We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful place to visit”
Review of Callaway Gardens

Callaway Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$24.95*
and up
Callaway Gardens Daily Admission
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A 2,500 acre, year-round horticultural display garden that offers the Virginia Hand Callaway Discovery Center, Birds of Prey Show, Cecil B. Day Butterfly Center, Walking Trails, Ida Cason Callaway Memorial Chapel and Pioneer Log Cabin as well as golf, tennis, fishing, fly fishing and biking. Those looking for some adrenaline will love TreeTop Adventure's zip lines and aerial obstacles. Seasonal events and educational workshops are offered throughout the year. Four lodging types, eight restaurants and a lounge are available.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Callaway Gardens is a great place with wooded walking trails, beautiful blooming flowers and shrubs, lakes and wildlife. Callaway has a lodge for longer stays or you can just spend the day. Personnel there do a Birds of Prey show that is fantastic. There is a beach at one end of a lake for the summer... there is plenty to do for everyone.

Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Dear Dennis W,

Thank you for such a detailed review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the Birds of Prey show. We agree, the Birds of Prey team does a fantastic job. We hope to see you again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"butterfly house"
in 200 reviews
"birds of prey"
in 214 reviews
"fantasy in lights"
in 200 reviews
"butterfly center"
in 125 reviews
"vegetable garden"
in 53 reviews
"tree top adventure"
in 40 reviews
"trolley ride"
in 21 reviews
"festival of lights"
in 33 reviews
"light show"
in 60 reviews
"bird show"
in 38 reviews
"christmas village"
in 36 reviews
"azalea bowl"
in 35 reviews
"robin lake"
in 30 reviews
"rented bikes"
in 17 reviews
"full bloom"
in 32 reviews
"christmas spirit"
in 16 reviews
"beautiful butterflies"
in 15 reviews
Filter

68 - 72 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

We particularly enjoyed seeing all the native azaleas in bloom during this visit. We loved the deluxe cottage that we rented - it was the perfect setup for three couples. We brought our own bikes and enjoyed the bike trails, as well as walking on the foot trails.
All of us had some difficulty navigating with the map - perhaps better signage in the park would help.

1  Thank RoamingNaturalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Dear RoamingNaturalist,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We will be sure to share your comments regarding the maps with our team so they can take another look at those. Otherwise, it sounds like you definitely enjoyed your visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

I have to say that Callaway Gardens truly surprised me and my friends and family how well the trails were manicured and the bike riding trails were outstanding. There was so much to see and do at the Gardens. Enjoy. Just beautiful.

Thank twomenwithtrumpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Be better prepared for spending more time at the gardens than you originally planned. I wish I did some research so I had bikes for my family as the experience would have been a bit more enjoyable because the trails looked amazing! We did travel throughout the park in our vehicle with 4 other families, so we were able to get all of the major attractions in (azaleas blooming, church, log cabin, welcome center and of course the butterfly garden). The price for touring the gardens was a bit pricy for a family of 4 (over $80), some members of our group were able to take advantage of military discounts (thank you)...but still a bit pricy. If I were to go again, azalea time is still a must!, but I would bring bikes and ride the trails and bridges that go through out the property...and possibly have some lunch at the restaurant on the lake.

Thank Pabooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Dear Pabooboo,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear you and your friends enjoyed the day with us. We do offer bike rentals if you don't bring yours next time. We look forward to visiting with you again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful day looking at the beautiful azaleas and butterflies. Lots of sunshine so we rode with the top down and had a blast.

Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

Sounds like so much fun and what a great way to experience the gardens!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Callaway Gardens also viewed

 
Pine Mountain, GA
 

Been to Callaway Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing