We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of The York House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The York House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Rabun Gap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 September 2017

We stayed here for a weekend at the last minute. Always looking for a B&B and the York House did not disappoint. No TVs in the rooms but a very nice room downstairs with a big TV for all the guests to mingle. Our room was nice and clean. The breakfasts were organic, Eggs Benedict one morning and scrambled eggs with cheese grits the other. Lots of history here with very nice grounds. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhorsellc, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review!
We hope to see you again in the future

stan
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

I called to try and make a reservation for a mid week in October. When asked how many in our party I said 3 and asked if they had a roll away bed for a child. I was asked how old my child was. I said 8. I was very promptly told that we would not be allowed to stay there because children were not welcome if they were under 12. When asked why the man began to tell me that people were trying to enjoy their lives and children would be a nuisance and distraction. On their website it touts that the place has seen many births...so I guess kids are just a bad thing now. And I looked at your website and couldn't find this statement about kids. That is very discriminatory against families. If a family had a special needs child that was 20 but was on a 6 year old mentality level, would you turn them away too? Bad form. Bad form indeed. If I could give you a zero, I would. A shame too, because it looks lovely.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhorsellc, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

I will start out by thanking you for your review.

It appears that we did just the right thing when you called. Our policy section states that we gladly accept well governed children 12 and up. This of course is a logical and common policy within Inns, many hotels and resorts. We appreciate travelers who accept this policy as considerate parents.

When told of this policy, not only promptly but courteously I might add, you pressed on into our discriminatory policy tirade. Inns and many other lodging places have this policy as I pointed out as our other twenty or so guests might just be escaping (nuisance and distraction your words, not mine). We do not have rollaway, high chairs, room tv etc., but we do in-fact have an active family scene at the Inn. We host many groups of chaperoned younger student travelers as well as family reunions. Children are an integral part of our hospitality for these whole Inn rentals. There are reasons our twelve room Inn only has one smaller room with two full beds, and our rooms are all stated to accommodate two.

You obviously spent the time to look at our history. So sorry you missed the policy section. This section was located in the same section, but it is pretty darn small…no children younger than 12 …no smoking in the Inn..we are not pet friendly. Other than that, knock yourself out!. As many once isolated regions, our Inn was a central gathering location for births, deaths and probably a family funeral or two. Of course, much of that was not by choice. Today a great many Inns and Hotels/Resorts choose not to serve children. It may not be your wish, but to rudely berate the Innkeeper who was furthermore attempting to assist you with child-friendly lodging in the area is unacceptable and not what I would describe as a considerate parent.

Alas, your desperate and absurd straw man argument that by extension those with disabilities would not be welcome is of course ridiculous and the point where your notion of bad form by our Inn, again revolves back to your bad form.

Thank you for making our children policy, now abundantly clear from our standpoint. We trust that you could find suitable child friendly lodging for your travels. Perhaps in time you too will need a adult only getaway..I understand Club Med is nice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

While we only spent one night at the York House on our way to Tennessee, we found it an excellent place to stay. The breakfast was excellent. The room was pretty with antique furniture and a nice sitting nook. The bed was very comfortable. As the oldest Inn still in operation in Georgia, it is filled with antiques and has a lot of interesting history. Also it is located in the heart of many of N. Georgia's best attractions. Great food, great location and wonderful history all in one charming place.

Room Tip: Each room is different but their website allows you to see photos of each and gives details about ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lewis321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhorsellc, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for your review!
Stan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Exponential plus for charm, hospitality, location. The Pentons provide a world-class B&B experience which continues to exceed our expectations. The visitors are an eclectic group who enjoy the company of other birds of a feather, with Stan and Christine the laid-back leaders of the flock. Stan is a world-class chef whose breakfasts alone are worth the trip -- balanced, tasty and tasteful, simple but well-presented and a perfect start to any day's plans. Six out of five .

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank drnick31522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhorsellc, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you Nick for your kind review!

We are glad you had a great stay at your new home away from home. We know it must have been stressful evacuating from your home during our recent hurricane emergencies and hope that your return to your home is a pleasant one.

We look forward to seeing you both back at York House Inn, soon, but under more
vacation like circumstances.

Regards
Stan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

What a pleasant surprise this place was. Rooms were extremely clean. Owners were very friendly. We had a large group staying and had to leave early for our whitewater trip. They were very accommodating to our needs. They served us breakfast earlier than they normally do. breakfast was cooked fresh when you sat down. I would recommend this place highly. do not miss out on the fire pit outback or the downstairs bar.

Room Tip: the suite upstairs was very large with 2 full bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank donnalward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhorsellc, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for your kind comments!

We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards
Stan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Spent two nights here earlier this month. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is quite nice with an assortment of yogurt, fruit, and a hot cooked item. The location is convenient for many attractions in the area such as Tallulah Falls State Park. The inn itself is in a very rural setting with nothing within a few miles. The rooms reflect their age: bathrooms are small with very loud exhaust fans that go on every time the lights are turned on, and water is undependable, often decreasing to a slight trickle. Service is spotty, and the room was not made up for the in between day we were there.
Overall, if you enjoy old inns you will probably like this inn.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for your comments!

Although we could not identify your stay dates, we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with regards to water pressure, while our water comes from the county our experience at times has been difficult recently with water pressure delivery. A county wide problem that is top of everyones list.

We do offer daily housekeeping service and apologize if we mixed your environmental signals as guest can deny service based on needs.

Of course if we were advised during your stay, I am sure we could have assisted you.

Regards
Stan Penton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

we stayed at the York House Inn to observe the eclipse. Our room was very nice and the bathroom/shower was sufficiently large so that we did not feel cramped. The breakfasts were not spectacular and consisted of fruits, yogurts, bread/cakes such as banana bread. The coffee was very good and plentiful. Besides the fruits, etc., the inn also served quiche, eggs, ham/sausage, pancakes and french toast. these were not available everyday as their hot menu changed. regardless, I did not think the food was as good as i have had in other B&B. The ambiance of the inn is very nice, a great porch and rocking chairs outside every room, a tree-shaded lot and a nice firepit, springhouse reading room.

Room Tip: i think any room would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for your review!

Sounds like there was plenty to eat during your stay with us during the Solar Eclipse. Love to hear what/which breakfast you didn't feel were as good as other bnb. It was a pleasure having 24 hungry souls each of the four nights last week. We were sorry you failed to mention the nice complimentary wine/beer, cheese, homemade mango salsa and fresh mozzarella tomato and basil spread during the eclipse.

Look forward to seeing you again for another eclipse.

Stan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rabun Gap
19.1 km away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
8.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
7.9 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
4.4 km away
Rabun Manor
Rabun Manor
#1 of 2 in Dillard
62 reviews
3.6 km away
Historic Sylvan Falls Mill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York House Inn

Address: 416 Yorkhouse Rd, Rabun Gap, GA 30568-2418
Region: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Rabun Gap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rabun Gap
Price Range: $168 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The York House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgia's oldest Bed and Breakfast Inn since 1896 is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Located in the North East Georgia Mountains we have a long history as a large ideal country home. The Inn has long been known for mountain spring water, and large verandas with views of the Little Tennessee River Valley. Beautifully decorated and romantic rooms and one suite offer a variety of plush bedding arrangements, all have private baths and luxury amenities and some have fireplaces and private porches. You will find that we have all the amenities that you would expect, including EV charging stations and an honor bar. Weddings, Anniversaries, Birthdays, Meetings or any special occasion are welcome. Special Packages are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The York House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing