We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (665)
Filter reviews
665 results
Traveller rating
284
193
75
58
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
284
193
75
58
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom villa driftwood beach driftwood bistro high tide full kitchen three bedroom on site restaurant beach access island side ocean front bit dated historic district nice pool off season units jekyll accommodations
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 665 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2018

We stayed here in April of 2017 in what was unfortunately a very rundown unit. Apparently every unit is different because they are more along the lines of individual rental properties rather than a hotel. Thus, every unit is different. Despite our April experience, we decided to give it another try this past December because the location and space cannot be beat. We stayed in the same type of unit as we did in April, a 3 bedroom, ocean view unit, but this time things were much better. The unit was beautifully decorated, clean, well appointed, comfortable, and housekeeping was very friendly. The onsite restaurant, Driftwood Bistro, was fabulous as always with excellent food and friendly staff. So my recommendation is this: if you want extra space and location, go ahead and book a stay here. Just be aware that every unit is different, and therefore a bit unpredictable.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michelle a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Hello and thank you for giving us another opportunity to provide you with a different experience. We are continually working with all of owners to improve consistency in some of our acoommodations. However, we are more than willing to relocate you to a more comfortable villa if you prefer.
We are pleasd that the Driftwood Bistro is the #1 rated restaurant on Jekyll Island and is enjoyed by many visitors and thank you for those comments.
We appreciate hearing from all of our guests and look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to our area!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2018 via mobile

Wow! I stumbled on a gem with a 4 day Groupon. Only had 2 warm days but Property is very intriguing! Our ocean front 1 bedroom villa was clean & very nice. We were about 60’ from the Atlantic! Unfortunately, hurricane Irma did some dastardly destruction to the beaches & access areas.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rita43077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Hello and thank you for taking time to share your comments from your recent visit. While Hurricane Irma did leave a calling card, we are anxiously awaiting the start of the beach repair being provided by the State of Georgia thru the Jekyll Island Authority. Once that project is completed (which should start in a few months), we will begin rebuilding our walkways that were damaged.

In the meantime, there is still penty of beach to see, so we hope that you will again visit us at Villas by the Sea!

Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2018

We stayed in a one bedroom villa. It was quiet and comfortable. Never heard any unwanted noise. It is an older place but was clean and decorated in a costal theme.
We had originally made a reservation for a three bedroom. People in our party had to cancel due to health problems. The management team had no problem letting us change to a one bedroom villa, and refunded the deposit. Will defiantly stay here on our next trip to Jekyll Island.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Good morning,
Thank you for sharing your comments from your recent visit and I am glad we were able to accommodate the changes to your lodging plans.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Jekyll Island!

Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2018

Our room was so cozy, clean and homey! We only planned to stay two nights, and if we hadn't already made airline reservations, we would have stayed longer. So so peaceful!! We didn't know what to expect when arriving, but loved it and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to get away for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Still_Crazy_Indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Hello and thank you for your wonderful comments! We arent going anywhere, so we hope to see you again when your travel plans call for a return visit to Jekyll Island!

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2018

Our villa had a separate living room, dining room, bedroom, bathroom and fully equipped kitchen with full size refrigerator and stove. We had plenty of space to spread out after a day of sight-seeing. Most rooms are not ocean view because of the beautiful old trees but we felt like we were in a forest and were only steps from the water. The wi-fi was great. I connected immediately and did not lose a connection for the five days we were there. The only 'con' was that the shower was small. My husband and I are average size and wished it was a little larger. Also, the shower head was not adjustable. This would not keep us from staying here again. The property and villas were beautiful and appeared to be well-managed. We even saw a man cleaning the pool and it was way too cold for us to be swimming even though the pool is heated.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the water, you may want to inquire about the upper floors. There are no elevators that we saw.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Phyllis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your expereince with others. Earlier in 2017, we completed a new fiber optic WIFI installation with state of the art equipment and can boast that we have some of the fastest download speeds on the island. We are unique that we are located among 17 acres of woods that add to the areas natural beauty.
We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Jekyll Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews