We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jekyll island club is a treasure of history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Bluffton SC
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Jekyll island club is a treasure of history”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

On a return trip from Florida we took a detour onto Jekyll Island. We booked an overnight at the Club and were so sorry we aren't 't staying longer. Tried to book add'l nites but sold out. This historic property goes back to 1896. It was the vacation spot of the rich and famous during the turn of the century. It was basically a private club and members built these mini mansions for their families ... It all but shut down when world war 2 broke out. It remained unoccupied for 40 yrs and renovation began in the mid 80s. The property has many of the mansions renovated with others undergoing renovation. We stayed at the San Souci house which is right next to main building. We ate at the main dining room for lunch and food was reasonably priced and delicious. This is well worth the trip, but stay for several days. Biking is a great way to see the property and island.

Room Tip: There is a $5 fee to enter the island
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    278
    92
    59
    31
See reviews for
253
594
29
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
virginia usa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed here the weekend after Thanksgiving. What a delight. The drive up to the hotel is impressive with the river to the left and grand "cottages" to the right. Our rooms were in Sans Souci, an adjacent building with fabulous accommodations. Our room connected with our daughter and husband's. It was very large with a fireplace, sitting area in the bay window and french doors to the wooden porch overlooking the "green". The bath is large and modern, but still maintains the old charm. Sans Souci was built in the early 1900s and retains the character of long ago.

We walked the grounds which have cute little shops. We had drinks on one of the many porches at the Hotel. The south beach was nice, but not on the ocean. The north beach was better.

We ate dinner in the Main Dining Room and our server was outstanding. The food was excellent. There is also a take out breakfast/lunch deli and a casual dining restaurant.

If you stay here I recommend the horseback ride. Our ride took us through marsh areas and onto the beach.

Charming, comfortable, and friendly.

Room Tip: I recommend Sans Souci
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wineNsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeville, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary with a weekend stay. We loved everything about it! We stayed in the Crane cottage and were sent champagne by the manager. Our room in the Crane cottage was very romantic and the food in the dining room was extraordinary. The whole visit was like a trip back in time. Touring the other homes and the chapel was our favorite. Although, the bike ride on the beach and the visit to the turtle sanctuary and hospital was also very memorable. We will definitely go again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife and I have gone to Jekyll Island every year for the past 10 years. We first started going as a romantic getaway. The driftwood beach is one of the most naturally beautiful sites on the island. After having children, we continued going to the club hotel and finding new wonderful things to enjoy. The Turtle Center is walking distance from the hotel and has rescued loggerhead turtles that are be nursed back to health. Last year we went on the Fourth of July and got the "Beach Package". The beach was very nice and the service was impeccable. There was a Low Country Boil and Barbecue on the beach with live music while we watched fireworks displays on three different islands from the comfort of our beach chairs. Also, some of the best key lime pie we've ever had. I highly recommend the Jekyll Island Club Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphy, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I've been to Jekyll Island many times but this was my first stay at the Jekyll Island Club Hotel because it's a bit expensive. The hotel itself was nice and full of history and the staff were very friendly! Having been here before we had already checked out the surrounding buildings and little shops. Make sure to stop by and check out the GA Sea Turtle Center and the history museum/gift shop. We've stayed at Days Inn on Jekyll (it's a little old but ideal beachfront location) and have been in the newly built Hampton Inn (nice but lacking the beach view) but where else are you going to get to stay that you can play croquet. So now we can cay that we've been there and done that but we won't be staying here on our next vacation to Jekyll only because it is pricey.

Room Tip: if you have money to splurge...the only way to get in the tower is in the presidential suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jekyll717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed in the San Souci building and had a fantastic time. The hotel and surrounding area are beautifully restored. The hotel staff were some of the friendliest I have ever met. Best of all, we arrived during their off season, in late December, and there were very few other guests. We had a great time relaxing, eating, as well as hiking, and biking around the island.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usfbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

When deciding on our honeymoon, my new wife wanted to travel the Elvis pilgrimage and in her words "have 3 days of relaxation and luxury" at the end of a long 2 weeks driving. As you will know by the geography, there are closer places but Jekyll Island kept coming up as the perfect retreat at that time of the year [September] and we were not disappointed!

We were allocated a beautiful suite at the Hotel, in a stand alone building not on the "Historic Tour", close to the pool and amenities but away from the main building. The suite was immaculate, well decorated and well presented. The grounds are superbly kept and pleasant to walk around in the evenings as well as offering lots of shade in the day time heat.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and the pool area is relaxing apart from the occasional tour group going past on a road train. My wife is a Coeliac [Gluten intolerance - she has quite a severe reaction] and all the staff seemed knowledgeable of allergies and more than helpful in ensuring meals/snacks were suitable.

We really have no complaints about our stay at all, the food was excellent [we prepaid the all inclusive 3 meal tickets] the staff couldn't do enough to help and the setting was the perfect end to our honeymoon. The island itself reminds me of Amity in the Jaws films which suited me personally!

Make the effort and get up early to go on Turtle watch, the sunrise is beautiful and the beaches are exceptionally clean and welcoming.

Room Tip: Try for a suite in the separate building if you want peace and quiet. I can't remember it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyOConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.7 km away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 9 in Jekyll Island
717 reviews
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
9.3 km away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
588 reviews
1.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 9 in Jekyll Island
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jekyll Island Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Resort

Property: Jekyll Island Club Resort
Address: 371 N Riverview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0874
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Jekyll Island Georgia accommodations set the stage for your landmark experience. The resort presents 157 rooms and suites in five historic settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing