We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you love history you'll love Jekyll Island Club Hotel & surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you love history you'll love Jekyll Island Club Hotel & surroundings”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I've been to Jekyll Island many times but this was my first stay at the Jekyll Island Club Hotel because it's a bit expensive. The hotel itself was nice and full of history and the staff were very friendly! Having been here before we had already checked out the surrounding buildings and little shops. Make sure to stop by and check out the GA Sea Turtle Center and the history museum/gift shop. We've stayed at Days Inn on Jekyll (it's a little old but ideal beachfront location) and have been in the newly built Hampton Inn (nice but lacking the beach view) but where else are you going to get to stay that you can play croquet. So now we can cay that we've been there and done that but we won't be staying here on our next vacation to Jekyll only because it is pricey.

Room Tip: if you have money to splurge...the only way to get in the tower is in the presidential suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jekyll717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    264
    89
    57
    31
See reviews for
236
575
27
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed in the San Souci building and had a fantastic time. The hotel and surrounding area are beautifully restored. The hotel staff were some of the friendliest I have ever met. Best of all, we arrived during their off season, in late December, and there were very few other guests. We had a great time relaxing, eating, as well as hiking, and biking around the island.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usfbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

When deciding on our honeymoon, my new wife wanted to travel the Elvis pilgrimage and in her words "have 3 days of relaxation and luxury" at the end of a long 2 weeks driving. As you will know by the geography, there are closer places but Jekyll Island kept coming up as the perfect retreat at that time of the year [September] and we were not disappointed!

We were allocated a beautiful suite at the Hotel, in a stand alone building not on the "Historic Tour", close to the pool and amenities but away from the main building. The suite was immaculate, well decorated and well presented. The grounds are superbly kept and pleasant to walk around in the evenings as well as offering lots of shade in the day time heat.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and the pool area is relaxing apart from the occasional tour group going past on a road train. My wife is a Coeliac [Gluten intolerance - she has quite a severe reaction] and all the staff seemed knowledgeable of allergies and more than helpful in ensuring meals/snacks were suitable.

We really have no complaints about our stay at all, the food was excellent [we prepaid the all inclusive 3 meal tickets] the staff couldn't do enough to help and the setting was the perfect end to our honeymoon. The island itself reminds me of Amity in the Jaws films which suited me personally!

Make the effort and get up early to go on Turtle watch, the sunrise is beautiful and the beaches are exceptionally clean and welcoming.

Room Tip: Try for a suite in the separate building if you want peace and quiet. I can't remember it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyOConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This review is a bit overdue, although nonetheless true and still full of complete sincerity. My wife and I were married at Jekyll Island Club on the lawn, under the large live oak. Everything about Jekyll Island Club was perfect for us. We are simple people, but we also have high standards when paying for a top quality item - this proves especially true with sleeping accomodations, and even more tantamount when writing this review as it involves my wedding day! So, back to this little word, "perfection" that I threw out a couple sentences ago. Seriously, for us, for our wedding, for our wedding guests - Jekyll Island Club was the perfect place.

My wife and I stayed in one of the suites with a two rooms and a balcony that overlooked the pool area and dockside restaraunt. The room was clean, well-appointed, and quite stately. We are talking about a historic hotel, so the decor is appointed as such (and with good taste). We had no issues with anything in our room (air/heat; water pressure; shower area; bathroom; beds; balcony; furniture; television; internet; etc).

Our wedding met and exceeded our expectations in all regards. This is where Jekyll Island Club really flexes their proverbial muscle. We did not have to worry about a thing! We travelled down to Jekyll Island several months before our wedding and got everything in contract. My wife stayed in contact with the staff at Jekyll Island Club, the vendors for our add-on services (musicians, photog, DJ, florist, pastor) through the club, and everything - all of it, was just absolutely top-notch. Jekyll Island Club really knows how to take the stress out of wedding planning. They catered to our rehearsal dinner; they were there hand-and-foot throughout our wedding > reception, and were readily available to assist with any help, questions, concerns (there were none), and issues throughout the stay.

I recommend Jekyll Island Club for anybody reading this and considering this facility as the place for your location wedding. Do it! You will not regret a second of that decision. I would choose this place again and again, and my wife and I are looking forward to returning many times as the island, the hotel, and the surrounding locations are just special places.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, ask for a balcony suite that overlooks the pool... beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itravel4music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville tn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

The hotel is beautifully decorated and enjoyed learning the history of the original members. We loved our room and looking out our window. Dressing up at night was a pleasure to go in the lobby and walk around outside also. Just an amazing place to relax and the service was great!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank table82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

If you are someone as intrigued by history as me, you couldn't pick a better place than the Jekyll Island Club. The hotel's walls exude the history of the millionaire members who formed the very private club for their three month winter stays in the late 1800s. Elegantly renovated in 1986, staying at the Club in the Sans Souci made for a special Thanksgiving memory. I appreciate the courtesies provided by everyone on staff that I encountered and am looking forward to another stay in January 2012 when, to celebrate their 125th anniversary, they are offerering a very special rate of just $125/night for ANY room in the hotel. The reason for the Very Good (not Excellent) review is that our Thanksgiving dinner at Crane Cottage was served tepid, not warm let alone hot - even the bread was frozen when it arrived at the table.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Sans Souci building all have porches with rockers, perfect for relaxing with a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyinAmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We have stayed at the Jekyll Island Club Hotel numerous times....usually for our wedding anniversary in March. We have stayed in rooms on 3 floors of San Souci, we have stayed in the annex and in various rooms of the main club building including the Presidential Suite. All have been wonderful experiences. The staff have always been helpful and friendly. Some are like family whom we enjoy visiting with each time we return. In March 2011 we were able to stay in the bridal suite of Cherokee Cottage mid week for our 25th Anniversary. The whole building is often rented for wedding parties, especially on weekends, and thus unavailable.This time we were lucky and had almost the entire building to ourselves. We spent 2 weeks on this trip and stayed 4 places for 3 nights each...and I must say this was our favorite 3 nights and the cheapest! Loved that suite!
We always enjoy Sunday Brunch at the Grand Diningroom if we are there on Sun. One year we were there for Easter Brunch at Crane Cottage....it was fabulous!
One year we were there for the Shrimp and Grits Festival....It was great fun.
We have also stayed at the Hampton Inn, Villas By the Sea, and private rental houses, as Jekyll Island itself is our favorite place on earth. Love the history. Love the solitude. Love the beach. We have seen alot of changes there since we first visited some 20 years ago, most have been for the good. We just hope it doesn't become too commerical with the changes currently going on there. We don't like Hilton Head and places of that ilk. We have made lots of wonderful memories on Jekyll Island and hope to return many more times.

Room Tip: Favorites are the Presidential Suite, Matt Damon room and Robert Redford room....any room with a por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.7 km away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
641 reviews
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
577 reviews
2.1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
15.2 km away
The Cloister at Sea Island
The Cloister at Sea Island
#1 of 1 in Sea Island
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jekyll Island Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Resort

Property: Jekyll Island Club Resort
Address: 371 N Riverview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0874
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Jekyll Island Georgia accommodations set the stage for your landmark experience. The resort presents 157 rooms and suites in five historic settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing