breath taking!!! The whole place is organic which made the food there awesome and there dog Spirit is someone you have to meet

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We had a wonderful time enjoying the fall weather and many outdoor activities at Enota. I chaperoned an FCA retreat that included 60 high school students. The students thoroughly enjoyed the working farm (including milking a cow, playing with bunnies and petting miniature ponies). There was plenty to keep everyone entertained. Highlights of our trip included a bonfire and roasting marshmellows, hiking to the 200 and 400 foot tall waterfalls, jumping on the outdoor trampolines, and eating some delicious meals. Swan was the most gracious hostess! As an environmental teacher I even learned a lot about organic gardening and raising animals.

Room Tip: Dakota house was perfect for our retreat. The girls enjoyed their own bunk rooms, and the large mee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta ga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2011

My 2 kids and I just spent a wonderful 2 days and nights at Enota. I was initially swayed by the website, which gives very accurate information about accommodations and activities. When you actually go and see the property and meet the staff, you realize that the reason it is all there goes way beyond a peaceful get-away, which it definitely is.
We got in later than expected on a rainy night, and the desk staff was waiting for us to check into our one bedroom cabin, which had a sleeper sofa and slept all 3 of us comfortably. They made sure the heat was working and were all very friendly.
This is a great place for kids--and adults--to reconnect with the land and all it gives to us. We walked through the woods to find our entries for "biggest leaf" contest, caught and cooked fish from the well stocked trout pond, went on a tour of the farm, learned how to--and did!-- milk a cow, and ate breakfast in the lodge that served food grown on the farm. The in- ground trampolines were a huge hit, the hike to the waterfall was beautiful, and not one whine about being bored. The cabin was basic, clean, and comfortable (although we didn't spend much time there). In a world of uber-technology, fast food, and immediate gratification, it is good for the spirit to spend some time in such beautiful surroundings so lovingly cared for by the staff, who all live there. We can't wait to go back!

Edit Remove

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kbzatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My husband and I wanted an inexpensive option for a weekend getaway. We stayed in one of the motel rooms on the site because I was pregnant and not quite up to camping in a tent. :-) Sure, the motel accommodations weren't five star, but it IS a camp site. We had trouble with our shower drain clogging up the first time we used it, but the staff was incredibly helpful and went to our room to fix it almost immediately. The food was delicious, particularly the breakfast. The farm tour was a great deal of fun. I think my husband and I were the only ones there without children, but we had just as much fun as they did! We're interested in getting into farming ourselves, and the tour guide took lots of time to "show us the ropes" and give us more information than what would normally be given on a tour. Great experience overall, and I hope we're able to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancientdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithia Springs, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2011

OK we wanted an inexpensive 3 days. So we picked a CAMP SITE, You get a piece of dirt with a fire pit and a picnic table. Period. We brought a tent and since we were the ONLY tent campers...we got to camp right next to the mini waterfall. It was like a little piece of paradise. Total seclusion.

This place is close to Helen so very easy to find from the road with gorgeous breathtaking waterfalls and a creek side stream/brook that runs all through the property. Nice trails to hike up and observation decks to view waterfalls from if you can not hike.

Small commercialized pond with fish and the ducks who live there on the pond were enchanting and put on quite a show for us. But to fish was 6 bucks a pound if you caught a fish which you WOULD. (what if a fish weighed 3 pounds ??? 18 bucks to fish for 3 minutes?) If money were no object we would have tried.

This WAS a Pet friendly park... which was a huge bonus. But there is a "Lodge Dog" on the premises prowling the lodge at night... making it difficult to walk our dogs because he was aggressive.

OK so the main issue..... when you CAMP you want a Fire right? WELL Firewood is a bit expensive for such a tiny little bundle and it was slightly Green, so it didn't burn so well unless we added a Duraflame log but it is VERY cold at night and in the morning so plan on at least 2 to 3 bundles of wood per day at 5 bucks each bundle plus a daily burn permit fee. So if you want a fire, DO bring a case of Dura-flame logs to aid starting the fire and to help keep it burning longer. And plenty of newspaper too.

Family areas are separated and away from adult areas.... so this place gets a HUGE bonus from me. I wanted to be away from kids and noise for this trip and I was here. Never even SAW a kid. But we walked around and saw they if we had brought our kids there was tons of stuff for them too :) in the family areas.

Lots of farm animals to see and interact with. Huge organic garden was awesome to see. but there was no staff available to ask about it.

Now if you are camping in a tent and wish to cook outdoors, we found it easier to use the outdoor kitchen provided up in the family camping area to cook our meals. The outdoor pavillion kitchen area is awesome.... complete with picnic tables, grills, prep table and running water and a sink to wash dishes in. Bring your own sponge and dish soap. There is a firepit and chairs too.

Since the adult camping area is so close to the woods, I wouldn't recommend keeping too much food out in the open because of the risk of wild animals. Lock it up in your car at night.

We saw that the meals in the lodge were a bit too expensive ( as it showed online) so we couldn't afford to eat there. No one offered us too anyway. If we had a question, we had to ask. The staff consisted of one person behind a desk inside the lodge and she only spoke if spoken TOO. She offered NO advice to us about the park and the amenities what so ever. We found our own way around and even discovered a second waterfall. That was because another guest told us that. We drove to Helen for lunch and/or cooked ourselves.

I would recommend the bath houses for tent campers BUT ***TIP *** shower shoes must be worn in the showers and restrooms because they are pretty dirty and smell musty and if you are CAMPING in the TENT area and have to use the OUT HOUSES..... they needed a good cleaning too. We were there from Sunday through Tuesday and all the staff did was empty the trash cans :( No one cleaned the rest areas.) So If you HAVE to use them, bring a face mask, or bandana to tie over your mouth and a can of Lysol and toilet seat covers and toilet paper and or wipes. Then again I am a clean freak. And it IS an OUTHOUSE, so yes it is gross. Now I have no idea how clean the cabins are... didn't see inside one.

Other then that, I would rate this park a 5 star place to sit and watch the leaves change color. Quiet. Relaxing. Serene. Peaceful. Over the TOP waterfalls. Simply Beautiful here.
A wonderful spot to sit back & relax with a loved one. We LOVED our 3 days there and will return.

Room Tip: if you are camping in a tent and wish to cook outdoors, we found it easier to use the outdoor kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LennysRedRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
16.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
14.1 km away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#2 of 5 in Hiawassee
268 reviews
14.4 km away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#2 of 2 in Young Harris
653 reviews
16.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
16.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enota Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enota Mountain Retreat

Property: Enota Mountain Retreat
Address: 1000 Highway 180, Hiawassee, GA 30546-5408
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Hiawassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enota is the perfect mountain escape to spend time with your friends and family. Enota is a non-profit conservation facility committed to preserving our beautiful land with a limited number of accommodations including motel hotel rooms, cabins, full hook-up RV sites, pop-up & tent sites and a Retreat Center for conferences, groups, events and seminars. Enota is rated to be in the top 100 camping destinations in the country. Enota Mountain Retreat in Helen Hiawassee Georgia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Enota Mountain Retreat Hotel Hiawassee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing