We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistenly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Woodbridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodbridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Jasper B&B and Inns
Georgia
1 review
“Consistenly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

We have enjoyd the Woodbridge consistenly over the last twenty-five years. For a while we lived an hour away and spent summer holidays at the motel. Later we lived in the Jasper area and dined in the restaurant once per month. For the past year we have moved again but have returned multiple times and stayed in the Inn.

The restaurant is one of our all time favorites. Joe and Brenda Reuffert are great hosts. Joe makes the rounds every night and ensures he talks with all of the guests. His staff is very friendly, attentive, and well trained. Look for the three monthly specials on the menu which are always awesome and reasonably priced.

As for the motel, the lower floor has easy access to the pool. Depending on the day of week and time of day, the pool can be very private due to the few number of rooms in the motel. The landscaping is also very nice. Look for Joe's Koi pond.

The top floor rooms have a spiral stairwell to a loft which can be an adventure for children. All rooms have sufficient seating for two or more persons.

The Inn is very historic. The rooms are outfitted to today's standards and are convenient for one or two persons that are on the go.

The Woodbridge is not a resort but offers a great dining experience in comfortable rooms and nice landscaping.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank btbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    13
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
11
20
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
sc
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Woodbridge Inn. We had no complaints. But was not as blown away by the place as other reviewers. Clean,quite,safe,pretty yards.
For travlers who stay at the Woodbridge,please note that they have 3 levels of rooms. One is on the parking lot level. Walk right in your door.The others is 1 flight of stairs down about 8-10 steps, on the steep side as well as the set going up to the top level. I would advise anyone with leg issue to may sure you request a parking lot level room.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motorycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights (Thu-Sun) to attend a nearby wedding. The wedding group had most of the rooms.

The inn has a great location in Jasper, all of "downtown" (such as it is) was walkable, several restaurants and shops were within 4 blocks - I think we ate at most all of the ones in town. A short car ride away are all the chain and fast food places you might expect but we were happy to check out the little places in town.

The inn consists of 2 buildings, the older one with the restaurant in it and some rooms upstairs - I didn't see those - and the newer building which has 12 rooms, 4 on 3 levels. The lower level rooms and the middle level have the same layout - your basic 2 beds/desk and ensuite bath - but the middle is the street/parking lot level in front and have balconies in back, the lower are ground level on the back with patios. We had room #1 on the lowest level the first night. It was very clean, there were two bottles of water for us and some granola bars. Enough towels for the three of us without asking for extra, a nice curved shower curtain in the bathroom that made the tub-shower seem larger, large comfy rocking chairs on the patio facing a grassy area and pond.

The room IS like a hotel or motel, not really "lodge-ey", it's true, but art is hanging on the walls and everything is well cared for, not drab, well-maintained. The beds were comfortable enough (on the firm side), pillows fresh and fluffy.

The next day we moved to a loft room, one of the 4 rooms on the top level. This room has a lot more charm, due to the light and layout. There is one double (or queen?) bed on the lower level, a couple of dressers, closet, bath and spiral stairs up to the upper level. That level has a second TV, a fold out loveseat (so a twin bed), a coffee table, plant and very large windows that offer a view over the treeline to the mountains.

The cleaning staff was excellent, checked if we had enough water and towels and were very flexible about when they cleaned.

My kids used the swimming pool - it too was very clean and there were lots of chaises and tables around it for sitting, the area became our gathering place as we had 15 or so people staying - too many to gather in anyone's room.

We met the owners and chatted with them several times as we ran into them cleaning the pool or tending to the restaurant or just working around the property. Friendly interesting older (German?) couple who seem to stay quite busy.

We only ate at the restaurant once, for the wedding rehearsal dinner, and that was a prearranged limited menu sort of thing. However, it was very good, at least the chicken cordon bleu I had and the strudel dessert. The restaurant is not open for breakfast and only occasionally for lunch and isn't cheap by Jasper standards. But as I said, there are plenty of options in town (except on Sunday - that day you'll need a car to go to the chain restaurants, the town is totally closed).

One night the restaurant stayed open late for us to have some wine on their porch - we showed up as they were probably trying to close (no one else was there) but they welcomed us and did not rush us at all.

I found it overall quite charming and definitely friendly. I imagine the rooms in the older part of the inn are more "authentic inn" feeling, but we were happy, especially with the loft.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, friendly owners and staff
  • Disliked — This is nto a resort, it's a hotel with a pool
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ohliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton (Atlanta), GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2007

Had heard good things about this place (especially the restaurant) over the years and was really looking forward to it. While it was OK, I was a bit disappointed. Guess I had my expectations set too high. I expected more of a mountain lodge atmosphere, but the rooms were just typical motel rooms. Same with the restaurant - OK but nothing special. Escargot w/mushrooms was NOT good - bland and rubbery.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank CJfromGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Tx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2005

Brenda and Joe Rueffert bought the Civil War-era Woodbridge Inn in 1976. For a great getaway weekend, this is the place!

The original Inn has six rooms, and the new separate lodge has 12 nicely appointed modern, clean rooms with great views of the North Georgia mountains. Beautiful grounds and a nice pool are a bonus. The four third-floor rooms have a spiral staircase up to a sitting room/loft featuring a panoramic view of the mountains.

The resturant is outstanding and reasonably priced. Selections range from Weiner Schnitzel to Venison to Oysters Rockefeller to a "To die for" French Onion Soup Gratinee.

German-born Joe and his Southern-born wife Brenda are lovely hosts--down to earth and friendly.

The Dinner and Bed package is a steal. Accomodations for the night and a three-course gourmet meal for two---$125. Lunches are also a bargain.

They don't serve breakfast, but the Carriage House just down the street is super!

Don't pass up the chance to visit the Woodbridge Inn if you are in the neighborhood!

Jasper, a quaint little North Georgia town, is just a little over an hour's drive north of Atlanta.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jasper
3.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Jasper
14.0 km away
Seventy-four Ranch
Seventy-four Ranch
#2 of 4 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
22.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Mountain View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 km away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
20.2 km away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
25.7 km away
Days Inn Canton
Days Inn Canton
#2 of 7 in Canton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodbridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbridge Inn

Property: Woodbridge Inn
Address: 44 Chambers St, Jasper, GA 30143-1285
Region: United States > Georgia > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodbridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Woodbridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbridge Inn Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing