We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”

12 Spies Vineyards and Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
US$155.00*
and up
Bartram Trail Hike plus Wine Tasting
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Rabun Gap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: 12 Spies is located on 9 acres of sloping land with beautiful views of the mountains and valleys from our "Vino Veranda"! We offer 10 varietals of wine for all pallets, Sweet to Dry and Reds and Whites! Something for everyone. Picnics are welcome to enjoy with your 12 Spies Wines. Cheese trays are available for purchase upon request. Call for a tray designed to your taste. Our tasting room offers a variety of gifts for wine lovers! We look forward to seeing you and sharing our Piece of Heaven on Earth! Tasting Room Hours: Thurs & Friday 1:00-5:00PM Saturday: 11AM-5:30PM Sunday: 12:30AM-5:00PM
Reviewed 23 May 2017

My husband and I go to 12 Spies when we are in the area. The owners are lovely and the wine is wonderful.

Thank georgiatraveler92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Owner at 12 Spies Vineyards and Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience at 12 Spies! We look forward to having you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We went on a Sunday after having lunch at the Dillard House. The staff was very nice and helpful, but you have to pay for tastings and none of the wines tasted good at all. I wasn't impressed.

1  Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Owner at 12 Spies Vineyards and Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Anna, we are sorry you couldn't find a wine to your liking. With 16 wines on the tasting menu, it is a rarity when people can't find a wine pleasing to their palate. But as we tell everyone that comes in, you are your own expert on what is pleasing to your palate. Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you.

Mike Brown, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Visiting to experience the Georgia Wine Highway. 12 Spies was so friendly, fun and had quality wines for good prices. Mike Brown the owner did our tasting and couldn't have been any more patience and knowledgeable, not only his wines, but the area and other wineries. He is also President of the Wine Growers Association of Georgia.

Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Owner at 12 Spies Vineyards and Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

We are so Blessed with so many people that come and visit us, and more importantly we get to know! WE are Blessed with our wines, but more importantly with our guests!

Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We had some time to kill and we happened upon this place. Very nice experience and hosts. We enjoyed sampling the wine. Ended up buying a couple of bottles. They have planned events throughout the year and a real outdoor pizza oven.

Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Owner at 12 Spies Vineyards and Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

David, we thank you for taking the time to visit with us, and that you had a great experience! Hope you can come back for the music and our "Friday Night Pizza on the Veranda" !

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

A terrific place situated at the foothill of a mountain in Northern Georgia. Upon arrival you are greeted with a winding road to a lovely entrance that has a home and a tasting room just as you enter. The tasting room is situated in a way to allow easy access from the ample field parking or the close and convenient door parking for the elderly or handicapped. Upon entry into the cabin like structure, you are greeted with the same sense of being in a mountain scene with the open tall ceilings and wood plank walls. The room is quite cozy and comforting. Around the tasting bar, You will find the various odds and ends that you typically find for purchasing at a winery. As for the tasting bar, the list is rather broad with a delightful array of choices that can suit just about any palate. The main varieties of grapes grown for the 12 Spies vineyard are Cabernet Franc, Malbec, Tannat and Traminette. If an enclosed space is not what you desire, patrons can move out to the "Vino Veranda" and enjoy panoramic views or listen to a local artist playing a favorite piece as your wine is enjoyed. Upon request, a generous cheese and meat platter can be arranged to add a simple but elegant touch to your experience.

I love this winery as it's simply pure and comfortable place to spend the afternoon or day.

1  Thank Blantonwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa R, Owner at 12 Spies Vineyards and Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Thank you for your review. Our goal is for everyone to feel welcome and at home. Please come back when you can sit on the Veranda and relax with the mountains

Glad you enjoyed the wine and your visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 12 Spies Vineyards and Farm also viewed

 
Scaly Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Mountain City, Rabun County
 

Been to 12 Spies Vineyards and Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing