We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful relaxing retreat, delicious breakfasts, friendly hosts, rocking chairs on the porch.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Henson Cove Place B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Hiawassee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A wonderful relaxing retreat, delicious breakfasts, friendly hosts, rocking chairs on the porch.”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay. We were in Rainey's room which gave us plenty of privacy. Dave and Mariah, the owners were friendly and outgoing. They made us feel welcome. The home was built in the 1940's and is filled with pine paneling and pine furniture. I loved all the wood. Look for the stain glass and hand painted details throughout the house. There is also a cabin available for rent.

Lovely mountain views from the front porch rockers or swing. You may see horses amble by in the pasture across the street. Sit out at night and listen to the crickets and watch the lightening bugs and simply enjoy the peace and quite.

The breakfasts were delicious. Vegetable frittatas, French omelets, peach and blueberry French toast, fresh fruit, fruit butters, orange juice and chocolate velvet coffee. What a great way to start the day.

The Saturday evening wine and appetizers were wonderful: assorted cheeses, fruits, hummus, crackers, summer sausage, homemade cookies and more.

The black and white cats were a joy. Look at faces closely. They have white whiskers on one side and black on the other.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms and a cabin. We liked Rainey's room the best for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaTraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    13
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This was our first experience at a B&B and it felt like going to visit a long lost friend. The food was wonderful. The best was so comfortable the first day we didn't want to leave it. The view was spectacular what a great mountain view! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloJoe1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

My Husband found Dave and mariah's romantic getaway through a living social advertisement and made reservations for my birthday weekend. I am always cautious when anyone other than myself makes hotel or b&b arrangements because I am so particular about researching everything from amenities to the linen count. My husband knows this but I was still a little concerned about what to expect. When we arrived, I was pleasantly surprised that Henson Cove was neatly tucked away in a wooded setting, with an incredible peaceful energy. Mariah was very welcoming and accommodating, and provided loads of information on the hiking and mountain biking trails we planned to explore throughout the weekend. The cove is strategically located so that everything was only a 15 or 20 min drive max. Shortly after we arrived, there was an afternoon wine and cheese social (we only saw one other couple) which was just lovely. We slept in the hideaway room where we experienced incredible night mountain breezes, affording some of the best sleep ever. We woke to the sound of wonderful birds chirping, and fresh morning mountain air causing me to concentrate on every breath to take it all in. The breakfast (both mornings) were meticulously prepared, timed perfectly and absolutely delicious....puffed pancakes ...homemade berry butter and my veggie omelet were just fantastic. I used the hammock near the cottage to meditate in the mornings and knew this was a special we had to return. Thank you so much Dave and Mariah for an unforgettable romantic retreat from our hectic city lives...we are scheduled to return this Fall with family and friends for sure!!!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vette10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

If you like falling asleep to the sounds of chirping crickets and other summer night sounds of nature, this is the place for you. Mariah and Dave, our hosts, have a well-appointed, nicely-decorated "home away from home" and go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant and comfortable one. This was our first visit with them and no doubt not our last. The king-size mattress was especially comfortable and the homemade breakfast the next morning was scrumptious - apple filled french toast, bacon, fresh fruit....

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

Dave and Mariah:

Thank you so much for all of your hospitality. We can't remember the last holiday family gathering that was this enjoyable. You both went WAY out of your way for the food and drink for happy hour. Having the other guests bring their parents and our family with our parents and friends was GREAT! Everyone loved the place and the other guests welcomed us with smiles and laughs (one of the best times we have had in a looong time).

The Mountain View from the porch is the BEST, especially with the special coffee! We loved the cabin as did the girls; it is so cozy – especially with the fireplace and the fire pit fire made the evening. Your breakfasts are the BEST and should be in a cookbook (oh yea they are – we bought one). Everything you both did made this the most memorable getaway for us. Thanksgiving dinner at the Old Hiawassee Grille was the BEST (as you said it would be). This will be our family Thanksgiving getaway from now on. What a peaceful place just to get away (3 days was not enough), but we will be back next year for sure. The little touches, how clean the whole place is you both make it so wonderful! We loved watching Dave (in his Pillsbury dough boy apron) and you cook on that 1929 stove was priceless. Keep it up, you two were meant do this. We cannot thank you two enough! See you real soon and have a happy holiday

The Yammarino Family
(Photos Comming Soon)

  • Liked — Location - close to our family and other sites we wanted to see
  • Disliked — Not a thing, it was perfect
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dyammarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2008

If you like Bed and Breakfasts, Henson Cove is a must! Everything was just perfect down to the complimentary champagne in our room for our anniversary complete with flowers and double-dipped strawberries .
The pasture mountain view from the front porch and from our room is spectacular! The house is a VERY quaint farm house that is beautifully furnished throughout with wood everywhere.
Mariah keeps the rooms and common areas immaculate.
Hosts Mariah and Dave will definitely pamper you (especially with the Saturday Happy Hour). They will recommend and even make dinner reservations for you. The breakfast served each morning was the best, from summer eggs with sausage to peach french toast, hickory smoked bacon, homemade strawberry bread, fresh fruit, homemade butters, coffee and orange juice. Everything was 5-star quality!
If you are looking to relax for a weekend, this is the place.

The Seashell Girl

  • Liked — The Hosts and Location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TxSeashellGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 April 2006

Well after a much needed vacation we decided to head up to the north Georgia Mountains and try and find a hunble but nice B&B. After reading Dr. Freeman’s write up about Henson Cove Place and some research on the net, we decided to go with Henson Cove Place. We stayed in the Cove Cabin which is FULLY self sufficient and is laid out nicely. Although the Cove Cabin can sleep up to 3 couples it is also the perfect size for just 2 people as well. Nestled on the 1.6 acres back in the woods and away from the B&B, it made it us feel like we were in the woods far from the fast life. The hammock felt like heaven with leaves falling all over us and was like heaven raining down on us. After two days it wa hard to pack up and leave, but tust me we WILL be back and soon. To sum it up it was piece and quite and VERY relaxing witht he landscaping adding to the ambience. Trails and antiques abound all around the Henson Cove Place and nothing was more than 30 minutes away. We highly recommend this B&B and Cabin to anyone who is looking to get away from the fast life if just for a day or even a week.

Lorraine Hearn

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
8.2 km away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#3 of 6 in Hiawassee
250 reviews
12.5 km away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#1 of 6 in Hiawassee
637 reviews
6.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Young Harris
835 reviews
12.7 km away
Chatuge Mountain Inn
Chatuge Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Hayesville
22 reviews
23.9 km away
Paradise Hills Resort & Spa
Paradise Hills Resort & Spa
#2 of 18 in Blairsville
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henson Cove Place B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henson Cove Place B&B

Property: Henson Cove Place B&B
Address: 1137 Car Miles Rd., Hiawassee, GA 30546
Region: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hiawassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Henson Cove Place B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B is a circa 1940s mountain farmhouse style home. The inn is reminiscent of more laid back days, featuring stunning pasture and mountain views, porch swings and rockers. All 4 guest rooms have private baths. One bedrooms are suites. The Cove Cabin comfortably sleeps up to 6 and has 3 bedrooms, 1 & 1/2 baths and is child and small pet friendly. Located just 1/2 mile off US 76 and five minutes from downtown Hiawassee, GA, Henson Cove Place is a retreat set in a private and quiet "holler". Hiawassee is a North Georgia Mountain community that still has that small town feel. Located just minutes from Helen and Clayton, GA, NC, SC, TN and just 15 minutes from Georgia's highest point - Brasstown Bald (4,784 feet). Nature abounds! Convenient to many great attractions with a variety of things to do... or nothing at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Henson Cove Place B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing