We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveller rating
506
62
24
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
506
62
24
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant made to order breakfast across the street full kitchen complimentary bikes jacuzzi tub breakfast each morning fourth floor living room our honeymoon the entire staff the penthouse southern hospitality corner room get away golden isles st simons
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 618 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2018

2 short blocks from Village and Pier, across the street from Lighthouse and Museum, next door to welcome center. Friendly staff, good parking( Autos in deck, Trucks outdoor lot). Hotel is clean, has refrigerator, microwave, but no coffee maker? Coffee in lobby at 6:45-7:00am (Bummer) Breakfast is package Danish, but great breakfast are a short walk( Sandcastle And Palmer both excellent). Overall this is very good Hotel with great location.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank 87vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018

We absolutely love the place, the rooms, the location and the facilities and we are repeat visitors. My problem is with the new off-site reservation staff installed by new ownership ... I paid extra, in advance, for four nights in a specific room with a view but when I arrived they had decided to give the room to someone else who asked for it after I did. The staff (Jackie) was great, apologizing, getting me a pretty good room and refunding the price difference, sending a drink to the room, etc. But I didn't get the room I asked and paid for. Otherwise, the place is beautiful, highly recommendable. New management has also cut back on breakfasts, but Gloria serves up coffee, cereal and pastries with a big smile that will brighten your day.

Room tip: Ask for ocean view, as high as possible. Beach is across the street.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trek769959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018

A beautiful hotel. Rooms are very clean, beds and pillows comfortable, decor lovely, staff very helpful. My favorite part was sitting on the balcony and listening to the surf. Will come back as often as possible.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018

We stayed 4 nights. Great room, great service, great location. We had a wonderful time and will return.
The breakfast included multiple pastry types, bagels, cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea. The hostess was a dear lady who cared for us.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank rescowh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2018

This was our third visit to this Lodge and we absolutely love it. It has changed owners and management fairly recently so there were a few changes but still the same comfy and luxurious suites with great views! We prefer the fourth floor as has the best views of the ocean but all floors have views. There is also a penthouse on the fifth floor but we have not yet stayed in that suite but it would have the best views.

We love that our suite had a separate bedroom with a King size very comfy bed! There is also a queen size sleeper in the living room and a fairly nicely equipped kitchen with a two burner cook top, a full size fridge with an ice maker that works great!! Also, a small dishwasher and a micro and a limited amount of utensils/plates. A nice large counter top with bar stools so really like a a 1 bedroom condo. Very comfortable and decorated with Italian/Spanish type furnishings - quite interesting- not your typical run of the mill stripped suite! We love that there are two full bathrooms, one with a walk in shower and the other with a jacuzzi tub and a separate vanity area. A minor gripe is that there is not a whole lot of storage space as far as drawers in the bedroom ( there is an ornate piece in the vanity area that has two drawers but it turns out one had a big opening in the middle so not a lot of useable space); but there are some available drawers in the living room that could be utilized for spill over.

One of the best features in our minds is the oversized patio that is part of the corner suites. It has a chaise lounge, a table and two padded chairs. We spent a lot of time out there as we enjoyed the ocean views. Mind you, there are residential buildings across the street but they they are 2-3 levels over the garage and very attractive and well maintained. So there are peak a boo views of the ocean between them and can see the ocean over the roof tops and if you get a corner room, you will have an additional side view. These suites are higher priced but well worth it!

The rooms are very well insulated and thus, quiet and pretty much block out any street noise. The A/C works quite well considering it is an older building but you do have to crank it down to about 68-69 but on the other hand, it was very very hot and humid outside and it did keep up! We had a few minor glitches on the housekeeping/maintenance side but they were promptly addressed.

The change that we did not like from the prior stays was that they no longer include a full hot breakfast cooked to order. My husband loved that and wishes they would bring it back. But they did have a continental with a good choice of pastry and fruit.

The price includes free wi fi and it worked very well. Also, there are two tv's, a nice size flat screen in the living room and a smaller corner one in the bedroom. It is XFINITY but the smaller package so not a whole lot of channels but enough with CNN and Fox News and some other cable channels. However, no movie package was available such as NetFlix to our knowledge but who needs movies when you have a patio with wonderful views!!

As a side note, there is a Rooftop restaurant upstairs but it now only serves mostly small plates and a couple of entrees that vary so that was a change from a regular full dinner menu before. However, we still love this restaurant as it offers beautiful views but wish they would go back to the expanded menu. Also, we were very disappointed to find out when we got up there on our last night there that it was closed to a private party. We understand that they do have wording that says at times they are closed but we wish they would give some sort of advance notice to guests so that they can plan accordingly. It was our last night and we were so looking forward to eating up there and enjoying the view before leaving the island. It seems to me a posted notice in the lobby area would be an easy thing to do giving the date it would be closed once it is booked for a private event.

Overall, we highly recommend this Lodge and consider it a boutique like hotel that is so much more than your typical hotel room! Very comfortable, quiet, great views, right across the street from the ocean with walking access from the Lodge at several entry points. Another great feature is they have free parking right under the building with easy access to the elevator and large luggage carts for your belongings. Also, almost forgot to mention that the personnel who work there are very friendly and helpful and aim to please. Southern hospitality at its best! Thanks to all for another relaxing and wonderful stay. We will be back!

Room tip: Fourth floor suites have best views and the corner far end the best!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JOAnn642014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews