We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I hoped, and more than I expected!”
Review of The York House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The York House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Rabun Gap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Having never been to Georgia, I had no idea what to expect when visiting Rabun Gab for an old friend's sylvan wedding at a nearby nature preserve. However, Janet and Andrew were true ambassadors, welcoming me warmly the evening I arrived, offering me hot cider as I checked in. They took time to orient me to the features of the room, which was beautiful, clean, and extremely cozy. The next morning, as I left, Janet was lovely, giving me directions, and showing genuine concern that I know how to properly get to my destination. Also, breakfast was great, very filling and unique! (Baked pears? Wow! Delicious!) If I ever find myself in Rabun Gap again, to see friends or hike the gorgeous surrounding nature preserves, or if I ever find myself needing a respite at a home away from home, the York House Inn will be the place.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if certain rooms were better than others; I was on the second floor, in room 10; it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

Janet and Andrew,

We have stayed in over four B & B's in North Carolina in the past several years, none of which yielded the warmth, sincerity, over and above hospitality and extremely wonderful Breakfast and Supper that we had while staying with you. We have not experienced, at any of the NC B& B's, the warmth and genuine caring that you and Andrew showed us. It was a delightful stay!! We will be staying with you again in the near future and we will be telling others of the wonderfully unique experience that you offer. Your personal touch makes all the difference!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks again for everything!

Randy and Sandra

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We spent three days at the York House Inn, we had a wedding to attend in South Carolina, along with some work in Anderson SC.
This was a fantastic getaway for us, we have stayed in several B&B's over the years and this was by far our best experience ever!
Janet and Andrew hosted us, we were treated to fantastic home cooking, great wrap around porches for coffee in the morning and wine in the evenings. We learned of local history, did day trips to the Smoky Mountains, enjoyed great meals in Franklin and local antiquing.
A nice secluded location on the side of a large wooded hill, with an outdoor fire pit.
The room was fantastic, with a kitchen available to guests to make meals and snacks, a front sitting room with fireplace and tv, a downstairs den.
Outside, beautiful flowers and plants, and a record tree for the state of Georgia. And these guys can cook! Great, great breakfasts and wonderful people. We plan on coming back next year and in years to come!
Steve and Donna Smedley, Atlanta, Illinois
This was a great time,

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtlantaYeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Andrew and Janet are the best! We were treated like royalty - outstanding accomodations and breakfast. We plan to make a visit to this B&B every year.

Room Tip: We loved the fireplace room. The gas fireplace was a romantic addition!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveler30064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Wonderful Inn! Beautiful area! Gracious Hosts! Great Get a Way!

Room Tip: All rooms offer their own uniqueness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surferfich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Meeting friends for a day out and decided to stay over at the Inn. Host are two of the nicest people. Dog friendly for sure. Beautiful area near several tourist sites. New Inn keepers are making some changes and updates. Heating was a bit "iffy" due to temperamental gas heater. Will go back for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Our stay was very relaxing. I loved to sit in the rocking chairs on the porches and the swing attached to the large tree in the front yard. It was a nice escape from the heat in Atlanta. We had a cool morning walk by the horses and cows down the road. Breakfast on the back deck was very good (fresh peaches, blueberries, granola, yogurt, strawberry pancakes, bacon). Janet and her husband were very good hosts. The inn is very old and our room furnishings were very old. The room was clean and the bathroom was a good size and everything worked!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peaches069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rabun Gap
5.4 km away
Mountain Aire Cottages & Inn
4.4 km away
Rabun Manor
Rabun Manor
#1 of 2 in Dillard
62 reviews
3.6 km away
Historic Sylvan Falls Mill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York House Inn

Address: 416 Yorkhouse Rd, Rabun Gap, GA 30568-2418
Region: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Rabun Gap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rabun Gap
Price Range: C$160 - C$203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The York House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgia's oldest Bed and Breakfast Inn since 1896 is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Located in the North East Georgia Mountains we have a long history as a large ideal country home. The Inn has long been known for mountain spring water, and large verandas with views of the Little Tennessee River Valley. Beautifully decorated and romantic rooms and one suite offer a variety of plush bedding arrangements, all have private baths and luxury amenities and some have fireplaces and private porches. You will find that we have all the amenities that you would expect, including EV charging stations and an honor bar. Weddings, Anniversaries, Birthdays, Meetings or any special occasion are welcome. Special Packages are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The York House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing