We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$76
US$73
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Americas Best Value Inn(Clayton)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$80
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Relax INN(Franklin)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$50
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Colonial Inn(Franklin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
82
29
8
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
29
8
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocking chairscharming placestep back in timetiger mountain vineyardslots of historybed was very comfortablespent two nightshonor barbreakfast was excellenttallulah fallsnortheast georgianice roomspring housestate parkgas fireplacerock roombasement area
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 127 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

I called to try and make a reservation for a mid week in October. When asked how many in our party I said 3 and asked if they had a roll away bed for a child. I was asked how old my child was. I said 8. I was very promptly told that we would not be allowed to stay there because children were not welcome if they were under 12. When asked why the man began to tell me that people were trying to enjoy their lives and children would be a nuisance and distraction. On their website it touts that the place has seen many births...so I guess kids are just a bad thing now. And I looked at your website and couldn't find this statement about kids. That is very discriminatory against families. If a family had a special needs child that was 20 but was on a 6 year old mentality level, would you turn them away too? Bad form. Bad form indeed. If I could give you a zero, I would. A shame too, because it looks lovely.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhorsellc, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

I will start out by thanking you for your review.

It appears that we did just the right thing when you called. Our policy section states that we gladly accept well governed children 12 and up. This of course is a logical and common policy within Inns, many hotels and resorts. We appreciate travelers who accept this policy as considerate parents.

When told of this policy, not only promptly but courteously I might add, you pressed on into our discriminatory policy tirade. Inns and many other lodging places have this policy as I pointed out as our other twenty or so guests might just be escaping (nuisance and distraction your words, not mine). We do not have rollaway, high chairs, room tv etc., but we do in-fact have an active family scene at the Inn. We host many groups of chaperoned younger student travelers as well as family reunions. Children are an integral part of our hospitality for these whole Inn rentals. There are reasons our twelve room Inn only has one smaller room with two full beds, and our rooms are all stated to accommodate two.

You obviously spent the time to look at our history. So sorry you missed the policy section. This section was located in the same section, but it is pretty darn small…no children younger than 12 …no smoking in the Inn..we are not pet friendly. Other than that, knock yourself out!. As many once isolated regions, our Inn was a central gathering location for births, deaths and probably a family funeral or two. Of course, much of that was not by choice. Today a great many Inns and Hotels/Resorts choose not to serve children. It may not be your wish, but to rudely berate the Innkeeper who was furthermore attempting to assist you with child-friendly lodging in the area is unacceptable and not what I would describe as a considerate parent.

Alas, your desperate and absurd straw man argument that by extension those with disabilities would not be welcome is of course ridiculous and the point where your notion of bad form by our Inn, again revolves back to your bad form.

Thank you for making our children policy, now abundantly clear from our standpoint. We trust that you could find suitable child friendly lodging for your travels. Perhaps in time you too will need a adult only getaway..I understand Club Med is nice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2017

While we only spent one night at the York House on our way to Tennessee, we found it an excellent place to stay. The breakfast was excellent. The room was pretty with antique furniture and a nice sitting nook. The bed was very comfortable. As the oldest Inn still in operation in Georgia, it is filled with antiques and has a lot of interesting history. Also it is located in the heart of many of N. Georgia's best attractions. Great food, great location and wonderful history all in one charming place.

Room Tip: Each room is different but their website allows you to see photos of each and gives details about each one.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lewis321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhorsellc, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Thank you for your review!
Stan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

Exponential plus for charm, hospitality, location. The Pentons provide a world-class B&B experience which continues to exceed our expectations. The visitors are an eclectic group who enjoy the company of other birds of a feather, with Stan and Christine the laid-back leaders of the flock. Stan is a world-class chef whose breakfasts alone are worth the trip -- balanced, tasty and tasteful, simple but well-presented and a perfect start to any day's plans. Six out of five .

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhorsellc, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Thank you Nick for your kind review!

We are glad you had a great stay at your new home away from home. We know it must have been stressful evacuating from your home during our recent hurricane emergencies and hope that your return to your home is a pleasant one.

We look forward to seeing you both back at York House Inn, soon, but under more
vacation like circumstances.

Regards
Stan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017

What a pleasant surprise this place was. Rooms were extremely clean. Owners were very friendly. We had a large group staying and had to leave early for our whitewater trip. They were very accommodating to our needs. They served us breakfast earlier than they normally do. breakfast was cooked fresh when you sat down. I would recommend this place highly. do not miss out on the fire pit outback or the downstairs bar.

Room Tip: the suite upstairs was very large with 2 full bathrooms
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank donnalward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crazyhorsellc, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Thank you for your kind comments!

We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards
Stan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2017

Spent two nights here earlier this month. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is quite nice with an assortment of yogurt, fruit, and a hot cooked item. The location is convenient for many attractions in the area such as Tallulah Falls State Park. The inn itself is in a very rural setting with nothing within a few miles. The rooms reflect their age: bathrooms are small with very loud exhaust fans that go on every time the lights are turned on, and water is undependable, often decreasing to a slight trickle. Service is spotty, and the room was not made up for the in between day we were there.
Overall, if you enjoy old inns you will probably like this inn.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

Thank you for your comments!

Although we could not identify your stay dates, we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with regards to water pressure, while our water comes from the county our experience at times has been difficult recently with water pressure delivery. A county wide problem that is top of everyones list.

We do offer daily housekeeping service and apologize if we mixed your environmental signals as guest can deny service based on needs.

Of course if we were advised during your stay, I am sure we could have assisted you.

Regards
Stan Penton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews